Advertisement
Advertisement

Our Lady of Fatima Parish School

Private | PK-8 | 156 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Huntington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $116,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 9, 2011

Most overrated school in Huntington. My child's first year here was a total nightmare, within two weeks of starting school they succumbed to crying spells every morning at the thought of attending. I initially thought it was only my child, but after speaking with other parents I realized my child was not the only one. Enrollment here is always low for a reason, don't let them tell you otherwise. If want a Catholic education go to St. Joe's, I know several parents whose children were having 'problems' at Fatima, transfer to St. Joe's only to have said "problems" vanish. Or just save your money and go public.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

Great school with an awesome academic program, and caring involved teachers. The staff is attentive to both student and parent needs. The school also participates in state and community athletic programs. The weekly mass for the kids is wonderful with the students filling the roles from reading to altar serving. The school is also attentive to the needs of special needs children, helping them to fit in perform with the rest of their peers. It is a Catholic School, but please do not let that discourage you at all, Our Lady of Fatima Parish School does not teach or condone religious prejudiced. Students of many faiths may be found at OLOF, studying and learning together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

The school mission statement sums up my feelings about this wonderful school. "Our Lady of Fatima Parish School, where faith, learning and service have no limits." My 6 children attend this academic institution. The school welcomes children of all faiths. Prejudice and religious intolerance are not allowed. Everyone prays together, from the little tiny ones with their prayers for a sick dog to the middle school students with prayers about the uncertainty of growing up. Spanish is taught in preschool. There is an outstanding band program from 4th to 8th grades, but the love of music is taught beginning in preschool. A "first you, then me" attitude is fostered in all the grades. Community service is required for the older students. But, it is a beautiful thing to see the younger grades offering their time and talents to help the poor in the community. Many of the staff are alumni of the school, which speaks volumes. Electives such as, Introduction to Modern Medicine, Guitar, Culinary Skills, Public Speaking, and Theater are offered to the middle school, another bonus you will not find at any grade/middle school in the state of WV.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

father jim and the stff put their hearts into the childs education.


Posted December 21, 2009

I now have two children at this school and it's fantastic. The teachers and staff are all very involved with the students as well as the parents. I always feel welcome in the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

No matter what measure you use, test scores, teacher qualifications or programs, OLOF is far and away the best school in the Tri-State. Cliques and bullying are dealt with immediately so that every child feels special. Discipline is fairly enforced and high standards are set.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

Our Lady of Fatima Parish School is the finest school in West Virginia. The faculty and parent involvement is like at no school I have been affiliated with. The Christ-centered Catholic curriculum is terrific. And the excellent technology program is the most advanced in the state. Every teacher in the school has a notebook computer and in every classroom is a projector and an interactive Smart Board. The entire campus is wireless, plus they are integrating the technology into the curriculum in many ways. The middle school science is using virtual technology to teach concepts such as DNA and bioscience that would only be available in a research university. Implementation of electronic grading system that connects to an internet-based information school system keeps parent communication open. A weather station connected to the internet which transmits data worldwide. Fatima is a jewel of academics that promotes life-long learning, in a Christ-centered environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 93%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Kenith C. Britt
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (304) 525-0390

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Wheeling-Charleston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

535 Norway Ave
Huntington, WV 25705
Website: Click here
Phone: (304) 523-2861

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

East End Middle School
Huntington, WV







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT