Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Joseph Grade School

Private | PK-6 | 130 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Huntington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2012

I have three children currently enrolled at St. Joseph Catholic School. I transferred my children from public school, out of state to St. Joe. I can honestly say that I have never been so happy with the top quality education the school provides. The teachers are amazing, caring and dedicated. I have been tremendously impressed with the hard work and level of knowledge and professionalism the principal has exhibited to my children family over the past few years. She continues to be a major influence and positive reason for our family's decision to be part of St. Joe. I have read the previous reviews posted about the school and the principal and can only imagine that these parents or parent simply did not get want they wanted. The principal and school, in my opinion always makes the best decision for the child. I am truly thrilled with the quality of education, moral and Christian teachings my children are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

Need to replace the principal. She is more worried about filling spaces than educating children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2011

This School is NOT one to even consider if you're looking to be involved in the PTA. The principal is borderline incompetent and should never have been allowed the reins to this once great school. The only reason I'm giving the teachers a three stars is because of some amazing teachers my kid had. Since I transferred her out of this school a few years ago, I'm not sure where they are but I pray they got out and went to a school that will give them credit for their great accomplishments the principal never did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

The principal is a horrible leader who is more concerned with growth than with providing a quality education and a nurturing environment. She has little understanding of child development or proper staffing. There are several quality teachers who do not get the credit they deserve, which is unfortunate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

The staff is amazing! The school acts as a family! I have been impressed with everything from nursery to middle school and administration. The parents are able to be involved in a very accepting and positive way. Gail McDowell has been a wonderful addition as vice prinicpal! The nursery is ran well and Brittani King has been wonderful as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

This is school is wonderful! Both of my children attend it. The teachers are wonderful and really do care about the students. The principal is fantastic and is excellent at what she does! The new school is great and the classrooms are bigger and better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

This school is more than a school. It is an extended part of our parish, and our families. The grade school and preschool are a great starting point for nourishing our children with education and spirituality. The teachers are great, and staff does a great job. There are decisions made that don't make everyone happy, but they are made in the best interest of the school. We will always do what we can to make sure our children attend St Joseph's schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

The staff at St. Joseph Catholic School is what helped us make our choice for our son's education. We have a bright 5th grader and every year our teachers have gotten better and better! To us, it was the choice of a newer car or our son's education! Basically the price of a car payment! The kids are learning and being engaged, they are not just memorizing facts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

St. Joseph Grade School is the BEST. They have the BEST teachers and staff in any school in Cabell County. I would not send my children to any other school. They care about the children and treat the kids like they would want their children to be treated. St. Joseph Grade school is a second family for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

My great-nephew attends St. Jospeh Grade School. He is performing extremely well in his studies. He loves his teacher and is excited about his school. I feel St Joseph has been a positive reinforcement to him.


Posted October 15, 2009

It has a tough academic rigor. Teachers geniunely care about students and want all to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

This is an excellent school. I am proud to be involved and my kids love it! Teachers are helpful and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

St. Joe's is a great enviornment for our students. They are able to learn in a safe, comfortable, loving environment where not only math,reading and science are emphasized but also respect for self, eachother, the school staff, the school, community and family. This is a school with Christ at the center and with Christ at the center of your life all is possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

We love everything about St. Joe. We are not Catholic but are very strong Christians and we chose to send our daughter here for the wonderful Christian, as well as Catholic, education. She receives not only a well-rounded experience, but so much love everyday from the entire staff. I can't imagine sending her anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

They provide a quality education with christian values. They love my children like they were their own. This is a wonderful school!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

We love Catholic Schools, and the community spirit we feel at St. Joe is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

St. Joe is a wonderful school. They have excellent teachers and faculty, as well as terriffic involvement from parents. Monsignor is the best - his words and just his presence are an inspiration to the children as well as the school/church community. I have sent my children there for several years and cannot imagine them anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Wonderful learning environment that is more like an extended family than a school. Love the fact that the school educates the entire student by focusing on God's love for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

St. Joseph Grade School is great---we have a wonderful new school and many wonderful teachers and parents. Our school support staff is exceptional too ---without Carol Gale I don't know what we would do,from her smile in the morning to all the extra work she does for our school. Monsignor had a dream and we are so blessed to have a special 'Catholic' school to send our children to. Not only do they learn all of the academic skills they also learn the religious skills they will need in life. What more could parents want for their child when they drop them off at school. We feel very blessed to be a part of they church and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

The community at St. Joseph is amazing. The children get top notch education. I'm proud that my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (304) 522-2512

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

520 13th Street
Huntington, WV 25701
Website: Click here
Phone: (304) 522-2644

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Small World Academy
Fort Ashby, WV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT