Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Joseph Grade School

Private | PK-8 | 130 students

 
 

Living in Huntington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2009

St. Joseph Catholic School is comprised of a Pre-school, Grade School and a Middle School. It is the most wonderful, loving, nurturing environment that my children have ever been in. We have attended two other private catholic schools with in our state and St. Joseph is by far the best! The education that my three children are receiving is tops.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

St. Joseph Grade School is a wonderful, new facility for our children! They have the best staff and curriculum hands down in our area!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

St. Joseph is a wonderful community filled with caring and considerate families. The school has high expectations of all their students and works excetionally hard to meet the needs of each student and to provide a challenging curriculum. Students are very happy at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

St. Joe is filled with great teachers and wonderful children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The teachers truly care about the whole childs well being. Knowledge comes first in a loving Christian atmosphere. No child will be left behind here. Our principal is first rate with a wonderful vision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

We pray and soport each other in hard times and rejoice in the good ones. The students learn in a christian atmosphere, and everywhere they look is a rememberence of God in our lives. Statues, paintings, prayers...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Great parent/student community! Parents support other parents in everything we do: homework, sports, drop off/pick up from school, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

St. Joseph Grade School has a beautiful new school. We choose to send our children here because we are Catholic and wanted them to have a Catholic-based education. We have always enjoyed the feeling of our children being important to the administration and teachers. My son is all boy, and has really responded well to the new gym coach and seems to strive the hardest to please him. I really like his team teachers who have worked hard to meet his needs. My daughter loves her teacher and is trying to adjust to changing classes, which is new for them this year. Really great school, friendly parents and hard-working teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The teachers are wonderful. The school feels like a big family, my children love it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

Loving, supportive environment. In Pre-K, my child is receiving art, music, computer and Spanish classes as well as PE. It is true, the price is high but considering daycare is at least $100.00 weekly, it all comes out the same. At least here, my Daughter is learning everything she needs to be ready for grade school. We are very happy with our decision to place her within this school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

St. Joseph is an outstanding school. The teachers are wonderful and the administration team have worked hard to provide the best education for all students in the area. All three of my children have grown both academically and spiritually at this school. Thank you to all the hardworking teachers and principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

The new facility and restructuring of the middle school should improve the quality of education and eliminate behavior issues. I like the fact that St. Joe's has a variety of students with different backgrounds. Also, since we are not Catholic, I like the school's method of teaching religion. It is more balanced than the other parochial schools in our area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

The lack of admission screening has overwhelmed this school with behavior problems. There are also too many teachers obviously over their heads. Very poorly administered school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2009

I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

The best school in Huntington. My children were given the finest foundation any school could have given. From teaching laugages to violins to higher math I would give them an A+. Parents were involed on a daily basis and had every opportunity to communicate with all the staff. Both my daughters went to college on scholorships and did very well. a big thank you to all the wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 92%
Two or more races 8% 1%
Black 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (304) 522-2512

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1326 6th Avenue
Huntington, WV 25701
Website: Click here
Phone: (304) 522-2644

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Small World Academy
Fort Ashby, WV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT