Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highlawn Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 302 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2013

Exceptional school...outstanding principal..and most caring teachers found anywhere.they all go out of their way to make each child feel special..and a lot of them give a lot if their own time forextra school activities..my boys loved their teachers and this school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

highlawn elementary : this school is only good if your child is without a disability, I have a child with special needs and rather than her teachers try to work with us; they look for the tiniest of faults with my daughter and immediately call cps on you @ the drop of a hat !, how ever i'm sure for other families this may not be the case. the prinicipal is a sort of take it or leave it person some like her others do not. they certainly could work on how they conduct things. and it is totally unprofessional for them to discuss their private family matters with everybody, if its not school related leave ur personal life @ home. this is why I personally am taking my child to another school ! ---frustrated parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

This is a wonderful school with great teachers and staff.I have been a student and my two children over the years. Now a new third generation has started at Highlawn and my niece and nephew have had great teachers and the teachers and staff have been a great support in some personal issues for their family over the last three years. Thank you all at Highlawn and keep up the great work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2011

When I transferred to this school from Meadows Elementary, I was shunned and more or less tormented by my teacher for trivial things like not having my assignment book signed. It was a cold place. It didn't seem like a place for a child to be, and the children there seemed to reflect that. Hopefully it's changed by now, though...


Posted April 16, 2010

My daughter has been going there for two years now and i have found the teachers to be exceptional. And with the assistance of jamie oliver, the lunch system is gaining ground in leaps and bounds to not only teach our children how to eat better, but how to be healthier in general! go highlawn! go huntington! and go jamie oliver!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

This school has poor leadership. the bldg is old. The teachers are non caring. Poor parent/school relations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I love the plays and the school activities. They always have a great pta.


Posted January 7, 2009

Excellent teachers and staff. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2008

We moved to Huntington in Sept. '08. I'm not sure if its because we came from a rural community or because my children are special needs but I feel something off at this school and I really hope that its not at every school in this county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

I love this school very much, everyone truly cares about the kids. I especially appreciate the principal Robin Harmon, it's wonderful how she has so much personal involvement with each and every child!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My son is in the special needs Pre-K class and the teachers and specialists are wonderful. I have no complaints about the school or the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

A great school! I went here 6 years and no problems!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 28, 2004

My name is Bonnie Franklin. Two of my 3 children attended Highlawn Elementary this past year. I want to say that I think that my children enjoyed learning in the classes they were in. My daughter was in Ms. Lopez and my son was in Ms. Halstead. I want to say that if there are any two teacher in the county that deserves recignition they are the ones. They both did a great job and as a parent I do appreciate them both.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
35%

2009

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 43% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
28%

2009

 
 
38%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

54 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
47%

2009

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 36% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
36%

2009

 
 
39%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

35 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
34%

2009

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
24%

2009

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
27%

2009

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students36%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities43%

Reading

All Students36%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities43%

Science

All Students27%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Title I27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities32%

Social Studies

All Students30%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged26%
Title I30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Title I31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities30%

Reading

All Students33%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Title I33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities40%

Science

All Students33%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Title I33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities37%

Social Studies

All Students20%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Title I20%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Title I55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities45%

Reading

All Students40%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Title I40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities42%

Science

All Students38%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged34%
Title I38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities30%

Social Studies

All Students13%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged9%
Title I13%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities6%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 92%
Black 6% 5%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Asian 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2549 1st Ave
Huntington, WV 25703
Phone: (304) 528-5130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT