Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hurricane Middle School 3

Posted December 11, 2012
- a parent
I agree with the parent who gave the school 1 star. There are exceptional teachers at this school, however there are others who are just going through the motions. My child has been demeaned by a teacher and has heard other students demeaned by the same and other teachers. My student has a teacher who loses student's work on her extremely messy desk and rolls around the room in her chair to teach. This same teacher mispronounces common words and grades my child's accurate homework as incorrect. The parking and drop off at the school is probably the worst I have ever seen. Dangerous to the students and a huge time delay to the community.

Hurricane Middle School 1

Posted October 10, 2012
- a parent
Sixth grade teachers are extremely demeaning towards students. I've heard this from students and parent volunteers. Drop off and pick up are so unorganized with no traffic pattern. Very chaotic. Kids all over road. I've heard seventh and eight grade are great so well try to make it through this year.


Hurricane Middle School
no rating

Posted January 23, 2010
- a student
It has a wonderful staff and great academic learning! With great students!

Hurricane Middle School
no rating

Posted August 22, 2009
- a parent
HMS is a great school with fantastic and dedicated teachers. My children have teachers that demonstrate high expectations and they put huge effort into making learning engaging.

Hurricane Middle School
no rating

Posted October 28, 2008
- a student
This was a vey good school. I never had any problems at Hurricane Middle School. I loved the teachers and the students. I love Hurricane Middle School.


Hurricane Middle School 4

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
I have been impressed with most teachers at this school. The math department is excellent--math field day proves their success!

Hurricane Middle School 4

Posted April 13, 2008
- a teacher
I was a student teacher in this school for an 8 wk period in the 6th grade. I am appalled at the negative comments regarding this school system. Putnam County is a wonderful place to teach as well as for students to attend. Having been in other counties, I assure you that this school has much better facilities, instructors, technology, funding, administration, and student body than other districts. Students were extremely involved, eager, engaged, and well-behaved. It is obvious that they come from good homes where education is important. As far as activities, all grades compete in intramural games every day, each homeroom competing about once a week. There are multiple clubs and organizations students are encouraged to join. Overall, this school system is a wonderful place to send your children. (And 'decent' doesn't have an 's')

Hurricane Middle School 1

Posted March 02, 2008
- a community member
terrible organization, no principle leadership, descent teachers, very few activities, very few parent involvement. the school does not keep students and parents updated.The kids get to have zero fun.


Hurricane Middle School 3

Posted January 14, 2008
- a student
This school does not allow cursing! If any one curses, they are automatically given lunch detintion. Also, 6th graders are not devided. All of us are together in the hallways during the last 2 periods. We also have homework , and essays, and projects. It's just an averege school that has all the things a school needs.

Hurricane Middle School 2

Posted March 22, 2006
- a parent
Not impressed with this school at all. Students are allowed to curse, out loud and to each other. The work load is minimal, very little testing, 'homework' that is done in class as a group is graded and makes up most of a students grade. Needless to say this method of teaching is not much of a challenge to the average student but it does explain why half the kids enrolled are on the honor roll. The school segregates the 6th graders from the 7th and 8th grade because of the age and maturity differences in the two groups, for the younger students benefit, but these same 6th graders are allowed to ride a school bus with high school students every day. These are just two examples that come to mind that other parents might be interested in knowing if thinking about this school for their children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hurricane Middle School
518 Midland Trail, Hurricane, WV  25526
(304) 562-9271
Last modified Hurricane Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hurricane Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top