Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Calvary Baptist Academy 4

Posted July 16, 2014
- a parent
When my children first started attending CBA in the early 2000's I had some concerns about the ACE Pace Curriculum. However, at that time they were already in process of transitioning to a traditional classroom format with a classical education. CBA is a member of ACSI and all teachers are certified. CBA has higher average ACT scores and higher graduation to College rates than any public school in Putnam county. Championship athletic program with first class athletic facilities and very affordable tuition. Great School !

Calvary Baptist Academy 1

Posted April 30, 2013
- a community member
I graduated from this school. Based on first hand experience, not the words of a parent, I can tell you that this school does nothing to prepare your child for the real world. If your son or daughter has intentions of going to a non christian university, they are pretty well screwed. The ACE Pace system is blatant Christian indoctrination. This system teaches children that depression is a result of not being close enough to the Lord. The majority of a student's day is spent sitting quietly in a cubicle with little interaction. Goals of 4 pages per day in each Pace booklet are set every morning and while I was there only 2 subjects were taught in a classroom setting. You can do your work every day and not learn a single thing because you are responsible for scoring your own work. This means that you can get everything wrong, grade your own work, remember the correct answers, and not learn anything. If a student fails to complete homework, not complete certain goals, or acquire demerits they are not allowed to leave their cubicle except for lunch. This makes for long days void of interaction with other students. A local public school would be far better for your child.


Calvary Baptist Academy 0
no rating

Posted June 18, 2009
- a community member
I am a pastor whose church has supported Calvary Baptist Academy as part of our mission program for over 20 years. My own son is a graduate of CBA. He was well prepared for college, graduated from Cedarville University in Ohio and was accepted into every college of optometry to which he applied. He chose Indiana University and received his Doctor of Optometry from there and now is practicing in Indiana. Another young woman from our church completed high school at CBA, went on to college, and now she is a NASA scientist. Graduates from CBA do well in their chosen fields due to fine academics, but they also are receiving the benefit of training for life service to the Lord. The staff is tops and have our complete confidence....Pastor David Mitchell, Mount Calvary Baptist Church, Charleston, WV

Calvary Baptist Academy 5

Posted May 14, 2009
- a parent
Superior school which provides exceptional learning opportunities and a focused, genuine interest in preparing its students for success. The principal provides excellent leadership and is a tremendous role model who knows each student and works with parents and teachers to bring out the best in each student. The school keeps parents well informed through many communication tools. This school goes beyond expectations wiith excellent teachers and a team approach to achieving academic goals. They demonstrate a genuine love for each student and motivate each student to make a positive difference in their world.

Calvary Baptist Academy 5

Posted December 11, 2008
- a parent
Excellent school! The teachers work together with parents to help the students reach their maximum potentials. They are caring and excellent role models. Our two children have excelled in all areas of development and are much further ahead educationally than other children in our area who attend public school. We would highly recommend this school to other families who want their children educated in a Christ centered environment.


Calvary Baptist Academy 5

Posted July 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Calvary Baptist Academy 0
no rating

Posted June 02, 2008
- a parent
Both my children attend CBA and have learned so much. The teachers are amazing and the teachers aides.

Calvary Baptist Academy 5

Posted June 30, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calvary Baptist Academy
3655 Teays Valley Road, Hurricane, WV  25526
(304) 757-6768
Last modified Calvary Baptist Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Calvary Baptist Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews.