Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lavalette Elementary School 1

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
Below standard,not following state guidelines tries to keep from helping a child that's struggling. This school should be investigated by state.

Lavalette Elementary School 4

Posted December 06, 2010
- a parent
I think the teachers al lavalette elementary are wonderful..my son is autistic, and for a few hours out of the day he is in the autistic class, the teacher is great with him, she has worked with him a great deal and he has improved so much...lavalette has provided my son with an aide so he can adjust in a classroom with the other 1st graders, Lavalette has done so much for him and has went well beyond their means to help my son. I do personally feel that the princpal could be more involved with the school and children...i feel that he is not at all involved...


Lavalette Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
My grandson failed first grade after transferring to Lavalette Elementary. He attended half days of summer school his full summer vacation in hopes of progressing well enough to be promoted to second grade. When school resumed, his new first grade teacher tested his progress and consulted with both of his previous first grade teachers. It was determined that he should not be promoted to second grade. I soon came to realize how beneficial it was for him to repeat first grade. His new first grade teacher related to him so well, and seemed to fully understand the type learning difficulties he had. She taught with discipline and high expectation, but made him feel valued and confident. She is truly such a gifted teacher. My grandson is a happy second grader now, and I have a great deal of confidence in the teaching staff of Lavalette Elementary. Forever grateful, Mamaw Nancy

Lavalette Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 29, 2009
- a parent
Lavalette Elementary needs structure and leadership. The teachers are great, but many things go unreported. The school could be better.

Lavalette Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 04, 2009
- a parent
Lavalette Elementary has good teachers, but the school needs a principal that is more involved in the school. A good principal who is fair, consistent, and can get some things done would help the school out a great deal! Time for a change.


Lavalette Elementary School 4

Posted July 31, 2008
- a parent
i love the teachers! they are wonderful with the kids

Lavalette Elementary School 1

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
My son is in 1st grade and is below average in reading. He has been struggling with reading since kindergarten at lavalette elementary and ready to move on to the second grade. I have had him tutored privately, reading with him every day, homework, as well as dolch sight words. I dont know what is expected from the school so that my son can at least be average in reading. Reading effects all other subjects and now he will be promoted to the second grade; how will he learn in the second grade when he hasnt kept up in kindergarten and first grade? His teacher has been working with him, giving him as much personal attention as she can in the classroom. She is very limited to the classroom. Parental/teacher communication and extracurricular reading material is excellent, but what is expected from lavalette when this isnt working?

Lavalette Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2004
- a parent
Lavalette elementary is one of the best elementary schools I have seen. The staff is excellent and they are all so friendly. I hope this school is around until both of my children go to middle school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lavalette Elementary School
11507 Beech Fork Rd, Lavalette, WV  25535
(304) 525-3221
Last modified Lavalette Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lavalette Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top