Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eagle School Intermediate

Public | 3-5 | 730 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2014

This school is AWFUL! One of the worst I have ever seen. My daughter is bringing home 100's on homework, classwork and quizzes where she clearly misspelled words and her teacher did not mark them as incorrect. And I completely disagree with giving letter grades for elective classes they attend once per week. My daughter is getting letter grades for PE, art, music and health. What's that about? It's about the school trying to boost their overall student GPA to make sure they can still get funding because their standardized test scores are so bad. The teachers are awful, the administration is awful, and as one parent already stated, the Board of Education knows how bad it is and will allow you to transfer your child to another school without penalty if you choose to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Their WestTest scores are so bad that the Board of Education allowed kids living within the school district to openly transfer to other schools. .


Posted April 20, 2012

I have been dealing with the Eagle school for 6 years now and we the many other schools that our children have been to THIS SCHOOL IS ONE OF THE BEST. Have we butted heads we some staff certainly we have however the quality of education is GREAT and as for good behavior not being recoginized YES IT IS, maybe average behavior isnt recognized but good and outstanding behavior is. I dont mind giving my name. My name is Tina Infinger and I am the mother of 8 children and the youngest 4 have gone through or are going through the Eagle school with one left to attend. I am thrilled with the education that my children have received from this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

Horrible school. As previously stated, good behavior is not recognized. Teachers are harsh and lazy (at least the ones we dealt with). New principal is narrow-minded, curt, and extremely unhelpful. We're putting our kids in private school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

Eagle School has consistently out ranked and out scored all other schools in the state. Eagle has the highest percentage of parent involvement in the state. Eagle has been recognized nationally receiving The Panasonic National School of Change award-only given to six schools in the entire nation. I moved to the Eagle district to make certain my children got the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

I really like this school. My kid had the same special ed teacher for two years, Ms. Tucker. She really took the time and pushed my child to do better than he had ever performed in his life. She gave him a great start. I hope his middle school teachers will come into the classroom with as much energy and compassion as Ms. Tucker. On the state test my son actually outscored his cousin, in the same grade and his cousin isn't special ed. Ms. Tucker finds a way to make the kids learn. The rest of the teachers are great too. They treat all children with respect and they command respect too. If you can't respect what teachers do everyday-then you just don't get it. I hope that the school keeps winning awards. they deserve the recognition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

Unfriendly teachers, som are harsh and difficult. There is no recognition of student's positive behavior. Cannot wait until we no longer have to deal with this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2009

I rate my daughter's school a need improvement. Although she had a great teacher last year, my neice who is having signs of a learning disability is not being considered a priority to find out whether she has a learning disability or not. It is proven the earlier a learning problem is detected the earlier the child can progress in there own unique way,
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

237 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

237 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 43% in 2012.

229 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

228 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2012.

254 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

254 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 36% in 2012.

253 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
37%

2009

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

250 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
35%

2009

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2012.

242 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2012.

242 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

237 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

236 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
30%

2009

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Black25%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Title I48%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities48%

Reading

All Students47%
Black31%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Title I47%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities52%

Science

All Students33%
Black18%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Title I33%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities35%

Social Studies

All Students30%
Black14%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Title I30%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
Black18%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Title I35%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities39%

Reading

All Students39%
Black29%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Title I39%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities43%

Science

All Students21%
Black16%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Title I21%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities25%

Social Studies

All Students21%
Black18%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Title I21%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Black29%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Title I44%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities47%

Reading

All Students55%
Black46%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Title I55%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities62%

Science

All Students38%
Black21%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Title I38%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities42%

Social Studies

All Students27%
Black23%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Title I27%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 92%
Black 20% 5%
Hispanic 11% 1%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (304) 263-6506

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

730 Eagle School Rd
Martinsburg, WV 25401
Website: Click here
Phone: (304) 263-0422

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Joseph School
Martinsburg, WV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT