Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Burke Street Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
The teachers seem to work as a team and the kids know this. I have never seen a school truly care about kids in and out of school! Sounds like last year the test scores rocked...at least there was a big celebration to bring kids and families back to the school to share great state results for them. Sounds effective to me. My daughter loves this school and all the teachers she has had.

Burke Street Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
The teachers work very hard to get know kids to act with integrity. You can tell they talk about it because my daughter can give examples of what it means. We love this school and will be sad to leave.


Burke Street Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
They are always working on this battle. It is a never ending struggle with some of today's kids. These teachers don't give up on them. Wish it went to 4-5 grades.

Burke Street Elementary School 1

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
This is an absolutely horrible school. The teachers are unkind and uninspiring, in a word: burnt-out. My son went there for kindergarten and went from loving school (pre-school experience) to hating school. The principal doesn't seem to care about the children and has a good ol' boy personality. They stand kindergartners up against a wall for bad behavior, they rip up art projects, and they treat parents with utter disregard if they temerity to complain about their child's mistreatment. If you're moving here, please check your district before buying or renting a home.

Burke Street Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are burnt out. They seem to dread going to their jobs and seem to only want to teach quiet and meek children.


Burke Street Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
One worksheet was given after another. Very little substance or meaning was to be found.

Burke Street Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
This school develops fear. There is not an ounce of compassion to be found amongst the faculty. There was one second grade teacher who told my child in kindergarten that she wished she expell him. That is not something you tell a child.

Burke Street Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
They use these things called smile reminders (pretty sick terminology for writing up a child) and give them to children for the slightest infraction--this includes kindergartners. If a child has too many smile reminders they miss out on class field trips.


Burke Street Elementary School 1

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely awful! My daughter had to transfer here and the stories she tells me about what goes on in the school are horrible. Its mostly the other lids because it is a city school and unfortunately a lot of parents don't care. She does love her teacher but the secretary made me feel awful because I had to transfer her there. There is no PTA and no events after school. She has seen kindergartners kissing and talking about getting pregnant. She has had her arm twisted behind her back. And if they tell the twaxher s they get smile reminders for tatle telling. I can understand discouraging telling every little thing but in one instance a kids lip had been busy d and when they tried to tell the teacher reminded them they shouldn't tattle. If you can avoid this school please do. Besides the test scores are awful!

Burke Street Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a community member
I went to this school from first grade to third grade and I really blossomed during my time at Burke Street. My third grade teacher sparked a love for reading and writing inside me, and now I am about to attend college as a Literature major. While I was there I even had my name painted on a wall in the cafeteria for reading the most books that year! The school really is like a family and the teachers actually care a great deal for their students. This school is one of a kind.

Nearby schools

Burke Street Elementary School
422 West Burke St, Martinsburg, WV  25401
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (304) 267-3525
Last modified Burke Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-3. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top