Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Berkeley Heights Elementary School

Public | PK-3

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2014

I totally agree with the last two reviews that this school is disorganized and not a place you would want to send your child. Most of the staff there seem angry/cold all the time, there is a LOT of yelling at that school by teachers/staff, and it seems perfectly obvious that a lot of the staff there doesn't even LIKE being around children! Daily the children get yelled at, intimidated, taught at levels that are WAY below their potential, disrespected, and that's just with the staff! I feel bad for the children that attend there, but it's a sad fact that the students then wind up emulating the staff there, making it overall, an intolerable place to "try" to learn!! We will "not" be sending our child there next year. One year there was enough to just about kill her joy of learning and self confidence. I would definitely not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

I feel like my child has wasted an entire school year here. There is so much disorganization and with the classrooms being open it is hard for the kids to focus and learn. My child's teacher was very defensive if I ever tried to ask about anything which made it possible for us to work together and do what was best for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

My child will not be going to this school next year. They will agree with you when you talk to them about things that need to be changed but they will not follow through. They will try to hold kids back that are ahead rather than letting them do extra work and move along at their own pace. The negative atmosphere at this school has made it very difficult for the children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2013

We have just relocated from Maryland and the staff at Berkeley Heights have been great and very caring. My daughter who is in 1st grade loves her new school and feels challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love that my son loves to go to school every morning. It just shows me that he feels comfortable and cared for while he is there. The teachers and administration are helpful and caring. Thank you to everyone who works so hard at Berkeley Heights Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

Most of the teachers are wonderful. There is a strong PTA in place that plans many wonderful activities for the children. The principal is not very organized and after several years at the school still does not run dismissal very well. She has made improvements to the school on one hand but on another hand there is a lack of discipline with students having issues. The tests scores are also low at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

I have had children in this school since 2005. Numerous improvement have been made in that time and more continue to be made. The principal is amazing and really seems to connect with the children. My kids love the school, the principal, and the teachers. I love that it is also a Title 1 school in case my kids need extra help wiht anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

I have had two children attend this school and have had both good and bad experiences with teachers. We have had a couple we have loved, a couple mediocre, and one who completely wasted the year for my child. Overall the administration has been working on improving the level of education and responding to parent's concerns. They have made upgrades to the school with pods, playgrounds, and walls and seem to be heading in a good direction. They have recently implemented a recycling and composting program and have a wonderful watch d.o.g.s. program for security.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

My child is in kindergarten and loves her teacher and she is certainly learnign a lot. I really like the D.O.G.S. program they have in place which helps promote safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2008

My Opinion! Most of these teachers do not want to take the time to teach the children. Don't bother contacting the school you will get nowhere
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

My children have attended here a few years, and while many improvements have been made in safety & overall learning environment, the level of education is still seriously lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

Berkeley Heights continues to improve in multiple ways. The adminsitration is working hard to provide opportunities for staff development for the teachers. This has shown an increase in student achievement. They have also worked hard to provide a safe, comfortable setting for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

My child is in the first grade and loves this school and her teacher. I feel like she is getting the education that she needs. The only downside is I feel that they do not keep parents posted enough on the issues at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Rated below average because of the lack of student support. The classes where my child (first grade) are to cumbersome and make it difficult place for children to focus. The school has taken a step back this year. I'm an involved parent but and in the PTA but they have stopped sending home newsletters to keep PTA members abreast of the issues and concerns. What they tell me is 'The minutes are posted in the school' Me personally I do not want a bunch of adults in and out of the school just to read the minutes. It's scary to have that many adults coming and going without question when it comes to child safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

My son has learned a lot from the teachers at Berkeley Heights. The teachers are wonderful. They show that they care about the kids education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

159 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

158 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
35%

2009

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 43% in 2012.

156 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
26%

2009

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

156 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
26%

2009

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Black36%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Title I42%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities45%

Reading

All Students39%
Black44%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Title I39%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities43%

Science

All Students45%
Black42%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Title I45%
Students with disabilities37%
Students without disabilities47%

Social Studies

All Students36%
Black33%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Title I36%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 92%
Black 13% 5%
Two or more races 10% 1%
Hispanic 7% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

726 Hack Wilson Way
Martinsburg, WV 25401
Website: Click here
Phone: (304) 267-3520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Joseph School
Martinsburg, WV





Rocky Knoll School
Martinsburg, WV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT