Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Milton Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 631 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

The school seems like a good school. My oldest son went there as well, and it seems be a good school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

The administration and some of the teachers are more concerned with policies and procedures that have nothing to do with the learning environment than they are with helping the children to achieve their best.This school and others like it in Cabell County are a good example of why West Virginia continues to rank poorly in practically every category related to education, pay, obesity, and other quality of life issues. It is the blind leading the blind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

As a parent, I love this school. Great principal, outstanding teachers-the only thing I don't love is the short class periods and every other day band. Band needs to be every day! The county school board needs to correct this and add another band teacher to all of the middle schools. Cut out some of the electives and give the core classes more time. Other than that, I couldn't be happier with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

I don't like the way classes are taught, too many projects and not enough teaching of the basics of the subject. I don't feel like my child is learning alot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

Sure it's had it's bumps, but I get a fantastic education from the home of the Panthers, Milton Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2009

milton middle was a fun place and i love it i am currently attending MMS as an eighth grader and i would recamend this school for great teachers and staff. Also awsome students!!!!;)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2009

I think Milton Middle is a 5 star school the teacher and staff and even students are greeat!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2008

I attended milton as a student all of my middle school career and absolutely loved it. The teachers are extremely helpful and will help you solve out any dispute or problem that you might have. Yes, there is drama, but who doesnt have drama? There are the good times and the bad, but everyday is worth it
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2008

Milton Middle is a fantastic school. I think they can stop the littering on school grounds though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2005

Great support from the staff when children were being bullyed (about not making the squad) by rich kids selected to be on the cheerleading squad (only connected and/or rich kids make the squad with this coach). Principal put a stop to the hazing immediately. Fine program for accelerated students! no foreign languages instruction, unfortunately. A few gruff teachers, but generally superior instructors overall. Most, but not all sports offer opportunity for talented and novice. A few coaches hand pick team based on parent status rather than student ability/need -- cheerleading especially rigged. School is much-loved by our 3 students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2005

My son transfered to Milton Middle coming here from a big city,Las Vegas. He really enjoys the small school atmosphere and the teachers seem to do a good job. Good overall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

This school rocks. This is my first year there but its better then elementary,they actually treat you like a teenager and they have better teachers that actually understand you.They listen to whatever you have to say.They have the best volleyball team and foot ball team.They have great staff, and they are very nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2005

I think Milton Middle School is a very good school. I've had kids there for the last 4 years and 1 will enter this year. The only problem I have is the lack of principal support. I believe since that school has grown throughout the years it needs more help. We had several Asst. Principals since my kids have been there. The job requires more than one person. Alot of work is put on them so there is a big turnover. Maybe if the school had as much help as Barboursville then we wouldn't have such a hard time keeping someone. Mr. Roebuck is a very good and goes by the rules principal. I like that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2004

We transferred our child to Milton last year and he loves it. We really made a good decision on sending him there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2004

I went there last year. i am sooo glad that i am out. I couldn't tell you how much i hated that school! CMHS is so much better. we actually get treated like the young adults that we are. I milton middle they treated us like little kids!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2012.

217 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2012.

217 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

217 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

213 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
34%

2009

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2012.

224 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

224 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2012.

219 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 40% in 2012.

219 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2012.

206 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
46%

2009

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

206 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
51%

2009

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2012.

204 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
46%

2009

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

205 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
38%

2009

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged34%
Title I47%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities49%

Reading

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Title I53%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities57%

Science

All Students52%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Title I52%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities55%

Social Studies

All Students37%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Title I37%
Students with disabilities19%
Students without disabilities39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Title I50%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities54%

Reading

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Title I50%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities55%

Science

All Students53%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Title I53%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities58%

Social Studies

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Title I50%
Students with disabilities4%
Students without disabilities55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Title I48%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities53%

Reading

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Title I56%
Students with disabilities4%
Students without disabilities63%

Science

All Students55%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Title I55%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities60%

Social Studies

All Students36%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Title I36%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 92%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 5%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

#1 Panther Trail
Milton, WV 25541
Website: Click here
Phone: (304) 743-7308

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Barboursville School
Barboursville, WV


Barboursville Middle School
Barboursville, WV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT