Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Morgantown Learning Academy

Private | PK-8 | 100 students

Our school is best known for small class sizes and indiviualized education.

 
 

Living in Morgantown

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $197,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, August 29, 2014

This school is based on the flawed model that small class sizes are better. Respectable published studies prove this false: class sizes this small are detrimental to kids' development. It s run (mostly) by a clique of close buddies who either love or hate you, the parent, depending upon gossip. If they hate you, they ostracize you, with harmful effects to student, the parent and the relationship of the two. They lack accountability with regard to academic achievement, reporting of students' issues or finances. They re unable or unwilling to procure even basic teaching resources (a library, classroom projectors.) Their teachers are mostly competent but entrenched and out of touch with up-to-date, more effective ways of engaging and teaching kids. They have a loyal fan base of parents who have bought into their endearing ways and are willing to ignore the extremely limited scope of teaching expertise. This may make you happy as a parent, but, remember, it s doing nothing for your kid. If you need to feel elite by buying an education, MLA will do the trick. But they offer your child far worse preparation, compared to a good public school, for high school, college or beyond.


Posted June 25, 2014

More than half of the preschool children are reading. 100% of the kindergarten class is reading, and most of them are well into the 1st and 2nd grade curriculum. Personalized attention, parental involvement, this is a model for all schools. 100% of graduates are going to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

If you want small classes, personalized attention for your child, and a curriculum that exceeds state standards, this is the best private K-8 school in the greater Morgantown area. Tuition is less than extra real estate tax you would pay across the state line in Pennsylvania.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2013

Education is of the highest importance to our family. Upon moving to Morgantown, we were very selective in choosing the right school for our 2 sons. We have been with MLA for 2 years and 2 summers, to date. We have had the most wonderful experience with their gifted and empathetic teachers/staff and the kindness of the students. Our favorite aspects of MLA are: Small class size, Individualized Education Plan for every student, one big loving family of no cliques/bullies, fostering a love for community and the environment, PE and Recess every day, creative field trips, easy dress code with a respect for individuality, fun before/after school care, and necessary homework only. We were apprehensive about volunteering, but have found joy in it. We know ALL of the MLA students/teachers/staff and enjoy being a part of the classroom and field trips. MLA makes learning fun creative and fun, because they don't teach to a test. Our children are being prepared for the adult world by asking questions and researching the answers. They are respected and appreciated for their uniqueness. If you are wondering if MLA is right for your family, set up a tour. You will be amazed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

I am very happy with the quality education and support that my son gets from MLA. MLA has a child-centered environment and feels very much like a large family. My son enjoys school so much that he misses going to school over the weekend! I am so happy with MLA that I can not imagine sending my younger child to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

My daughter just started at MLA and she could not be happier. The work is challenging. The classes are small. The teachers are very caring. My daughter is 8 years old but is very advanced in math and reading. Rather than skipping her, they simply have allowed her to take math and reading with the 6th graders. She is flourishing in part because she can socialize with the 4th graders while getting the intellectual rigor that she needs. She comes home looking forward to school the next day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

My son has been attending MLA for over 2 years and I am very happy with his performance. He loves the school and even the afterschool. The teachers are excellent and I love the fact that there is 1 hour of daily PE. He scored very high on the yearly performance test. We plan to have our son attend MLA until the 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

i love mla it was thew best school i learned so much and made good friends i will never forget MLA. MLA is a five star school and i will never forget that love u SABY
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2008

On a high note MLA offers small class size,daily gym classes, and excellent art and music classes. They encourage parent involvement and require 20 hours of volunteer time to the school/class from parents each year. If your child is average to above average this is the school for you! The teachers are very dedicated. If a child excels in a subject the teachers will not hold them back just to keep the class together academically. They will work to help them excel so that the child does not get bored. On the down side MLA is not equipped to handle students with a learning disability and will often recommend outside help. In recent years many students have left MLA because they were having trouble learning to read. These parents didn't see the need to pay $5000 for tuition only to be told they needed to pay more for outside help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

I am so glad MLA is here for my daughter. She is challenged to learn in a safe, nurturing environment from the moment she enters the building. I appreciate the child-centered atmosphere and the complete dedication of the faculty and staff to the students and their families. We are actually encouraged to volunteer with the school! I can not see us choosing another option for her educational needs. She loves coming to school and has learned an enormous amount in the first few months of instruction here! The facility is wonderful and the new gymnasium is great for the 5-day per week PE program. Our entire family loves MLA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

I can't imagine sending my children anywhere else. They receive such a dynamic, quality education here. The teachers have the ability to teach the curriculum in such a creative way, that the kids are always learning and loving it. My kids are always excited to go to school and even miss it when schools out. The classes are small providing for much individual attention, all the teachers at the school know my children (and they know them) making the transition from year to year seamless. The money spent here is well worth every cent. And as another reviewer stated, parents sacrifice to send their kids here. Some schools may have an elitist atmosphere, but not here. At MLA, it is an atmosphere of support and tolerance for the differences in all of us. Now that we're here, I can't imagine going anywhere else for P-8!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2005

We are extremly happy with this school. It is very child centered, And has spanish, music, art,and P.E. I would reccomend this school for anyone that would like a child-centered, academic, athletic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

My son is receiving an outstanding educational experience here. He receives benefits of being in a small school environment: one on one attention, work based on his skill level, encouragement from entire staff to succeed, he is challenged to do things that he may not have the opportunity to do in large classrooms, and he is in a safe and caring place. All the teachers and all the students know my child. Discipline issues are handled very appropiately. The money spent here is well worth it. We sacrifice to send him there because we feel it is building his self-esteem and confidence. He is already challenging himself. The school encourages a well rounded child, and therefore teaches/provides for physical education/athletics, art, music and spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 1%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (304) 296-9554

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Lacrosse Clinic
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

123 Discovery Place
Morgantown, WV 26508
Phone: (304) 296-9554

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Small World Academy
Fort Ashby, WV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT