Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Morgantown, WV
Students enrolled: 100
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Morgantown Learning Academy 1

Posted August 29, 2014
- a community member
This school is based on the flawed model that small class sizes are better. Respectable published studies prove this false: class sizes this small are detrimental to kids' development. It s run (mostly) by a clique of close buddies who either love or hate you, the parent, depending upon gossip. If they hate you, they ostracize you, with harmful effects to student, the parent and the relationship of the two. They lack accountability with regard to academic achievement, reporting of students' issues or finances. They re unable or unwilling to procure even basic teaching resources (a library, classroom projectors.) Their teachers are mostly competent but entrenched and out of touch with up-to-date, more effective ways of engaging and teaching kids. They have a loyal fan base of parents who have bought into their endearing ways and are willing to ignore the extremely limited scope of teaching expertise. This may make you happy as a parent, but, remember, it s doing nothing for your kid. If you need to feel elite by buying an education, MLA will do the trick. But they offer your child far worse preparation, compared to a good public school, for high school, college or beyond.

Morgantown Learning Academy 5

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
More than half of the preschool children are reading. 100% of the kindergarten class is reading, and most of them are well into the 1st and 2nd grade curriculum. Personalized attention, parental involvement, this is a model for all schools. 100% of graduates are going to college.


Morgantown Learning Academy 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
If you want small classes, personalized attention for your child, and a curriculum that exceeds state standards, this is the best private K-8 school in the greater Morgantown area. Tuition is less than extra real estate tax you would pay across the state line in Pennsylvania.

Morgantown Learning Academy 5

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
Education is of the highest importance to our family. Upon moving to Morgantown, we were very selective in choosing the right school for our 2 sons. We have been with MLA for 2 years and 2 summers, to date. We have had the most wonderful experience with their gifted and empathetic teachers/staff and the kindness of the students. Our favorite aspects of MLA are: Small class size, Individualized Education Plan for every student, one big loving family of no cliques/bullies, fostering a love for community and the environment, PE and Recess every day, creative field trips, easy dress code with a respect for individuality, fun before/after school care, and necessary homework only. We were apprehensive about volunteering, but have found joy in it. We know ALL of the MLA students/teachers/staff and enjoy being a part of the classroom and field trips. MLA makes learning fun creative and fun, because they don't teach to a test. Our children are being prepared for the adult world by asking questions and researching the answers. They are respected and appreciated for their uniqueness. If you are wondering if MLA is right for your family, set up a tour. You will be amazed!

Morgantown Learning Academy 5

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
I am very happy with the quality education and support that my son gets from MLA. MLA has a child-centered environment and feels very much like a large family. My son enjoys school so much that he misses going to school over the weekend! I am so happy with MLA that I can not imagine sending my younger child to a different school.


Morgantown Learning Academy 5

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
My daughter just started at MLA and she could not be happier. The work is challenging. The classes are small. The teachers are very caring. My daughter is 8 years old but is very advanced in math and reading. Rather than skipping her, they simply have allowed her to take math and reading with the 6th graders. She is flourishing in part because she can socialize with the 4th graders while getting the intellectual rigor that she needs. She comes home looking forward to school the next day.

Morgantown Learning Academy 5

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
My son has been attending MLA for over 2 years and I am very happy with his performance. He loves the school and even the afterschool. The teachers are excellent and I love the fact that there is 1 hour of daily PE. He scored very high on the yearly performance test. We plan to have our son attend MLA until the 8th grade.

Morgantown Learning Academy 5

Posted December 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Morgantown Learning Academy 5

Posted July 13, 2009
- a student
i love mla it was thew best school i learned so much and made good friends i will never forget MLA. MLA is a five star school and i will never forget that love u SABY

Morgantown Learning Academy 4

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
On a high note MLA offers small class size,daily gym classes, and excellent art and music classes. They encourage parent involvement and require 20 hours of volunteer time to the school/class from parents each year. If your child is average to above average this is the school for you! The teachers are very dedicated. If a child excels in a subject the teachers will not hold them back just to keep the class together academically. They will work to help them excel so that the child does not get bored. On the down side MLA is not equipped to handle students with a learning disability and will often recommend outside help. In recent years many students have left MLA because they were having trouble learning to read. These parents didn't see the need to pay $5000 for tuition only to be told they needed to pay more for outside help.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Morgantown Learning Academy
123 Discovery Place, Morgantown, WV  26508
(304) 296-9554
Last modified Morgantown Learning Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Morgantown Learning Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top