Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wildwood Middle School 5

Posted July 01, 2016
- a teacher
There is a great school atmosphere. There are many different clubs for students. Most of the teachers here want all students to succeed and will help the students.

Wildwood Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 23, 2016
- a student
I am very thankful for Mrs.Dillow because she taught me math and made it very easy to understand.


Wildwood Middle School 5

Posted June 20, 2016
- a student
I am a student at Wildwood Middle School. I work very hard and always do my best. This school in my opinion is superior to other schools. Most of the staff are kind and considerate, but there are some that are easy to upset. This is a good school if you are a good student.

Wildwood Middle School 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
This is the second week my 11 year old son has attended Wildwood. I'm not sure what happened but this school has completely changed for the better. My son had an issue with another child and the counselor Mr. Wilson was easy to reach and happy to help. The front office is caring and also very helpful. The reviews scared me enough to consider moving my son to another school but I'm glad we stayed.. My son and I are very pleased with this school.

Wildwood Middle School 1

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
WMS has an ineffective protocol for communicating school incidences without persistent involvement of parents. If fights break out where police are called in to break it up, unless there is a weapon, no communication goes home. We rely on the students and parental community. One of the teachers consistently inputs grades in 4-6 weeks late (6 grades input 1 week before marking period ended). Inappropriate personal stories shared by some teachers in class with students. The professionalism of several teachers is lower than educational/county/administrative standards would demand. Highly disappointed in my student's experience at this school - first and last (thank goodness) year there.


Wildwood Middle School 2

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
Not real impressed. Apparently many of the teachers(at least in 7th grade) yell at students or to get control of the class. Fights are common in the halls...usually out of control by the time adults arrive. I agree with the reviewer that said it is known amoung educators as the worst school in the county. Hopefully next year will show improvement...first 2 weeks of school schedules were so messed up that students spent hours in 1 or 2 classes.

Wildwood Middle School 1

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
My son is in 7th grade! I have had nothing but problems with this school and bullying!! He has had is cell phone stolen and I had to play detective and get it back...they were useless! I went to the police about the incident and they said and I quote "Wildwood is the worse school in Jefferson county for bullying and we NEVER find anything out until the parents come to us." When I spoke w/the head principle about my concerns her response was " I look at it as the glass being half empty or half full" meaning half the kids were good and the other half not so much! REALLY!!! My son is suspended for 5 days for defending himself against a bully who has an accomplice who has been taking his pencils, yes he has told thr teacher....her response after telling her for two days "let me know if he does it again, I will write him up" After discussing this w/the assistant principal she said "I don't think taking a pencil from someone is bullying" This school is a joke....I am not the only parent who feels this way! Do yourself a favor and take your child to Harpers Ferry!! Just for the record under theWVDOE...bullying is stealinf or hiding the belongings of the affected student.....a pencil!!

Wildwood Middle School 4

Posted March 26, 2012
- a parent
Students are challenged to do their best! Most of the teachers here are approachable, and effective in motivating creativity in and outside the classroom. Communication between home and school proves beneficial for my student. Overall, the atmosphere at Wildwood Middle School is very inviting and professional.


Wildwood Middle School
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are kind and care greatly about the students' needs. Many people participate in painting the walls of the school of different cultures, which is an excellent way to teach about other countries and to welcome all kinds of people. The PTO is very strong and does a great job, as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wildwood Middle School
1209 Shenandoah Junction Rd, Shenandoah Junction, WV  25442
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (304) 728-4518
Last modified Wildwood Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top