Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valley High School 3

Posted April 27, 2016
- a community member
I have a son in 6th grade here. He also has ADHD. He has a few teachers who just do not get that it's hard for him to sit still. He was also suspended once for 3 days for talking in class. I understand he isn't supposed to do it but he had also NEVER had lunch detention. Everyone else gets warned with lunch detention first. He also isn't aloud to bring a couple of his class books home. How is he supposed to homework correctly if he can't bring home the book. They are also always short on staff. I expect more from Valley. They do have some great teachers but the also have teachers who don't care. I want my child to have an excellent education but Valley consistently drops the ball.

Valley High School 5

Posted March 16, 2014
- a teacher
It is all about the students at this school, and they are terrific students. They care about one another and want to do well.


Valley High School 2

Posted September 23, 2013
- a community member
My school is terrible. I have had 1 day since the beginning of the school year that I haven't had homework, and usually I'm up REALLY late. We are slowly improving, but there is LONG way to go. The principal does not look at petitions the students have created, and is reluctant to change; positive and negative. I do not recommend Valley. I do like that we have many programs, but they're all being drown out by sports.

Valley High School 1

Posted June 09, 2010
- a community member
This school is VERY unsatisfactory, there is nothing to be offered, and most of the students are disrespectful and rude. Most the teachers and students simply don't care about their education and much rather sit there and do, nothing. No teaching, just talking.

Valley High School
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
Homework is almost non-exsistant at this school. Children are only being taught to the WESTTEST and not much more. The scores on the tests are sad. More work should be done to protect students and less suspensions given out for minor infractions. Oh if you are a parent that only cares about 3 sports and not the education...then you will think this school is wonderful. But if you want your child to succeed in life academically, well that leaves a lot to be desired. And just forget any special education unless you fight tooth and nail to hold the county to the Federal Law.


Valley High School 5

Posted September 14, 2007
- a student
Everyone at this school is so welcoming. I went to Kennesaw Mountain High School in Kennesaw, Ga and I miss Valley so much!!!!

Valley High School
no rating

Posted September 01, 2007
- a parent
I think some of the teachers give to much homework. They are at school all day, teach them at school. They worry about the kids being over weight but yet with all the homework they don't have time to go outside when they get home.

Valley High School 2

Posted April 03, 2007
- a parent
I can see the quality of the school environment is slowly improving. I just wish something could be done about the short skirts and the language I hear every time I come to the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valley High School
Greyhound Ln, Smithers, WV  25186
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (304) 442-8284
Last modified Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top