Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Montrose Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2008
- a community member
Montrose Elementary is one of the best schools in Kanawha County. It has a great staff.

Montrose Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 21, 2008
- a parent
The only issue I have is that my child is an individual and is most definitely outside the box. The teacher here are not quite able, or capable of dealing w/ this amount of 'different'. I don't want my child to become an automaton. I want her to continue to be herself and to voice her emotion w/out be a striction to society.


Montrose Elementary School 4

Posted August 06, 2008
- a parent
This school is 'safe' to say that academic needs are met in a structured way. My children genuinely loved the continual praise given for their hard earned efforts. The team effort is a proud one for the faculty. If you like a strong sense of community, then look no further. Practice caution around 'cattiness'. As in any small, southern town, expect the nosey especially if you are from a big city. I praise the art teacher for putting her heart into her work. She uses her entire paycheck for supplies that the board of education is suppose to supply......her office is the trunk of her car......she travels to five schools in one week.

Montrose Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 22, 2008
- a parent
The instructional style at this school is 'tired'. There are teachers that will readily admit that they are too old to deal with the prepubescent behaviors of older elementary children.. Indidudualism is considered taboo.

Montrose Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 28, 2007
- a community member
This is a wonderful school. My grandson is a student in the Kindergarten class this year. He loves it. Keep up the great work. Thank you


Montrose Elementary School 5

Posted July 05, 2007
- a parent
We just finished our first year with Montrose and love it. Our son has thrived under the leadership of Montrose. We couldn't be happier!

Montrose Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
Montrose Elementary is a wonderful school. Not only did I go there years ago but now my son is a student there. They have an excellent academic program. Montrose always has parent involvement and keeps parents informed. I also feel it is a very safe environment for my son.

Montrose Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 23, 2006
- a parent
My son is in Kindergarten at Montrose Elementary. I chose to move to this area specifically so we would be in the Montrose School Disctrict. I have been very impressed with the teachers, principal, and other leaders at this school. I know that they truly care about the children. The principal, Mrs. Hedge and secretary, Mrs. Holstein know and greet all the children by name. I receive updates and correspondence pertaining to my child from the teacher, Mrs. Rush. She is very encouraging for new kindergarteners! I am looking forward to my son's future at Montrose.


Montrose Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2004
- a parent
The top of one of the top elementary schools in Kanawha County. Is continually recognized as an 'exemplary school.' Small school environment and atmosphere in a nice neighborhood in South Charleston. Probably the best and safest public elementary school in Charleston.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montrose Elementary School
631 Montrose Dr, South Charleston, WV  25303
(304) 348-1930
Last modified Montrose Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Montrose Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top