Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Richmond Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 275 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2013

I am currently a freshman in high school. I was browsing through this site to find a good high school to transfer to. When I saw the review on this website, my jaw dropped. It is completely inaccurate. While I was in school there, most of the teachers were amazing. Since I've graduated to middle school, and now high school, all of the teachers that were there while I was have since quit. Personally, I feel this is because of the principal. She was very rude and acted superior towards my mother and I. Although I don't know what the teachers there are like now, I do know that the principal is a terrible one. This rating is wrong, send your child to a better school.


Posted August 1, 2011

I have had three children attend Richmond and have had a wonderful experience. The teachers and the principle are wonderful! I would recomend this school to any parent!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

I had a teacher who taught 4th grade at grandview, but before that she was at richmond. Then she went to grandview, but anyway Richmond will love her. She was so fun. Everyone at the school will love her. Trust me I've been in my favorite class ever with her. We had to do work, and if we did we were rewarded very swell. So if you're going into 5th grade you want Mrs. Bartlett.


Posted August 19, 2010

I loved my child's Kindergarten Teacher. I am sorry to see her leave and not continuing to touch the lives of so many to come. She is excellent in every way. Congrats on retirement.


Posted September 30, 2008

I love the principal, I love the teachers. I could not be happier with their concern for my child and challenging her to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I love Richmond Elementary School. I love the principal and I love my child's first grade teacher and her kindergarten teacher before that. I believe most of the faculty goes above and beyond for the students. My daughter is exceptionally bright and they have all worked hard to make sure she is challenged every day, as I am sure they do for other students. I appreciate them all very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
51%

2009

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 43% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
46%

2009

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 36% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
22%

2009

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
36%

2009

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
35%

2009

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

36 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Title I64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%

Reading

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Title I50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities51%

Science

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Title I48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities49%

Social Studies

All Students45%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Title I45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Title I61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%

Reading

All Students63%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Title I63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%

Science

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Title I47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities48%

Social Studies

All Students63%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Title I63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Title I64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%

Reading

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Title I50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities55%

Science

All Students42%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Title I42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities42%

Social Studies

All Students39%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Title I39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 92%
Black 26% 5%
Asian 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4620 Spring Hill Ave
South Charleston, WV 25309
Phone: (304) 766-0357

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bridgeview Elementary School
South Charleston, WV


Dollie Hilll Christian Academy
South Charleston, WV



Ruthlawn Elementary School
South Charleston, WV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT