Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Andrews Heights Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 322 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2010

I expect a graduate of an elementary school to be able to conjugate a sentence with a subject and verb that agree. I expect a graduate to have the ability to count change. I expect a graduate to be able to tell time. I expect a graduate to have a rudimentary knowledge of geography. I expect so very little of a graduate of an elementary school. Tragically, this school fails to meet my expectations with stunning consistency.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2010

All three of my children have went to Andrews Heights. My youngest is now in 3rd grade. I have had nothing but positive experiences there. If there has ever been issues we meaning myself, teacher and principal have worked together to fix the issue. The building(s) are because the county has not spent the money to add on. Not the schools. My children have received an excellent education there. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

I've actually seen wonderful schools and Andrews Heights isn't one of them. We've lived in three states since my children began school several years ago and have had excellent experiences everywhere but here. I've never seen another school with "water bugs" that look like giant cockroaches. I've never enrolled my children in another school where a house trailer qualified as a classroom. I've never seen another school where a student takes his life in his hands to walk along the street in front of the school. I've never seen students required to use such shabby textbooks. I've seen a great many things since my child was enrolled at this school and none of them laid a positive foundation for his future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2010

My child has attended Andrews Heights for two years. We have had a WONDERFUL experience here. The principal and teachers are so caring! They have high expectations for student achievement. I don't understand some of the other reviews that I have read downing this school. I'm afraid that our school is getting a bad review because they have had "run-ins" with the teachers and principal over discipline problems involving their kids. I'm glad that our school has a zero tolerance for disruptive children! My child should not suffer academically because your child has had no Home-Training on how to behave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

disappointed at the results. Not a school for kids to attend that want one on one help
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

the quality of education at Andrews Heights poor. No involvement like what my children enjoyed at their prior school. I am concerned that my children are at a disadvantaged for substandard education. Need caring teacher that want to help children suceed, not to put children on special programs or meds. Teacher to student ratio needs corrected
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I love this school but I am concerned about the decline I have seen in the school over the past few years. We have had children in the school for seven years. the numbers are starting to drop academically. This dose worry me and I may think about transporting my baby to a different school if things continue to drop. I also have seen teacher attitudes changes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

The GreatSchools Rating for this school has fallen from 7 out of 10 to 4 out of 10. This is consistent with the decline that I have seen as a parent. When my older children attended, their experience was fine. More recently, problems have compounded one upon another and getting them addressed by the principal has been an exercise in futility. I am concerned that my younger children will be disadvantaged for life as a result of receiving a substandard education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

I love this school. I have been a volunteer at the school throughout the years that my children have attended. I have seen first hand how the staff really cares about the children. They are very good to work with the parents if a problem arises or if a student has a special set of circumstances. The teachers seem to all get along and work with each other well which makes a peaceful atmosphere for learning. Also, I feel that it is a very safe environment to send my children. There are many programs in place to encourage the kids to do their best. I always speak highly of this school and would recomend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

Unfortunately, the quality of education at Andrews Heights does not equal what my children enjoyed at their prior school. The faculty, staff and principal tell me that they struggle just to provide a safe educational environment with the financial resources available to them. This is evident in the quality of life my children have as students at this school and in the instruction they receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

My husband and I are pleased with our decision to send our daughter to this school. Though we live 'out of area,' we feel that the extra drive to get her to school is worth while. The teachers and staff members have high expectations of all students both academically and socially. With neices and nephews in public schools across the country, I see where Andrews Heights has higher academic standards than other elementary schools. What an awesome school for any child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

It's a small school but that only helps the community to be more involved. My daughter has attended this school for the past 2 years since we moved here from California and I am very pleased with the level of performance and commitment from the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

We were transferred here from Texas and received a stunning shock that the academic standards of this elementary school are so low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This is a great school. When I attended Andrews Heights it was a nice small town school that taught me the basics of life. Now that my children are attending, it has almost doubled in size. It still maintains that small town closeness and feel that all schools should offer while helping our children develop for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
46%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 43% in 2012.

46 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

46 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
33%

2009

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 36% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
33%

2009

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
47%

2009

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
47%

2009

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
35%

2009

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
23%

2009

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
38%

2009

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Title I45%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities53%

Reading

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Title I47%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities56%

Science

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Title I46%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities50%

Social Studies

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Title I48%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Title I60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%

Reading

All Students63%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Title I63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%

Science

All Students35%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Title I35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities39%

Social Studies

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Title I46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Title I58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%

Reading

All Students73%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Title I73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%

Science

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Title I56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities60%

Social Studies

All Students58%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Title I58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 92%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Coal River Rd
Tornado, WV 25202
Phone: (304) 722-0232

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Alum Creek Elementary School
South Charleston, WV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT