Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
368 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Michael Parish School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
St. Michael's School is one of the best schools in Wheeling, West Virginia. They are making strides to keep up with the most recent education ideas and are also in the process of finishing a new building for the children.

St Michael Parish School 5

Posted February 26, 2009
- a parent
All 3 of my children have attended St. Mike's, my youngest is curently in the Junior High level. All three have recieved a very good education, and have scored extrememly well on all standardized testing. Opportunities for parent involvement are abundant. The teachers are welcoming and always available for voicing concerns. My children have had some truly excellent teachers, who have challenged them, and helped to instill a desire to learn.


St Michael Parish School 5

Posted August 25, 2008
- a student
I am a current student in 7th grade at St.Michaels.I have been there since 2nd grade. I have lot of friends and enjoy all the activities in the school. Theres basketball{girls and boys} ,Football , and cheering. I play basketball and it is so much fun.All of my teachers were great and taught me alot.I am really glad i go to St.Michaels.

St Michael Parish School 4

Posted September 28, 2007
- a parent
This is my son's 2nd year at St. Mike's. He is in first grade and is doing very well. He has many friends and has really enjoyed his teachers and Father Cincinnati and Father Chris. My husband and I have been very surprised by the amount of homework for a 1st grader. Even when sick, they send home his assignments. We feel the work is challenging...which is what we want for our son. So far the teachers have been professional and communicate with the parents well. Their teaching skills are very good. My son is off to a great start and St. Mike's has been a positive experience for him and us. We really have no complaints. I say check it out!

St Michael Parish School 4

Posted June 02, 2007
- a parent
I am very surprised by reading the reviews of other parents. This is my son's first year at St. Michael. He came to the school as a 7th grader and was immediately welcomed by his classmates and teachers. Teachers have been easy to talk to and more than willing to help my son. This was his first year playing an organized sport he had the most wonderful and caring coach. It was a great introduction to basketball for him. His teammates also welcomed him even though he had little training. This was also the first year my son was able to participate in a stage band. He has taken guitar lessons at no extra cost other than the instrument as well as drum lessons for a nominal cost for the teacher and instrument. I am encouraging him to participate in more activities next year and he plans on playing football.


St Michael Parish School 2

Posted November 29, 2006
- a parent
The teaching was sub-par. My children are much happier were they are now and are receiving an excellent education. They were accepted immediately by students and teachers. New students were not thoughtof kindly at St. Micheal's. The only thing my children miss about St. Micheal's is the christian education. I can take them to church on the weekends for that. I would not recommend this school to any newcomers.

St Michael Parish School 1

Posted November 26, 2006
- a parent
I personally think this school is horrible & I regret sending my kid here! {we can't afford a better school!}

St Michael Parish School 1

Posted March 31, 2006
- a teacher
St. Michael's is very 'old school' where basic rote learning is emphasized. Higher level thinking skills are not encouraged. A few of the teachers are excellent, but most of the faculty has inferior teaching skills. Disapline is handled in a rather barbaric manner. Even though it is considered a christian school many of the teachers and children do not act kind. The children are not accepting of new students.


St Michael Parish School 2

Posted May 14, 2005
- a parent
Inferior at the best. Not all teacher's are state certified. This is a very 'clickish' environment. The only good thing about the school is the uniforms.

St Michael Parish School 5

Posted March 11, 2004
- a parent
St. Mikes is an excellent school! The teachers are wonderful, highly skilled, and caring people. The principal, staff, and priests are great, also. The children are known by name by most of the faculty and staff (including the principal and priests). The school has a family oriented atmosphere where spirituality, community, and morality are stressed daily. The advanced cirriculum, paired with structure and discipline, creates a highly desirable learning environment that is second to none in the area. I highly recommend St. Michael Parish School.

Nearby schools

St Michael Parish School
1221 National Road, Wheeling, WV  26003
(304) 242-3966
Last modified St Michael Parish School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top