Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady of Peace School

Private | PK-8 | 240 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wheeling

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2011

Excellent school!! OLP educates our children in all three domains; academically, emotionally and spitirually The teachers are phenominal and the principal's enthusiasm spreads throughout the school. In our 15 years with children at OLP, we have no doubt that we have prepared them for high school. Thank you to all!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2011

I cannot even begin to explain what a tremendous place OLP school has become for my children. Middle school education definitly prepares them for high school. Emphasis on religion and service is outstanding. We are so lucky to have had this opportunity to surround our children with this extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2011

This is one of the WORST schools I have ever been to. The middle school teachers are horrible examples, and way too lenient ! The Principal does nothing to punish students for bad behavior. I went to their school for 5-6 months. Worst months of my LIFE. The kids are terribly mean, and disrespectful. The teachers do nothing about this! When I was looking at this school, someone told me the kids here were all so polite and kind. What a LIE. The kids are all so mean! They're judgmental, and rude. I have never seen kids mentally and physically bully kids in my life, until I went here. I regret every moment being here.


Posted May 10, 2010

My youngest daughter is about to graduate from OLP. We have been involved with the school for the past 13 years. It has been a wonderful experience. My children have received a quality education and have been extremely well prepared for high school. The teachers are invloved with students and constantly show love and compassion for the students and the school. The principal has been wonderful. She shows a genuine interest in each child. We will miss OLP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

one of the best 5 star schools. For the learning, teachers and volenteers who make this school the best.


Posted October 5, 2009

up to date in every new teaching aid such as whiteboards


Posted October 3, 2009

I'm so glad my grandchildren have had the opportunity to attend O.L.P.School(pre school through 8th. grade).Why? The school has a wonderful principal,never tiring,allways loving in caring for the children and the hard working teachers and office staff.Upon graduation from the 8th.grade the students are well qualified(educated)to enter high school.


Posted October 3, 2009

Caring teachers, great principal and a absolutely outstanding Catholic education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

OLP gives a well rounded education, not just the three R's. they have Religion, the arts, language arts, public speaking and good behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Great school! Very family oriented. They have great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I am an alumni of the school and think it is a great school! They have a great teaching staff and a good learning atmosphere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

evryone is treated like family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

Our Lady of Peace is the without question the very best Catholic school in the entire state and perhaps the country. I have been involved there for over 15 years having three children attend. The education and spirituality that they have received will follow them their entire lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

OLP is a great school. Our son is in his 5th year and he is very happy with his teachers and classmates. OLP is a very family oriented school and the parent involvement is outstanding. The principal is beyond fabulous. She is so dedicated to the students, parents and curriculum. There is a new art program, and also spanish class. I personally feel that OLP is a very safe, nurturing school with teachers and a principal who really care about each and every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

We initially enrolled our children at Our Lady of Peace for the PK program, and we were so impressed with the school that we decided to keep them at OLP instead of enrolling them in the public school sytem. The school and everyone involved with it has been wonderful and I wouldn't dream of sending our children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2004

This is a wonderful school. A family oriented school. Only concern is the upper grades 6-8, they do not offer as much to these grades as the public schools do. Arts, music. But overall for a catholic school, OLP rates #1.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 92%
Hispanic 4% 1%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (304) 243-5410

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Wheeling-Charleston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

640 Old Fairmont Pike
Wheeling, WV 26003
Website: Click here
Phone: (304) 242-1383

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT