Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Linsly School

Private | 5-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wheeling

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $115,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 2, 2012

My son will be graduating from Linsly May 2013. Linsly by far has been the best investment into his education. He has learned so much more than just academics; he has developed lifelong frienships, life skills and life lessons and has been exposed to so many diverse cultures. I'm so glad that I found Linsly, and would highly recommend visiting the campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2011

Our son is a senior boarding school student. He arrived at Linsly as a sophmore and has flourished, taking many AP courses which are offered. Linsly is very big on individual accountability, which is sometimes lacking in our current culture, (academic and otherwise). The teachers at Linsly are dedicated and committed to seeing the students excel. The facilities are good, and well maintained. We feel fortunate to have found Linsly. It is a gem of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2011

Linsly is a great school. Not many students would say that about their own school. At Linsly there's a perfect balance between academics and athletics. Being smart at Linsly is good, not something other students will make fun of you for. Also, the technology is very advanced with almost all teachers having iPads, and plenty of MacBooks in mobile labs. If your deciding between a school, chose Linsly, and you'll make the right choice. Thanks, Current Linsly Student


Posted November 5, 2010

Linsly is a school were everyone's different yet linked together with a unity that always surprises me. I am currently a student at Linsly and look forward to going there everyday. They care about academics but are not obsessive. There are no bullies and being smart is looked up upon. It doesn't matter your child's academic or social level. The teachers and students are helpful. I highly recommend this wonderful school.


Posted January 23, 2009

Outstanding School, its all about academics and student commitment. We feel fortunate that our son attends there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

Linsly is a wonderful school with very caring faculty and a great program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

My daughter is a first year student and my concerns were that she would be able to keep up the academic pace although she has always been in private school. Her first report card calmed my worries. she has done well and loves the Linsly atmosphere. she has made many new friends and loves seeing what the older students are doing. This was a great choice for our family. We consider this a great investment for her. I think the students love having different teachers for each class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

Linsly is a wonderful school! If you are interested in investing in your child's future (as I am glad my parents did) Linsly is a great choice! I came as a ninth grader from a local public middle school and was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable Linsly is. The teachers always make time for you, the students are (contrary to popular belief) warm, honest, and motivated, and the Headmaster makes sure that the mission of the school - college preparation - is realized and that Linsly brings out the best of its students. It doesn't matter what kind of academic background you have had, if you are motivated and eager to succeed, Linsly will provide the best education in the Ohio Valley (some say it's even better than super-expensive elite Pittsburgh schools). Students from Linsly go on to in-state schools, small liberal arts college and some of America's most competitive universities.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 9, 2004

Linsly School is a great place for your child to receive a great education. I had two son's go to Linsly and they both loved it. You make and keep life long friends. The teachers are there to help out the students with what ever they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

Linsly is an experience, not just an education. My children have learned respect and responsibility along with an exceptional academic program. Much is expected, but help is available if needed. The headmaster and faculty know every student by name, and care about them as individuals. Many still ask about my daughter who has already graduated. Students seem to treat each other better than in many public schools. It's not only OK to be a good student, it's expected and strived for. Although every school has some kids who are 'different', these kids are not bullied or abused by their peers. Extracurricular activities are an important part of the Linsly experience - most students participate in sports, speech, drama, clubs, etc. - but not at the expense of academics. There is a good balance here. Students leave Linsly prepared for college and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Great college prep school...our 11th year there girls accepted at every college they applied to...good grant offers from all colleges...excellent headmaster with great support staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 93%
Asian 26% 1%
Hispanic 8% 1%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • TABS

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

60 Knox Lane
Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone: (304) 233-3260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT