Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Williamstown High School 5

Posted September 14, 2013
- a parent
WHS is a great school and sits in a great community. We just moved to the area, but our children felt welcome at the school from day one. Great sports programs, band and kids speak highly of their teachers thus far. If you prefer a small school setting, it doesn't get any better than WHS. Go Jackets!!

Williamstown High School 1

Posted August 07, 2012
- a parent
Not a good school. COuntless trips to the principal for bullying issues and nothing is done AT ALL. Terrible and shameful.


Williamstown High School 1

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Williamstown High School 5

Posted June 23, 2009
- a parent
Over the years I have watched williamstown high school transform itself from a average public school to a top notch one. I went to school at whs in the early 90's and loved it. Now i have children who go to school there and they feel the same as I do about the school. I have friends who have kids in the other area schools and they hate them. Williamstown high school stresses academics and will pass you if you do not deserve it. The sports programs are also top notched. The football team won the state chapionship this past year and has won its conference for almost ten years straight. The wrestling program is also tops. The pride of Williamstown is their band. The band is great and has excellent instructors. I love this school and would encourage anyone looking to relocate to take a look at whs.

Williamstown High School 0
no rating

Posted January 07, 2009
- a parent
I have one child that graduated from WHS and one still there. The changes over the past few years have been incredible. The building has been completely renovated, the safety has improved to the point that it's almost too much, the new assistant principal has 'dropped the hammer' and behavior is improving greatly. The staff has made it a priority for students to attend school and work hard. I am impressed with the improvements in such a short time. There is an academic club that works hard to award students with great grades. Would like to see clubs and fewer classes at the high school level. Many of them seem to be 'fillers.' Our child participates in the sport's programs and we're very pleased with the variety available at a small school. We could send our child to any school in the valley and we choose WHS.


Williamstown High School 1

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Williamstown High School 5

Posted September 27, 2008
- a community member
It is a great local small town school. It has a great athletics program, which my brother has participated in for going on 3 years now.

Williamstown High School 3

Posted August 06, 2008
- a parent
I have only had a child at WHS for 2 years and have not really seen anything worth bragging about. The band program has been the saving grace of me keeping my child at this school. The past principal (although I never really had to deal with him) was unfair and inconsistent in regards to discipline. I have a teaching degree, but am not teaching at the present time, but have never seen so many teachers have the kids watch movies or play on the computer so much. What happened to homework and projects? I do not feel that my child is getting the education he deserves. We'll see how this year goes with the new principal before making a decision to try somewhere else. My child has made some very great friends while WHS.


Williamstown High School 0
no rating

Posted August 01, 2008
- a student
I graduated in 2007. WHS was a fabulous school. I had great friends, and I developed a very good relationship with the teachers and principals. I still go back and visit. They are always interested in what I have been up to and how I am doing in college. They still offer to help me in any way they can.

Williamstown High School 0
no rating

Posted July 09, 2008
- a teacher
For the most part, WHS is a great school. I have taught at other schools and it has its good side and bad side just like every other school. The positive is that there really are some great students at this school. There are students here that teachers only dream of having in class. Most students are helpful, honest and caring towards teachers, students, and others. The negative is that the discipline here is not consistent. The really great kids suffer because everyone is spending too much time trying to accomodate the student that really doesn't want to be there and should only be given so many chances. Parents can be a nightmare, especially the athletic parents. Technology is down right pathetic. But overall it is better than some schools. You have to weigh the pros and the cons.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Williamstown High School
219 West 5th St, Williamstown, WV  26187
(304) 375-6151
Last modified Williamstown High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Williamstown High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top