Advertisement
Advertisement

Wood County Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 350 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Williamstown

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $108,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2014

I have had kids in this school for years. Wouldn't choose any place else. There are caring, dedicated teachers here! Wherever you are there are positives and negatives, but with a right heart attitude wanting the best for your children, this is the school! My children have been in every grade and I am thankful for godly teachers who sacrifice to educate children in our valley! And thank you, WCCS, for keeping our children safe with all the safeguards in place - even volunteering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

I have had three students graduate from WCCS and all 3 have excelled in college. I have two students still attending. In all of my encounters with the 4th grade teacher, she has been professional and caring of the students. I volunteered in her class for a year and she is very attentive to the class and gives excellent classroom instruction. The extension teacher is a certified special education instructor who has had ongoing success over the years providing extra help to those students who need such assistance. The unfortunate reality of a traditional classroom setting is that not all students will master a new concept quickly, but the class must move on to cover the required amount of material for the year. Having been involved with the school for many years I know from experience that the teachers at all levels care for their students and wish for each of them to reach their potential. Many of the upper elementary teachers work late into the evening on a regular basis which displays their dedication to their classes. The school is predominantly parent-led and parents are strongly encouraged to be involved. I am very pleased with all the teachers and staff at WCCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2014

WCCS offers a great academic education paired with clear Biblical teaching. The teachers and staff all demonstrate a positive Christian testimony which is so needed for our young people today. In addition to the excellent academics the school offers a variety of extra curricular activities. The school facilities are top-notch, especially the cafeteria and gymnasium. Just today the principal showed his care for the students by giving the highschoolers a surprise pizza party for exceptional behavior so far this year. My family has been very pleased with WCCS and would encourage all local families to consider this great option for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2013

The school has a definite pecking order and nepotism is predominant in the staff. Most of the tenured or senior teachers are just going through the motions and really don't care about students or their families as they advertise. If your child is on the outside looking in academically don't expect the upper elementary teachers to take time to help. My child's 4th Grade teacher spends most time on her computer rather than teaching. If a child doesn't get a concept - too bad - they are just left behind in 4th grade (at least that is what she told us at orientation as they "are mature enough to self study if they weren't listening the first time"). When I heard that at orientation I thought then why am I paying all this $$ for you to monitor their self study. I didn't expect the teacher to go out of her way to help my child, but I did expect her to at least teach until the students get the concept. It is easy to teach the academically blessed, but it is another to help the challenged. Even the special Ed teachers have an arrogance to them that is not worth the extra $$ we spend for their tutoring and "help." The money spent is not worth the product they claim to produce.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Class sizes too large -- as many as 29 in elementary classes with one teacher and no aides. Very little parental involvement allowed -- school board is limited to males. Some of the teachers not very nurturing to young children. Not worth the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

This school is great. We are so pleased that our two boys have had the opportunity to attend WCCS. The staff is second to none. We recomend this school to all families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

Both of my children attend this school. They have received a superior education both spiritually and academically. In fact, one of my children just made a 30 on her ACT. There are 2 piano teachers, a fledging band and an excellent choir. Parents are encouraged to be involved. Although my children are now in high school, I used to tell friends that WCCS is a place where children are encouraged to be kids. They are not exposed to 'adult' information at a young age as in public schools. Parents of children in public schools brag about their children in 'honors' classes. Every high school class at WCCS is a honors class! Love the school; love the teachers/administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

It is a great place to send your children, full of love and caring
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 93%
Black 2% 5%
Hispanic 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS
Fax number
  • (304) 375-2000

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

113 W 9th St
Williamstown, WV 26187
Website: Click here
Phone: (304) 375-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Williamstown High School
Williamstown, WV







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT