Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Appleton, WI
Students enrolled: 475
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Classical School 5

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has attended Classical Charter School since Kindergarten and will be entering the fourth grade this fall (2014). She really thrives here! We both love the class-size, atmosphere, families, and most importantly the curriculum and those that teach it. Classical truly feels like a private school without the tremendous private school cost. Children are placed based on their individual skill level, but are always challenged. I know my daughter would be bored at a different public school because she is so far ahead of her cousins and friends that attend other schools in the Fox Valley area. I highly recommend this school to anyone who wants their child to exceed academically. We Are Classical!

Classical School 2

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
The curriculum is excellent. The way it is taught is not. The teachers are so very committed to the school and involved..... but to a fault. They don't respect the boundaries of school life and family life and feel that their desires trump family priorities. They will use various means to coerce parents to doing what they want. Ultimately, you will end up homeschooling your kids after school hours... just remember,... it might be a charter, but it's really just another public school and it's the families that make it amazing.


Classical School 5

Posted July 31, 2011
- a parent
My children were never challenged before they came to Classical School When they started attending Classical, they suddenly lit up with excitement about what they were learning. They received an excellent education at Classical School. The standardized test scores are sky high, showing that the other students at the school are also excelling.

Classical School 5

Posted January 29, 2010
- a parent
My daughter loves this school. It is challenging and the teachers really care about the success of the students.

Classical School 5

Posted January 23, 2010
- a teacher
I love the curriculum at this school - it is challenging, enjoyable, and definitely fun to teach. E.D. Hirsch's concept of building an educated child step-by-step through Core Knowledge Schools is ingenious; the goal is to create children that are culturally literate (i.e., can understand newspapers, have background information to interpret things on TV, and best of all, can make educated decisions for themselves in the future based on the knowledge they acquire now.) The math used at the school is comprehensive and sequential. The students do very well with it. Learning Spanish, starting to read in Kindergarten, and diagramming sentences in grammar are all big draws. History topics have a world history and American history strand running simultaneously and cover fun topics like the Middle Ages, understanding religions and cultures, and Greek/Roman Mythology. I'd recommend this school or any Core Knowledge school to anyone.


Classical School 5

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
My daughter loves this school, and I love this school. The teachers keep my daughter challenged and the curriculum is great. We feel so lucky to be involved with Classical Charter School.

Classical School 1

Posted January 10, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Classical School 5

Posted July 16, 2007
- a parent
This is a great school with both wonderful students and faculty. My daughter loves going to school. The academics are high (she is studying things I had in high school and college). The average student is brought higher and the talented student soars. The 8th graders even go to Costa Rica for a week after graduation.


Classical School 5

Posted October 07, 2005
- a parent
Classical school has been a wonderful experience for my son. A ton of parental involvement is expected, and there is a lot of homework, however, as a parent, you could not ask for a better environment in which to learn and grow. Spanish in Kindergarten, poetry, reading, math and science, all presented in a manner in which the students can grasp and excel. Mastery of each subject is expected. High expectations by both parents and teachers-a concept gone by the wayside in the modern public schools. I am pleased and excited that my child has the opportunity to attend this wonderful school.

Classical School 4

Posted September 10, 2004
- a parent
Challenges students to work to their abilities. Students are moved up or down in each specific subject area according to their abilities. Average or accelerated students appears to be best fit. A number of parents appear to complain about amount of homework for less than average student as work is required to be completed either in class, study hall or at home. Another downside is skipping grade levels in subject manner. Had to tutor to make up for the missed concepts and understanding when students is moved forward in math. Class size is 26-27 students and have a long waiting list so apply early. It is worth the drive.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Classical School
3310 N Durkee St, Appleton, WI  54911
(920) 832-4968
Last modified Classical School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Classical School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top