Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highlands Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 611 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2013

Enrolled our son when our daughter was accepted to Odyssey which is in the same school. Found many times where boys were not treated the same as girls and called out for ridiculous issues. Principal and teachers are tight and tend to cover each others backs not for the good of the child. Some of the specialist are good but can only do what they are allowed. Aids within the school have also said they are aware staff sticking together when parents stand up to them. Parents need to be definite that teachers and principal accountable to them not the other way around. Transferred our child out felt we were dealing with a dead end.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

I believe this school is a quality school, on every level. The administration and office staff are well-qualified and caring. The principal and vice-principal are very involved and accessible to parents and students. The teachers my child has had, in the two years we have been at the school, have been very good. The autism teacher, speech pathologist and paraprofessionals have worked very well with my child, and with our family/therapy program. I am thankful for the diversity in this school, and for the acceptance among students and staff of children with special needs being incorporated into as many mainstream classroom activities as possible. The way the children respond and treat my child speaks volumes about the way the school is teaching understanding and respect...I have found families of other children at Highlands to be very supportive, as well. The P.E. teacher, music teacher and art teacher seem very dedicated to their specialties, and in instilling passion in the kids. The school is fortunate to have a great PTO president that drives a well-run Parent-Teacher Organization that really benefits the school as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

What a poorly run school, not to say every school isn't. If it wasn't the case, we wouldn't have student load dept higher than credit card dept. I would have to agree with many others that this school looks at the difference of others as something bad, without getting to know them on a personal level. I've been accused of being a bad parent just because I'm dropping off my kid at the side of the street. Where everybody else is dropping off their kids. However for being different in age and other differences, I'm called out to be the bad parent. Waiting to be able to move my child out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

We moved to this school after 2 of my kids attended K-6 and K @ Jefferson. We attended for 2.5 miserableble years. We left when child #3 was 1/2 way through K. This school is too big, too "cold", too snotty, too mean, too rigid. Communication is horrible. Back to school night = no parent info, no currica, no schedule- just put your books away and think of a question so you don't mess up on the first day. Like what door do you go in, or how do you get breakfast, when is breakfast? It's totally up to you to ask and you will get a snotty note when you do things wrong. There are some very good teachers there & some not so good. Most classes are way overcrowded- K had 27 when we left. School was not fun. Uptight, rigid, not many field trips, very little respect for hometime by overwhelming kids with homework. Again some very good teachers, fun activities, but these can be found at other local schools with much better charisma
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

Highlands may well be a wonderfulschool for a child without special needs. As it was for my daughter is is gifted and talented. However, As the parent of a child with autism and other disabilities I have to say I have found this last two years to be extremely furstrating and agree with the previous poster that the principal could be a stronger leader. I have found that more than a few of the "specially" trained professionals to be lacking in anything more than a very basic understanding of children with disabilities. In other words if it is not in the texbook they read it cannot exist. I have found them to be under-informed,not up to date with the most current techniques and unwilling to be open to any point of view but thier own. not mine as a parents, not any of the other numerous physicians, psychologists or therapists that work with my child daily as well and have known him for 4 years. Saddest of all I have found a overall lack of common sense. Very dissapointing. Am moving out of the district to enroll my child in a school rated 9 out of 10 by Great Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

Amazing staff and volunteers.. I have a daughter that attends Highlands and we love everythng about... The time and patience that is given and offered to each and every student is outstanding and should not go unrecognized.. The principal knows every student by name and is always apart of every thing that the school puts on.. I would not want my children to go anywhere else.. THANK YOU TO ALL THE GREAT STAFF AND VOLUNTEERS! these children are our future and your doing a great job...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

This is an excellent school my son is in a special education class and I don't know what we would have done without Highlands. The attention he receives is top notch and the teachers are wonderful. The principal is amazing she seems to know each child personally. I can't say enough how much this school has helped my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

Outstanding, talented,and dedicated staff! Teachers are some of the best in the district and the principal is second to none, very dedicated! Teachers willing to go the extra mile, and also willing to try new things.Class sizes are okay, about 25 on average which is the district average. Awesome playground with large field, educational garden, active PTA, after school programs, choir grades 3-6, school plays, great family activities, one of the best kept secrets of the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2004

I think this school is the best I ever been to because of the playground and the field. I like to play games on the playground because it has a lot of swings and a lot of things for you to play on. I like the field because you can roll in or play in it. It is big that I can ride my bike down there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2004

Excellent teachers,nice families always someone willing to step forward when needed. Class sizes seem too large the last couple of years. 13.9 is way off. Principal is nice but could be stronger leader. Overall we have been pleased and our children have gotten a good education. Nice working class neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 35% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 33% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 92% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 36% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 35% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students29%
Female24%
Male33%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander9%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin37%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled33%
English learners6%
Proficient in English37%
Non-migrant29%

Reading

All Students14%
Female10%
Male16%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander0%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin17%
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled16%
English learners0%
Proficient in English18%
Non-migrant14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students63%
Female77%
Male51%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander55%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin69%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled74%
English learners48%
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant63%

Math

All Students39%
Female49%
Male32%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander23%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin53%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled46%
English learners0%
Proficient in English53%
Non-migrant39%

Reading

All Students20%
Female26%
Male15%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander11%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin29%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities0%
Non-disabled24%
English learners0%
Proficient in English26%
Non-migrant20%

Science

All Students69%
Female80%
Male59%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander55%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin74%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled79%
English learners52%
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant69%

Social Studies

All Students81%
Female91%
Male71%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin84%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities38%
Non-disabled89%
English learners69%
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students24%
Female25%
Male23%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander7%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin33%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities31%
Non-disabled22%
English learners9%
Proficient in English27%
Non-migrant24%

Reading

All Students16%
Female14%
Male17%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander7%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin19%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled19%
English learners0%
Proficient in English18%
Non-migrant16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students33%
Female35%
Male32%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander15%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin43%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled35%
English learners0%
Proficient in English43%
Non-migrant33%

Reading

All Students15%
Female27%
Male6%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islander8%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin23%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled16%
English learners0%
Proficient in English19%
Non-migrant15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 62% 73%
Asian 22% 4%
Hispanic 13% 10%
Black, not Hispanic 3% 10%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 1% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 20%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 21%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 92%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 66%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 100%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kristin Comerford
Fax number
  • (920) 832-4389

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2037 N Elinor St
Appleton, WI 54914
Website: Click here
Phone: (920) 832-6250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Cooperative School
Appleton, WI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT