Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Appleton, WI
Students enrolled: 381

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Horizons Elementary School 4

Posted April 20, 2012
- a parent
Everybody gotta love Mr.Peeple, he has all the patience in the world for kids. I have never seen anyone like him. He is the greatest!! Other than that the office people needs a little improvement.

Horizons Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
This is a wonderful well rounded school. There are always extra activities & various clubs to keep your kids focused and excited about school. The teachers are that I know take a personal interest in your children and are excited to teach and see them learn. It's just a really great school w/ nice families, great teachers, awesome involved principal and an afterschool school program thru- the Y thats 2nd to none as far as I am concerned.


Horizons Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
I love the teachers and the principal! My children love to go to school.

Horizons Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2008
- a parent
This school is fantastic! I love it!! There are so many activites, extra programs & sooo much parental involvment this can't help but be a phenominal school! The teachers are outstanding & the principal is awesome is hand on all the way. To comment on the person that wrtote about not being able to play... is she kidddding.... this is so not true amd the phy ed teacher is phenominal as well as activities at recess Anyone that reads that really needs to d0isregard as I have 2 children there I wouldnt have my children go anywhere else besides private!! A+++++++++++++

Horizons Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2006
- a parent
The teachers at Horizons do their best every day to provide a safe, fun, and all inclusive learning environment. Bullying is not permitted and Mrs. Brice is strict but fair. There is a lot of parent involvement and the after school program is a 21st Century program with great clubs and tutoring services. I have a child with a learning disability and I am very pleased with how well he has been worked with. I can tell that the staff there have a sincere love for what they do and the children they work with. I am very grateful for such a wonderful school for my children.


Horizons Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2005
- a parent
Mrs. Brice goes above and beyond to put the 'fun' back into school for students, staff, and parents. She is a hands on principal ... even does recess duty! Horizons is a top of the line school with a principal who obviously loves her job! We are blessed!

Horizons Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2004
- a parent
This is in response to the review about the children at Horizon's not being able to be active during recess. This is so not true. Have you ever volunteered at Horizon's? The children are playing football, on the playground equipment and just generally running around. The comments made about Mrs Brice are so not true. She is a great principal and very fair and it is a wonderful school. I would say one of the best in the Fox Cities. The staff and teachers are very helpful. When the children come to school in the morning all the teachers are in the hall greeting them and saying 'Good Morning', what a great start to the day. I think who ever wrote that review should spend more time volunteering at school.

Horizons Elementary School 2

Posted August 23, 2004
- a parent
If you have active children, this is not the school for you. Children are not allowed to play during recess time unless it is a quiet activity. The adults take the balls away due to excessive roughness (they say). Kids will be kids, let them play I say. Unless they are intentionaly hurting each other, it should not be a big deal. A lot of the punishments are given on hear say and not from an adult who actually saw what occurred. The principal tends to pick out individual students and picks apart every little thing they do throughout the school year.


Horizons Elementary School 4

Posted January 05, 2004
- a parent
School is good but the parking is horrible! Horizon's needs to make it easier for parents to pick up students from school...terrible parking arrangement!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horizons Elementary School
2101 Schaefer Cir, Appleton, WI  54915
(920) 832-4600
Last modified Horizons Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Horizons Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top