Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Brookfield, WI
Students enrolled: 1,315
 

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

13 reviews of this school


East High School 4

Posted November 28, 2012
- a student
The school provides free admission concerts to the community. After the school day, Lilly Rd is a pain.

East High School 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a student
Since the remodeling and the new improvements the schools has become vastly better. The teachers are some of the best in the state and look at the test scores- for several years BEHS has been rated as one of the best schools in the nation. Also the schools has one several Red Quill awards for high ACT scores. The classes are challenging and there is a great variety of courses as well. For all the comments posted before the last 2 or 3 years the school has dramatically changed for the better. The administration is great and the school is incredibly friendly and welcoming. Students generally finish with several AP college credits and most math students finish at college level math courses. I would highly recommend this school to anyone in the area, even those considering private schools.


East High School 3

Posted February 08, 2009
- a student
While BEHS is a good school, and is consistently rated very high in the nation, if you look at what makes up the school it really only deserves an average. The teachers are great, no doubt, but the resources are lacking. With the new renovations, hopefully this will improve, but as of now the technology that we have is not only barely available to students, but very behind. They are supposedly introducing all new computers and such with the renovations, but I think it is a bit late. The facilities are quite out dated and can't fit the amount of kids very well. Academically, though, this is a great school. It just needs some improvements.

East High School 5

Posted September 24, 2007
- a parent
This school is excellent. The learning environment is very healthy and children are expected to learn and behave like young adults. Very solid.

East High School 4

Posted March 14, 2006
- a parent
Very good school, my child is getting a great education and is living in a very accepting and encouraging environment. Great sense of humor, loving and kind.


East High School 4

Posted January 15, 2006
- a parent
I'm surprised to read these negative reviews! If Brookfield East has such mediocre offerings, why are the Elmbrook college entry scores consistently among the highest in the state? Outdated facilities? That parent must be in support of the huge (120million) referendum that has been shoved down taxpayers' throats. The two high schools are in good condition... what can go wrong with concrete block walls and terazzo floors? 'Bricks and mortar' do not make a school great. Students do not learn from the walls or the parking lot. Spend the resources on the best teachers and enrichment programs. Kids are inspired and fired up by relevant and interesting subject matter presented by inspired and inspiring mentors. Our kids have had the benefit of finding several teachers that fit that description at Brookfield East. Parental involvement is very strong - parent/teacher conferences are packed. Most parents (like us) are very happy with BEHS!

East High School 4

Posted January 05, 2005
- a parent
Brookfield East is a wonderful school both in the academic area as well as extracurricular. We have 3 daughters, one who is now a senior in college, one a Junior at BEHS, and our third is an 8th grader who will attend East next year. Our college student received an exceptional education that prepared her well for what was to come regarding higher education. Our junior is cared for as a person and student by staff at East and is challenged in all areas. We look forward to our 8th grader having the same experiences as our other two. We couldn't have made a better choice than to have our children be a part of the Elmbrook School District and attend Brookfield East. We appreciate the leadership Dr. Schroeder provides for our children. There is nothing better than having our kids be accountable for their actions and decisions.

East High School 3

Posted January 03, 2005
- a parent
East's principal, Dr. Schroeder, needs to toughen up. He likes to feel in control, but it is a high school after all. Most of the teachers are excellent, but I do feel that the social studies department could use some work. I was amused to read the 'forensics battle' comments. I would have to agree that the team is somewhat overrated. The music and art departments could use more funding; they are already quite good considering how limited their supply is, but imagine how good they could be if they had proper funding. All in all, a good school, head and shoulders above Central and BA, and certainly cheaper than the private schools as well.


East High School 2

Posted December 11, 2004
- a parent
The education's good, for public schooling &kids are nice. If your child takes all AP and honors classes, it is fine. In this area, East is probably the 2nd best public school, behind Arrowhead. It is very disorganized & there is no security system; doors are unlocked & parents do not need to check in or anything! Facilities are the originals, 30+years old. Dr. Schroeder, principal, is not a good leader. He brings in outside authorities anytime he feels out of control Standard curriculum=WEAK!! English is a disappointment; 4 years are required, but 'easy/unacceptable' ones count. Focus on one thing per course (speech, composition, lit, etc.). If you are going to send a child to public school, this is good, and better than Central, Dominican, etc.

East High School 4

Posted October 12, 2004
- a parent
My daughter did not feel welcome at the school. Not welcoming.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East High School
3305 Lilly Road, Brookfield, WI  53005
(262) 781-3500
Last modified East High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
East High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top