Advertisement
Advertisement

Trinity Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 165 students

We are very family friendly with high parent involvement.
 
 

 

Living in Caledonia

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I as a parent learned much from this school. Socially, this is a great school for your child if you are an "insider" and your child fits into one of the "cliques". This a WELS Lutheran congregation so if you have a daughter be prepared that they teach the gospel parts which explain that women are not the equal of men (by the way, I'm a dad writing this). The Pastor and Principal that were there when we joined and enrolled our children got squeezed out by the current "regime". The current leaderships only interest was in building a gymnasium that they could not afford and raising tuition by more than 100 percent. My daughter attended Preschool thru the 7th grade. She advised that she was openly bullied and when brought to the attention of staff was ignored. She had problems taking tests and when a specialist advised to have her cover the part of the test sheet not being used with a blank sheet of paper (to allow her to concentrate on a smaller visual field) we were accused by the teacher of asking him to "help" our daughter cheat. I would not recommend this school to ANYONE that I know. The worst Racine Unified School tries harder to help than Trinity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2014

I would definitely recommend Trinity, Caledonia to anyone looking for both a Christian atmosphere and quality education. Along with a Christ centered education, Trinity also has excellent music and athletic programs . I have kids at Trinity and while I have not always agreed 100% with all aspects of their education!, when I did have concerns or questions, they were always addressed immediately and resolved. In addition, the teachers are all very involved in the church and school and invested in its success. Finally, each teacher my youngest child has had has gone out of their way to accommodate his visual issues, including enlarging every assignment and making sure he sits at the front of the classroom (and we never asked for either concession). Overall, Trinity is an excellent choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

I guess I'm a little confused here. I thought this sight was to inform people of your opinion of the school. I have posted on here and now it has been removed. My child had the most horrific time here. Not every child is a perfect child and there needs to be understanding and kindness. Not a tearing down of that child's being. Children should go to school happy and ready to learn. Not crying and feeling like they are nothing.


Posted March 25, 2014

I would highly recommend Trinity to anyone looking for a quality Christian education. The teachers and staff truly care about each child. Most importantly, each child hears God's Word every single day, throughout the day.


Posted January 21, 2014

We had all four of our children attend this school and cannot be more happy with education they received. The teachers are caring, dedicated professionals. Our children went off to high school so completely prepared that their high school classes were and are easy for them. But most importantly, they were given a truly Christian based education, preparing them for lives as Christian adults. We are eternally thankful to the staff at Trinity for this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

If you are looking for a place to enrich and nourish your child both socially and academically THIS SCHOOL IS NOT FOR YOU! Unfortunately this is not a truly Christian, loving place. The interest that this school has in children is purely financial. In other words they want to fill their classrooms because that equals cash coming in, which then helps them to make their monthly mortgage payment. Facility was expanded a few years ago and has been in grave financial danger of shutting down since. They've even cut staffing to make ends meet.


Posted June 1, 2013

Trinity is an excellent school with well-trained teachers. These teachers integrate God's Word into the entire curriculum. The children are given opportunities to explore their God given talents through extracurricular activities that include a drama club, spelling bee, math meet, forensics, string instrumentals, band, piano, choir, and sports. We have been very pleased with the Christ centered education at Trinity!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

Trinity is by far the best school I have encountered. My children were going to the local elementary school when we found Trinity Lutheran Church. We became members and immediately put our boys in school there. They are truly Christ focused, while providing a solid education. The entire atmosphere of the school and church is so family focused, we fell right at home. We were accepted with open arms and made to feel wanted. We had previously joined another Lutheran school and didn't feel welcome at all, needless to say, we left and put our children in public school. I am so happy we found Trinity and would recommend the school and church to anyone!! The pastors commitment to the school is also very refreshing. It's so much fun to see them involved in the daily going ons at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

I graduated from Trinity MANY years ago, then moved away. We recently moved back to the area, and were thrilled to find Trinity now has its own beautiful gym! What a blessing it has been! The academic program is still second to none, struggling students get the extra tutoring they need to succeed. My kids will be steps ahead of public school peers when they get to high school, whether they go on to Shoreland Lutheran or public high school, just as I was many years ago. Athletic programs ARE great, but so are other extra-curriculars, such as forensics, academic teams, band, orchestra, and piano. Most important is solid Christian values to last a lifetime! It's not perfect, but NO school this side of heaven is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

I went to this school and graduated from this school. Although it has a great academic program, it is a very sports centered school. I was bullied for not being in sports! They really don't prepare children for life outside of grade school. To be honest, I would only recommend this school if your child is actually GOOD at sports. That is how sports centered they are. But I agree, you get a good academic and christian learning.


Posted May 5, 2011

Both Trinity Lutheran School and the Preschool are just unbelievable schools. I was blown away by what my daughter learned in the two years at preschool and what she has already learned in Kindergarten. She writes in complete sentences, can count to 100, is learning money and so much more! My son, who is in fourth grade, comes home almost every day and tells me things that he has learned. They are learning things that kids in 2 grades above him in public school are learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2004

Trinity provides a quality Christian education, with personal attention. It is amazing to me to think my first grader is multiplying and dividing and does word problems my third grade nephew is doing. His teacher is wonderful. She makes school fun for the kids and understands that the need of each student is different. There is communication between parents and teachers. Because the school is small parent involvement is essential which I see as an asset. There are disadvantages as well, there is no gym, so sports practices and games are held at other schools. I feel advantages far outweigh disadvantages.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White, not Hispanic 97%
Multiracial 3%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0%
Asian 0%
Black, not Hispanic 0%
Hispanic 0%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Accredited National Council for Private School Accreditation (2010)
  • NCPSA (2011)
  • NCPSA (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Accredited National Council for Private School Accreditation (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Principal David L Habeck
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod
Fax number
  • (262) 835-0707

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Lutheran Boy Pioneers
  • Lutheran Girl Pioneers
  • Peer Mediation
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Blue and Gold
School mascot
  • A Knight (Crusader)
More from this school
  • We are fully accredited both by the National Council for Private School Accreditation and WELS School Accreditation.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
30
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
30

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$1000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Racine Parental Choice Program
Application fee
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Shoreland Lutheran High School, Somers, WI
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7900 Nicholson Rd
Caledonia, WI 53108
Website: Click here
Phone: (262) 835-4326

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Louis School
Caledonia, WI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT