Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cudahy High School

Public | 9-12 | 742 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 22, 2014

This school is terrible. I've been going to cudahy schools my entire life and it's been bad. I've been getting bullied for several years. After I told them what I was going through they said something would be done. Guess what? It wasn't. The teachers don't care if you're child succeeds or not. All they care about is their paycheck. The students are definitely not first priority here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2014

CHS has had a poor reputation, but after going there I realize that it's just as good as any of the schools that say otherwise. I am at the top of my class, and have received many post high school opportunities because of CHS. There are bullies, slackers, and kids who are on the wrong path, but there are also driven, intelligent, talented students who take their education seriously. CHS has dedicated teachers who devote a lot of their free time to helping students like myself get an excellent education. Being a public school, CHS has a wide variety of people who go there. Going to CHS has taught me how to deal with people who are very unlike myself, and how to find those who have similar interests. Unlike going to a school where every student has an impressive GPA and has never been in trouble, going to CHS has presented me with social and academic challenges that will most definitely help me in the future. Education is what your child makes of it. CHS was the last place I wanted to go to high school, but now that I'm graduating, I realize that I wouldn't have wanted to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2011

This school is a GREAT small community school. The terachers are top notch. They put forth alot of their free time to help the students achieve their goals. The athletic's that this school offers are wonderful, you can see the compassion in the coaches actions and the players.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2011

The teachers are fantastic and care about each student individually. However, if you want for your child to have a great education and a good social life, or even an alright social life, do not send them to CHS. A lot of the children there are bullies and tend to disrupt the learning environment.


Posted April 2, 2010

I am a parent of a Cudahy High School Student my daughter as had problems with being bullied in this School for two years now. My daughter has taken this issue to the proper authorities numerous times and with no help from them she continues to have problems. It's a pretty sad day when your daughter is afraid to go to school and receives no help from the ones that we entrust with their safety when at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Do you know what Packer Pride is? Well I do because I go to school there! If you have never seen how much we care then you havnt been there! Packer Pride is much more about how our school looks, but how we act and the students look. Everything we do reflects our school, city, friends, family, teacher...etc LETS GO PACKERS!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2009

The parents and the staff are working together to make our students high school experience memorable and relavant to today's society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

Cudahy HS is a vibrant learning community where parents,faculty and staff work with the students to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

I love the fact that our High School has teachers that are invested in their students education and extra curricular activities. They go out of their way to make sure that their students can find balance and achieve all that they care to. The school offers a ton of extra curriculars, AP classes, and special interest classes. The staff is fabulous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

I love Cudahy High School because the Teachers and Faculty always takePride in our school and they teach our children to take pride in themselves and our community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

it was the best school i've been in that cares about children with disabilities.


Posted September 25, 2008

Compared to the big city public schools that my kids were going to attend this school by far is great. Alot of school spirit and concern by teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

Poor school with a staff that is indifferent in general. Upper management has serious disconnect from student body especially the Dean of Students. Some good teachers in their art and science departments, but overall a below average learning institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

I'm an ex-student of this school, the teachers and consulors helped me when I really needed them the most.The after school programs were excellent, their drama and arts programs were the best.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 30, 2005

The academic possibiliteies here are wonderful. AP Classes are offered and encouraged, teachers help you every part of the way. The staff wants you to be prepared for real life- they care about you as an individual.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2005

Cudahy is a good academic school. I feel that they truly prep you for college. The activities provided at the school are awsome. As a graduate, I left that school ready to move on to college. The teacher go above and beyond to help you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 19, 2005

Cudahy High School isnt the best school out there. I decided to transfer to a much better school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 20, 2004

Cudahy High School is fantastic! It's a great place to learn and further your skills in anything you want to do! The activities are excellent and the overall student body is well behaved.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students75%
Female81%
Male70%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin78%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities26%
Non-disabled82%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant75%

Math

All Students34%
Female28%
Male39%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic20%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin40%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities0%
Non-disabled40%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English35%
Non-migrant34%

Reading

All Students26%
Female27%
Male25%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic12%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin29%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities0%
Non-disabled30%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English27%
Non-migrant26%

Science

All Students79%
Female73%
Male83%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic76%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin81%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities42%
Non-disabled84%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Non-migrant79%

Social Studies

All Students87%
Female87%
Male88%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin89%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities42%
Non-disabled95%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Non-migrant87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 73% 73%
Hispanic 17% 10%
Black, not Hispanic 6% 10%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 2% 1%
Asian 1% 4%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 12%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 6%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 85%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 67%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 100%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4950 S Lake Dr
Cudahy, WI 53110
Website: Click here
Phone: (414) 294-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Francis High School
Saint Francis, WI



South Milwaukee High School
South Milwaukee, WI


Landmark Christian Academy
South Milwaukee, WI


Calvary Academy
South Milwaukee, WI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT