Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northland Pines High School

Public | 9-12 | 495 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

An incredibly caring staff, quality facilities and a supporting local community make the Northland Pines High School such a success. I have had the privilege of sending two of my children to the Northland Pines High School and I have no regrets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I graduated from NPHS and loved my experience there. All the teachers were great, the guidance department was a huge help, and my transition to college went smoothly. The sense of community that the Northland Pines High School has is like nothing I've ever felt before. Alumni stick together years after graduation and remain close friends. I would recommend the Northland Pines School District to anyone who wants to enjoy getting an education. The new high school building is fabulous! I love that the community can come in and use it along with the students. The high school musicals are amazing, their sports teams are excellent, and the students are so positive there. I am proud to be part of a community that supports it's local schools and students.


Posted August 11, 2013

The teachers do their best to adapt t the ongoing changes of a poor administration. New methods are a constant, so children suffer while every discipline implements something NEW each and EVERY year. Safety is never a priority, even when the leaders speak to the contrary. Dollars. The bottom line is always how to look good on paper or in the media while compensating the inner circle of friends. A newsletter of poor quality writers speaks to the level of educational capabilities... Run-on sentences, preparing for failure, and misuse of punctuation are typical. We wish we had selected a better school for our children. College will prove to be difficult! We do not blame the teachers, but we do realize the administrators at the school district failed. The technology used to work, but it is a "money pit" suddenly. My children are told the reason focuses on our rural neighborhood, but it used to be amazing. Why? We believe we are not being told the truth. Again, this fact no longer surprises us... Questions always result in a souped up response perfect for a news conference, filled with words and no substance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2013

I graduated from Northland Pines and I thought that I had received a good education...boy was I wrong! I got to college and had absolutely no idea how to study for exams or how to take notes. I suffered a great deal my freshman year of college because I was so unprepared. Part of it was on my end because I wanted to take easy classes and just slide on through my last year of high school. I did participate in Youth Options and went to Nicolet and got some gen. eds out of the way. But I was in no way prepared for real college level courses. The guidance office makes all the seniors take a survey before our last day and it asks us how prepared we feel for college, if we feel confident we will succeed in college and what they can do better if you don't fee ready. I answered that I felt I was ready, I wish they would give that survey again. I would give them a big fat F! They don't prepare seniors for the real college work load and I suffered for it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Our teacher's really care about the well being and futures of our children. They are organized and give the word 'teacher' a great respected name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

Beautifully new building, but poor quality education inside it. Most teachers are only doing enough to get through their teaching day, while students suffer by lack of knowledge and education that should be happening in the classroom. Students only do enough to get by, because nothing of true quality is expected of them. Policies in writing are not followed. Dress-code is not enforced. No consistency with consequences or rewards. I would not recommend this school, unless you have come from a very low-quality education already.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

This school is not that great.. Kids don't learn things they are expected... even some of the simple things... and then they learn things that are not even usfull
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2007

As a 2000 graduate of NPHS I feel as though I was not prepared for the outside world and what college was going to throw at me academically. I struggled through college and got a four year degree.


Posted September 24, 2007

the school doesnt really think about whats best for the kids. they think about how much its going to cost...
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 30, 2007

The High school dropped a foreign language(German) for a year and Seniors didn't get their fourth year and German 2 and 3 have lost a year of knowledge. The 2007 school year will have a German teacher because a handful of students, a mom, and the intro/German 1 teacher fought for getting their foreign language back and what I disliked the most is there were 2 Spanish teachers and still are. The band and choir teachers quit because the district cut the middle school band teacher, which were all great aquatintes. Parents don't do much except help with field trips, give their kids money for the snack bar, and chaperone dances.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2007

This is a great school to raise your kids in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 70% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 76% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students78%
Female80%
Male77%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities40%
Not disabled85%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant78%

Math

All Students56%
Female49%
Male63%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities20%
Not disabled61%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English56%
Not migrant56%

Reading

All Students48%
Female44%
Male52%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities20%
Not disabled52%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English48%
Not migrant48%

Science

All Students80%
Female71%
Male89%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities53%
Not disabled84%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant80%

Social Studies

All Students80%
Female80%
Male81%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities47%
Not disabled87%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 94% 73%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 10%
Multiracial 2% 2%
Black, not Hispanic 1% 10%
Asian 0% 4%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 13%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 0%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 89%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 44%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 99%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 Pleasure Island Rd
Eagle River, WI 54521
Website: Click here
Phone: (715) 479-4473

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Three Lakes High School
Three Lakes, WI



Conserve School
Land O Lakes, WI


Rhinelander High School
Rhinelander, WI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT