Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

2 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Evansville High School 1

Posted May 13, 2014
- a student
My school is horrendous. If you're thinking of putting your child in this district you better hope they have the right looks. So much bullying happens here that goes untouched. My family has contacted the principal and he did nothing which leaves the bulling to happen.

Evansville High School 1

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
There is so much wrong at this high school and the district as a whole. Very limited curriculum choices. This is not a school you want your child going to if they are college bound of any kind of college, 4 year or tech school. The administration is horrible and I agree with the post that described them as bullies. Drive another 25 miles and there are excellent schools in Madison, or Janesville. Evansville scores very low on tests and fails to get students ready for college. They only want parent involvement as long as you agree with them..


Evansville High School 1

Posted March 10, 2013
- a parent
Evansville School Is horrible. The staff are bullies, and they allow other children to be bullies. My children have had horrible experiences at this school. They need all new staff, and to have a real anit-bullying program, not just posters and signs you put up to make it look like the school cares.

Evansville High School 1

Posted November 17, 2012
- a parent
This school district lacks in so many areas I am not sure where to start. The administration at the H.S. and Middle school is not good. The administration at the high school are bullies them selves. They do not have a lot of class options. Students are poorly prepared for college. They resist parent participation .

Evansville High School 1

Posted November 07, 2012
- a parent
The Evansville school district is quite horrible. There over test scores are awful ( go to the D.P.I. website, do not ask them they put quite a spin on it.) To many of the teacher's are bullies and play politics and does the administration . There is not enough ap classes. Go 15 miles to Madison and you will get much better teacher's and selection of courses. There is no talking to them the teachers and administrators never think they are wrong.


Evansville High School 2

Posted September 11, 2012
- a parent
I have 3 children currently in the Evansville school district and one that graduated from EHS a couple of years ago. First my oldest had a great experience at EHS and has went on to do fabulous things and has been very Appreciative of the education received there. While the next child has been over looked and bullied and treated terribly. I have wanted to take the children out of this school system, however open enrollment at a nearby school the options for betterment are not great. So, we trudge on here. The bullying has taken place by teachers not students, their attitude towards students and parents are nothing less than condescending yes this means acting in a way that shows a superior attitude always toward students and parents. Since my oldest graduated the one thing that changed at the high school is the principal. This year they have either gotten rid of the best teachers and/or cut the best teachers hours. They kept all of the rude obnoxious ones this only promotes a negative atmosphere for students. This school does not try to get all parents involved and is very clickish. There is not enough communication and support for parrents and students in a positive manner.

Evansville High School 1

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
Poor communication between the school and parents. The parents and community are very active, however the schools, teachers and administration lack greatly in many areas. A few great teachers doesn't fix the underlying problem - overpaid teachers that don't do their job, overpaid principals that don't do their jobs - they will ignore you, take no accountability - if a job performance evaluation were to be done on their performance alone - over half of the teachers and staff would be gone. The property taxes in Evansville are one (if not) the highest in Rock County with very little to show for it. Oh, and they do not foster or address diversity at all - if your child is different in any way - they will do nothing - the recent "bullying" button they have on their website = covering their "butts" while they continue to do nothing/a way for them to turn it around on the parents and still take NO accountability.

Evansville High School 4

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
I am a graduate of EHS and after three miserable years in the Janesville School District I open enrolled my daughter to Evansville. She's doing much better in attendance and academics. There's less drama. Teachers are more willing to help students. As far as the principal goes, I think he's arrogant and condescending toward students and parents. He has a punitive way of thinking and rather than handling conflicts himself is too quick to police. Evansville has excellent parent participation as well as community support for varsity sports; freshman and junior varsity not so much.


Evansville High School 3

Posted March 15, 2011
- a parent
Overall the school is pretty decent. Most teachers are actively engaged with parents once you reach out to them. They have a very strong music program and new facilities, but elective courses could be beefed up in regrads to foreign language. Currently they only offer spanish.

Evansville High School 4

Posted January 12, 2008
- a community member
I should know, I went to the Evansville schools K-12. It's a great town to live in, it's a great school system, and no matter what the kids say while they're in school (haha) once they leave they end up missing it. :)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Evansville High School
640 S 5th St, Evansville, WI  53536
(608) 882-4600
Last modified Evansville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Evansville High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top