Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin High School

Public | 9-12 | 1443 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

Science, humanities, literature, and history classes tend to do very well at this school but, I believe that the math field is extremely weak at this school. I have seen a lot of kids fail math class here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2012

I just graduated from Franklin and I have to say that it was one of the best experiences of my life. The administration was usually in the loop of what was going on in the school and could easily be approached. Then again, they were strict if you got into trouble. They tended to pick on some however that was due to the trouble that those individuals caused. The building itself was old and the air conditioning didn't work in some areas of the building but worked on high power in other places but that could easily be remedied by layers of clothing. There was lack of class space such as the orchestra and choir sharing a room when the other wasn't using it, but it led to fun things going on and a sense of a close community. The teachers are certainly memorable. If you prove to them that you're willing to learn and be serious about the class then they worked hard to help you learn. On the flip side, if you weren't going to put in effort, neither would they. It was determined by the student's attitude. Overall, Franklin pushed me beyond my expectations and has left college being easy for me now thanks to concepts I learned there (and I'm at Marquette University). Hats off to Franklin!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2012

As a former student of FHS I can say that I think overall this is a great school. If your a student that takes class seriously you will learn a lot from any teacher there, and it is possible to do well even with the toughest graders if you put in the effort. I appreciate the teachers here that don't just hand out A's they prepared me for college which is what High School is suppose to do. I'd say the biggest flaws with FHS is the the lack of college prep courses and the need to improve the schools amenities to include things like tennis courts, an auditorium and other things other schools of the same caliber have in the area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2010

As a former student, and now a substitute teacher for this school, I can say that what I learned here prepared me for college/life. It's not perfect, but for every negative, there are two positives about it.


Posted March 2, 2010

Awful school. Administration is terrible, and the way things are run at this high school is all wrong. Avoid sening children to tis school if at all possible
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Franklin High school misses the mark on leadership and teacher quality. The teachers and administration create a atmosphere of contempt for students rather than one of respect. It is very much an 'us against them' environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

To say FHS is an average school seems fair. I am here to comment on the teaching staff. Some teachers have easy curriculums, and it's no wonder why no one ever fails their classes. Other teachers have little to no control over their classroom, and the students never learn anything substantial out of their classes - only the latest gossip. Others, grade unfairly, talk all class, and leave you with a pile of homework, or are new, and still have no idea how to teach at all. But amongst this, there are also great teachers! Teachers who refuse to allow students to fail. Teachers who motivate their students, teaching them not only the required curriculum, but how to apply it to real life. Teachers who refuse to allow their students to glide through class. Teachers who motivate students to want to do thier best!


Posted July 25, 2008

I had a son attend FHS and was deeply disappointed in the teacher's uncaring attitude, lack of motivating the student's and how administration is run. I ended pulling my son out mid year and enrolling him in a private HS. He had since blossomed into an incredible young man with truly leadership abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

I am a junior at Franklin High. Although many think this school is a great place to send your kid, i beg to differ. Yeah, the educational standards are high, but a number of teachers fail at motivating and helping students to reach them. One English teacher grades his freshmen students at a college level. The result? It's nigh impossible to get a grade above a C in his class. Also, the administration is a total joke. I and a few other students have run into some trouble in the past year, and when we or parents tried talking to any of the three administrators we got nowhere. Phone calls were never returned, and unless a substantial amount of chaos was raised nothing was ever done or even 'checked on.' Although the academics are great, the attitude of the people in charge is less than admirable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2008

The School is becoming overcrowed and the administration really is bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

I am a parent of middle and elementary school children in Franklin and so far I have been pleased. I am concerned about the issues the high school is having. Overcrowding, inconsistent administration, etc. High school is the most important of the forming years for our young people. We need to get more organized with our thought processes. We need to see a more organized plan for the new school so families are well educated about what they will be gaining in order to vote for the new buildings. More information is a GOOD thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

I have a son attending Franklin High school. The administration is very inconsistent in the way it runs the school and enforces the rules. The school is over crowded and the building is very outdated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

I graduated from FHS in 2004 and currently I am an undergrad at Marquette University in the School of Education with an English emphasis. The course work at MU requires me to visit city schools and observe for so many hours. I can now say that FHS is a great school. It is sad to see the major differences between inner city schools and FHS. After witnessing the poor quality teaching and lack of motivation in two city schools, I can now say that I was lucky to go to FHS and have received a great education. Anyone questioning the quality of FHS should take a look at other options around the Milwaukee area. I believe that this is one of the best schools for parents and students alike. -JG
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 26, 2005

I'm writing in response to the lady from May 2005. I attended Franklin High School from 2001 until this past spring. I remember and had a relationship with members of the previous and the current administration. These men are much more involved in the lives of their students than the previous administration was. I see at least one if not all three at every sporting event, music concert, and activity held at the school. I have never attended one thing at this school, including every day of class without running into and having a conversation with at least one. I think they are moving this school in the right direction.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 14, 2005

I have a duaghter going to FHS right now and it has not been a good school to go to now that there is new administration. They are turing the school into a private school which it is not, it is a public school. They are taking away all the fun there is to high school away and I feel sorry that my child has to go through this. This school needs help and not just the sdministraction but the building is falling down and they need to just build a new one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2004

I attended FHS from August, 1998 through June, 2001. Previously, I had attended a private school in Racine. The best thing about FHS was the student-teacher relationships. When it came time for me to apply to different colleges, I had no problem finding teachers who knew my academic background as well as extra-curricular background. I do not feel that enough emphasis was placed on writing college-level papers, so I have had difficulty in some of my classes. For the most part, I did not have any problems with my classmates. All of them were fairly nice and pretty much minded their own business. Some of my classes were not very challenging at all, and I did not have to try very hard to make a B or better. However, some classes prepared me very well in what to expect from a college-level course. Overall, I would reccomend FHS educationally and socially.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 70% in 2014.

328 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

328 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2014.

328 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2014.

328 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 76% in 2014.

328 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian87%
Hispanic89%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin90%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities37%
Not disabled93%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant89%

Math

All Students63%
Female60%
Male67%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian71%
Hispanic39%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin63%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities5%
Not disabled67%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant63%

Reading

All Students59%
Female63%
Male55%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian61%
Hispanic39%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin60%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities9%
Not disabled63%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant59%

Science

All Students85%
Female84%
Male85%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian87%
Hispanic72%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin85%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities27%
Not disabled89%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant85%

Social Studies

All Students92%
Female94%
Male91%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian95%
Hispanic83%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin92%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities45%
Not disabled96%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 80% 73%
Asian 10% 4%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Black, not Hispanic 3% 10%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 1% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 8%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 2%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 83%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 72%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 98%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Nowak
Fax number
  • (414) 421-0558

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8222 S 51st St
Franklin, WI 53132
Website: Click here
Phone: (414) 423-4640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Greendale High School
Greendale, WI




Oak Creek High School
Oak Creek, WI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT