Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Germantown High School

Public | 9-12 | 1427 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 16, 2012

All of the staff is very helpful and they truly care about all of the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2011

I recently enrolled into Germantown High and I was very hesitant on it. Yes it is very cliquey but usually you find people to hang out with and become friends with. However in order to do this you have to be outgoing and not super shy. I moved to Germantown from Greenfield after my Freshman year. Greenfield was definitely worse than Germantown mainly because of the teachers and because of how ghetto it got in just a year or two. So compared to my old school this school is great. I definitely would recommend your child going here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2010

As a current student i would say dont send your child here. The minute they walk through the door they get judged by any one and everyone
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2006

As a parent of a Freshman who had not attended a Gtown grade school, I have been thoroughly impressed with the teachers and the atmosphere. The new Principal is doing an outstanding job of communicating with students, faculty and parents. He is helping to create a culture of enthusiasm and pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2005

I went to this school for two years. I moved here from Milwaukee and it took my entire freshman year to be accepted into a clique. I agree with other views that the school crosses the line with cliques. The teachers werent great, but I was a hard student to have. They didnt offer as much help as I needed, yes they'd send me to the math lab, but what was that going to do? its not the worste, but not the best. The school is awesome when it comes to extracurricular activities. I wouldnt reccomend this school to anyone that didnt grow up in Germantown.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 10, 2005

I have attended germantown highschool all four years. It's not your top school but it isn't your worst. Some of the teachers are bias and have their favorites like every school. Also they don't really listen to kids problems or what they need to fix about the school. I do have to say though that their higher education teachers who teach the advances classes are really good teachers and focus on the students needs.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 20, 2004

I'm a former student. I spent my junior year at Germantown and it was terrible. Being originally from the city of Milwaukee, the students (and some teachers) pre-judged me like I was just like the majority of Milwaukee Public School students... we didn't put any effort into our work and were just some punk city kids. I know every school has its share of cliques, but Germantown crosses the line. School isn't meant to be a social place, but it still has an affect on students' work. I had a 4.0 GPA before I switched to this school. At the end of the year, it had dropped to a 2.5. There is simply too much pressure put on by the teachers with very little help that they give and the students don't help the situation. If you're not white, rich, and don't wear brand-name clothes... good luck here, you'll need it!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2003

This will be my 4th year at this school. My school has a very strong guide line of believing in yourself. The teachers always push you as hard as you will go, but when you do need help, they don't hesitate to give you a hand. We may not be the top notch school for knowledge, but I feel I am learning what I want and need to learn.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students90%
Female90%
Male91%
Black, not of Hispanic origin57%
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin93%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities57%
Non-disabled93%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant90%

Math

All Students69%
Female63%
Male75%
Black, not of Hispanic origin32%
Asian/Pacific Islander43%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin74%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities23%
Non-disabled76%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant69%

Reading

All Students55%
Female52%
Male58%
Black, not of Hispanic origin19%
Asian/Pacific Islander28%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin58%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities17%
Non-disabled60%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant55%

Science

All Students91%
Female89%
Male92%
Black, not of Hispanic origin63%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin93%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities43%
Non-disabled97%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant91%

Social Studies

All Students93%
Female93%
Male94%
Black, not of Hispanic origin62%
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin96%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities57%
Non-disabled98%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 87% 73%
Asian 4% 4%
Black, not Hispanic 4% 10%
Hispanic 3% 10%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 11%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 1%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 74%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 100%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 100%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

W180N11501 River Ln
Germantown, WI 53022
Website: Click here
Phone: (262) 253-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Falls Baptist Academy
Menomonee Falls, WI


Menomonee Falls High School
Menomonee Falls, WI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT