Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Green Bay, WI
Students enrolled: 480

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Aldo Leopold Community School K-8 5

Posted April 05, 2011
- a parent
A wonderful school! As some comments have noted, Aldo does not give grades and fosters community, not competition. As someone who studies education, I know that this approach works and I'm thrilled that this (public) school option exists for my child. She loves learning and does not need to be motivated by grades. There is a LOT of quality parent involvement. My sister, who lives in MA, is jealous that we have such a high-quality option!

Aldo Leopold Community School K-8 5

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
Excellent, hands on, personalized learning. Caring and supportive staff. Parents are welcome and are very involved. Highly recommended.


Aldo Leopold Community School K-8 5

Posted August 13, 2010
- a community member
I love Aldo Leopold. I am going into 8th grade this year and have been going to Aldo since 3rd grade. Its VERY hands-on and the teachers are always encourging and motivating. And there ARE special needs classes, I know many kids who went to Aldo with special needs and they seemed to have enjoyed it. We just recently added 4K and Chelsea is one of my favorite teachers along with Patrick Wallace, Julie Rabideau, Tim Devine and Kara. I am sad to be leaving next year. :(

Aldo Leopold Community School K-8 5

Posted May 01, 2010
- a parent
This school is excellent for what it is. Distinctives: 1) Experiential learning in the community - high leveraging of community resources for the student's benefit: parent involvement, field trips to educational places, St. Norbert's college 'buddies' pairing with individual students to give input into their work & more. Community positively regards and significantly supports this school. 2) High focus on relationship. Teachers don't always teach 1 to 22 - they teach 1 to1, 22 times if necessary 3) Truly value diversity & respect for the individual. 'Mean Girls' & bullying is significantly less here than at other schools my kids have been at 4) Staff is organized around Education vs. Administration (like the best Customer Service oriented companies!) 5) Building is utlized as much and as often as possible, w/ MANY reasonably priced after school enrichment programs offered. 6) 390 students -preK-8 is smaller than many elementaries! 7) Strong parent community.

Aldo Leopold Community School K-8 2

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school if your child has no special needs and is able to motivate themselves. If not, then I would NOT send them there.


Aldo Leopold Community School K-8 5

Posted October 21, 2009
- a student
I love this school it is a school where a lot of people are nice and people i usually think wouldn't get along at schools like lombardi they actually get along at aldo! its the best school ever!!!!!

Aldo Leopold Community School K-8 3

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Aldo was a great school that is becoming, at best, a mediocre one. The introduction of new teachers who have been with inner city schools and have adopted those schools disciplinary methods is counter to what Aldo's mission was. There is still a core of great teachers at the school, but no longer can a student hope to have excellence all the way through their Aldo experience.

Aldo Leopold Community School K-8 0
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
I LOVE Aldo because they do so much more hands on learning with the kids. They try to teach through other means than simply text books and it shows in how much fun the kids have. It is not your average public school!


Aldo Leopold Community School K-8 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a teacher
Aldo Leopold is a choice school in the Green Bay area and many other students from other districts shoose to attend this Green Bay school. It is a Progressive School and has a great deal of family/community support and involvement. I choose to teach here because I am allowed to let students work to their potential and beyond. Students are allowed to work at their own rate and level. We encourage community outreach to use our knowledge in ways to better the school, home ,a nd the comunity.

Aldo Leopold Community School K-8 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a teacher
Aldo is a place where teachers care, and students use their gifts!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Aldo Leopold Community School K-8
622 Eliza St, Green Bay, WI  54301
(920) 448-2140
Last modified Aldo Leopold Community School K-8 is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Aldo Leopold Community School K-8 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top