Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whitnall High School

Public | 9-12 | 821 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2013

You probably hear all the great reviews from people who started from kindergarten and grow up in the school system.. For me, I came in seventh grade and was bullied severely, both by students and the highschools officer, assistant principal, and principal. They laughed at my stories of being bullied. Sure, it's a great school and offers alot of programs, but knowing that if you get a bad grade you'll be called an idiot is just unbareable.


Posted September 23, 2013

Whitnall school is best school dist ever for your special need child with autism they have alot more education and more fun activities events and alot great teachers and Helpers and very friendly staff mebers and it is number one school for your child with autism age 14 years old and up and they have best Transition Program for autism kids ages 18 and up after they gradute high school and it is great school dist for all ages go to
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2013

the Whitnall School District hires teachers that have a passion for what they teach. The teachers are not only there for a paycheck. the kids seem to thrive on the teachers passion for teaching and learn and achieve high grade point averages. The Whitnall School District has an annual back to school block party which is a grass roots effort to bring community together with students from all four district schools for a day of fun with free or low cost activities for kids of all ages and an entertainment tent and raffle with any proceeds divided between the four schools for the music and fine arts department.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My daughter will be a senior this year. She has had a fantastic experience academically and socially. The teaching is first rate! Her SAT and ACT scores were fantastic. She receives an abundance of mail from top notch colleges recruiting (including Columbia, Yale, etc.) Best decision I ever made was sending my daughter to Whitnall. My entire family attended Whitnall and are graduates. All of us received great educations and are all successful professionals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

I attended Whitnall Middle School and Whitnall High School, after coming from a Milwaukee Public school. There is a strong lack of culture, and I found that the math program poorly prepared me for college. I was an A-student and excelled in mathematics, and without being in the AP math program, college-level mathematics was extremely difficult to transition to. I had great mathematics teachers (great), but the program's pace was TOO slow, and it focused too heavily on the students that needed to catch up. College was a major reality check, and I was utterly unprepared. I also did not find myself challenged enough. If you do not get into AP and accelerated courses early enough, be aware of what's up ahead. A few teachers, however, went out of their way for me and engaged me in somewhat of their own time and really engaged me in ways that the classes alone were not. This is a great commendation of the teachers, however -- not the curriculum or the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

My daughter went to high school here and graduated last year. She is now on her first year of college and feels she was not prepared at all for all the work college entails. I am concerned they do not do enough to get them ready for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

My experience at Whitnall has been far from beneficial. Coming from a private middle school I found I learned more my 8th grade year than I have now on my senior year. The administration is very selective on who they decide to punish and very lenient when it comes to skipping classes and not recieving punishment. I would suggest any other school BUT whitnall. It was a complete waste of time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2006

I am very fortunate to have gone to this high school. My mother worked so hard for me to keep my grades up. I have autism and my parent's worked well with the Special Education staff to keep thing running smooth. the vocational support has been awesome. And the student body from athletes to everyone in general were wonderful to me. It has helped me with a lot of thing's in life from saving my money to working hard at my job, Whitnall... I salute you! I highly recomend this high school to anyone who has a child with autism and any cognetive disabilty.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 11, 2006

I graduated from Whitnall and moved into the school district so my kids could now go here. The acedemics are amazing and the teachers were absolutely the best. The transition fro High School to College was very easy with the knowledge I gained from the programs at Whitnall. The sports were top notch too, but never took priority over school work. I would reccomend this school for any and every student if I could.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 70% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 76% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students79%
Female90%
Male68%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin84%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities13%
Not disabled92%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant79%

Math

All Students54%
Female55%
Male54%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin56%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities6%
Not disabled63%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant54%

Reading

All Students48%
Female48%
Male47%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin53%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities6%
Not disabled56%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant48%

Science

All Students81%
Female86%
Male76%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin87%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities22%
Not disabled92%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant81%

Social Studies

All Students85%
Female91%
Male77%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin90%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities29%
Not disabled95%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 82% 73%
Hispanic 10% 10%
Asian 3% 4%
Black, not Hispanic 3% 10%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 16%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 1%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 82%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 58%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 96%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jackie Winter
Fax number
  • (414) 525-8501

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5000 S 116th St
Greenfield, WI 53228
Website: Click here
Phone: (414) 525-8500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Greendale High School
Greendale, WI


Greenfield High School
Greenfield, WI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT