Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

University Lake School

Private | PK-12 | 306 students

 
 

Living in Hartland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $322,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2007

My kids are in position to have guaranteed acceptance to the college of their choice and I don't have to drag them out of bed every morning. How can anyone complain when their kids love their school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

Our three children gratuated from ULS in the 1990's. Today they are well-rounded, happy and successful adults. ULS provided a foundation in academics, the arts and athletics allowing them to develop the self confidence and risk-taking required in the real word. We are fortunate to have given them a their "inheritance" up front! We recommend the school to those who value an almost one-on-one approach to learning where "college-prep" is really "life-prep".....


Posted October 8, 2013

ULS is a small college prep school. The curriculum allows individual attention for all students. Great faculty, good leadership trips and opportunities. ULS has larger beautiful campus.


Posted October 7, 2013

I have watched my daughter fall in love with learning again due to the support and encouragement of ULS staff. They have nurtured her individuality, taught her how to work in a group and helped her cope with the social awkwardness of high school. We also live in a "Blue Ribbon" public school district but our experience with that system found too much emphasis on working the ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

I am an alumni of ULS. In my senior year at Marquette. I did consider leaving to go to the local public high school at one point, and I cannot tell you how happy I am that I chose ULS instead. At the time, the major reason was I could to play 3 sports all 4 years of high school. I know I NEVER would have made the local JV or Varsity teams as there is so much competition. Then add in the huge scholarships and acceptance at every college I applied at, the price my parents paid made it worth it. Once I got to college, I saw even more of the benefit. The one-on-one attention the teachers gave me and the relationships we formed with the amazing teachers at ULS helped prepare me for approaching college professors with confidence. I could clearly see the difference between classmates educated at a public versus private school - academically and in life skills.


Posted September 26, 2013

ULS is a good school. Why would you spend all of that money for just a good school, especially when Lake Country has very good schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

It was a tough decision to choose a private school for our kids - especially with the great public schools in the area. But I have never regretted it once since starting ULS. Our eldest was a "lifer" and our investment in the ULS education has paid off in more ways than one - acceptance and scholarships at every college she applied for was a given. But the life skills she learned through the teachers at ULS - leadership, communication, independence, respect - changed the direction of her life forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

I think the teachers are great here and they definitely have each student's best interest in mind. However, I am very concerned with some of the principal's methods. When we first came to this school we were told there was a focus on the individual. It is my opinion there is a specific mold that those individuals must fit and deviation from that is not tolerated, especially when related to psychological challenges. We were explicitly told that this is not a "Special Needs" school and are leaving the school due to that remark.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

As someone who has taught at both public and private schools, I can truly say that my experience at ULS has been the best! The administration has been supportive of innovation that is backed up with research in best practices - allowing teachers to be creative while being attentive to standards and a rigorous curriculum. The small class size is conducive to getting to know each child, teaching to his/strengths and allowing them to reach their greatest potential. Students from local universities have come to ULS to learn from our teachers making it a great school for students of all ages. If you are looking for a school that encourages curiousity, wonder and the joy of learning in a unique and challenging setting, ULS is the place!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 18, 2012

This has been a fantastic school for our two children, both of whom have since graduated after attending there for 13 years each. The teachers and coaches our children experienced have been outstanding mentors. Our children have been highly successful at the colleges they chose to attend (both were admitted to and attended their first choice schools) and credit University Lake School for excellent preparation. In addition they played a variety of varsity sports throughout high school, performed on the stage, and engaged in community service. We are grateful for the wonderful experience our kids have had at ULS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

My daughter has been there 5 years now and absolutely LOVES it. It's definitely a hands-on approach to learning which I feel is a better method of learning and retaining knowledge. All kids have a chance to lead, to learn to work in group settings, and to explore their individual talents which make them unique. I know BA is probably stronger in terms of jamming academic information in but if the student doesn't learn to be curious and to think analytically what good does that do after graduation? It's a great school - maybe not for everyone - but I know it brings out the very best in my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

My children are leaving ULS after this year. The school has changed dramatically from the one we fell in love with many years ago. The quality of teachers and administrators has declined rapidly. True commitment to teaching individual students has been replaced by rhetoric. I know several other families leaving ULS for the same reasons. We have expressed our frustrations to the highest adminstrator. I truly hope they listen and take appropriate action. If they do, we may return.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2011

i am a student here in the 8th grade. i previously attended Kettle Moraine Middle School and hated it. i was picked on for everything (Being tall, Smart, even teased for wanting to read), then my parents sent me to ULS, and i rediscovered why i am alive. the one thing i do not like about this school is that the Guidance Councilor for the middle and lower school is a bit, off. she's great with kids under he age of 7, but my entier class (And come teachers and parents) think she could use with a replacement. (not saying kick her out completely, but get a different one for the middle school and send her to the lower school). but all said and done, i love this school!


Posted October 8, 2010

Great teachers. Involved parents. Small classes and lots of hands on activties. The administrators are a bit week especially the lower school head. The middle school curriculum needs to be improved. Overall a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

This is a truly amazing place! This is the best gift/inheritance I could have given my children. I have 1 child who graduated frm ULS 4 1/2 years ago, just graduated with honors from a very prestigious college in the east; working and supporting herself in Chicago! Another who is a junior and another who is in 8th grade. We have chosen to give our kids the tools they need to succeed in life - ULS provides a caring, safe. challenging, fun enviroinment in an amazing community of dedicated people. WAY beyond the ordinary! Worth every penny...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

Having just had our last child(4 kids total) graduate from ULS this past June (2007), I felt that I am very qualified to address this forum. All 4 of our kids have had a great experience at ULS since 1995. They originally started in the Kettle Moraine School District and we soon grew tired of the politics as well as the lack of one on one teaching, so we moved all 4 of them out to ULS. All 4 of them have either graduated from college or are in the process of it. They were all accepted at very good Division 1, 2 and 3 private colleges in 7 different states. They were also all recipients of some pretty fantastic scholarships to college that has certainly proven to us that the investment in ULS was well worth it. Caring teachers, sense of Community among all of the parents and students, great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 94% 74%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Black, not Hispanic 1% 10%
Hispanic 1% 10%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 4%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Paul Atkinson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (262) 367-3146

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
Summer college prep programs
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 290
Hartland, WI 53029
Website: Click here
Phone: (262) 367-6011

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lake Country School
Hartland, WI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT