Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rock Prairie Montessori

Private | PK-6 | 120 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Janesville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $122,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2013

This school is amazing. As a parent, I feel so fortunate that my kids are getting such an incredible start to their early childhood education at this school. The school uses positive guidance to help the kids understand what they are suppose to do rather than what they are not to do. We are so impressed by the teachers, staff and overall classroom programs. We feel this school is the best start possible for our kids. I would highly recommend. In a traditional school the teacher is the center of the class, at this school, the focus is on the need of the individual children. Before my son entered kindergarten at this school he was reading early readers and had been exposed to geography, life sciences, space, planets, various world cultures and languages, geology and more. He understands the solar system, the planets and their relationship with the sun. I could go on and on...I can't say enough about the quality of education my children have received here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

I am a parent of two students at Rock Prairie. We have had our kids at the school since 2010. I can't imagine a better environment for learning and growing. The environment is fantastic, the teachers are amazing and consistent, the programs offered are flexible and effective and the staff is helpful and supportive. Our kids love the school and we love the school as parents. The whole school is focused on the needs of the child academically, emotionally, developmentally, physically and individually. The teachers are in tune with different children's needs and adapt easily to meet them. My kids are very different from eachother. They have both excelled at Rock Prairie. The school also teaches kindness, respect and peace. It is a major theme throughout the school. We are so glad our kids have the opportunity to be a part of this wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

I have two children in this school, one in pre-K and the other in the toddler class. RPMS is a wonderful environment both for the children, and our family as a whole. The kids get positive and attentive guidance under which they thrive. The parents get the same (you should see the level of detail in the weekly notes and regular teacher-parent conferences). Together, we've learned along with our children to be supportive, curious and respectful of each other and others. The more we carry the lessons of the school into our home, the better off we are. I'm so sorry to read the 2011 review here, but I certainly can't say that I've experienced anything like this. I've only encountered teachers and staff that are exceptionally caring and supportive. My son, especially, requires it and thankfully he gets it at RPMS, along with a fantastic education. (At 5 he reads, is doing math, and last week gave my wife and I a presentation on the planets, their order, and their individual attributes. Amazing.) If you're interested in this school, go see it in action. That's what sold us when we moved to the area. We've never regretted our decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

I love this school. My son (4) has been going here since he was 2 and has done so well here. He is definitlely a more sensitive kid and they have done a great job with him! We are sadly in a position that we are moving out of the area. And I think that I will miss this school most of all. I only wish that my daughter who is going to be 2 in April could have attended. I couldn't have been happier with my son's teachers and all of the staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

Initially, I perceived my experience with the school positively. We had our 3 children enrolled there for a grand total of three years. The last summer , our feelings were that the school had shifted to the point that our children were no longer thriving. We placed our children in the public school system, and once we had this as a comparison, I would have to say that a huge thing missing from Montessori is nurturing and caring. Everything is based on acedemics, so if you have a sensitive child who thrives on emotional response, this school is not for you. Our 3 children loved our new local school and the teachers there had much more warmth and caring. Another consideration, is the questionable billing practices ...you could easily be over-billed, and most likely will be. Lesson learned...the schools in Wisconsin are excellent, and you are paying for something that is just as good, for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

After 3 years at RPMS we are moving and have to leave. I can think about searching for a new school for my daughter. I have very high standards and nothing seems to compare to this amazing school. Great community, staff and environment. Everyone there cares so much. We will miss this school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

I have sent all 4 of my children there. My daughters both attended until they were old enough to switch to public Kindergarten. It is absolutely amazing to see the work that the students are completing. They are not held back by age or what their peers are doing. Children choose their own work under the guidance of the teacher. Children are working on respect, responsablity, consequences and mastering a skill. I love that each child works to his/her potential and completion. None of that group herding found in other schools. The staff are extremely dedicated and caring and the parental involvement is fantastic. Both my daughters started Kindergarten already reading chapter books and are very good students who enjoy learning. They weren't pushed to academics too early, they were just given fun, challenging hands on activities to help them manipulate materials and learn. The only bad part is $$$$
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

Rock Prairie is housed in a state-of-the-art building surrounded by beautiful nature. The classrooms are beautiful. The teachers are loving and warm and eager to help and encourage the children. My son (5) has been very happy there. We drive 1/2 hour to get there, when there are closer Montessori schools. The school community is tight-knit. Extra-curricular activities are great there like yoga and Spanish. In my son's class, they have library, music and creative movement on different days. The children are allowed the freedom to move at their own pace. I really like that nature as well as peace and conflict resolution play a strong role there. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 71% 74%
Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 4%
Hispanic 11% 10%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 4%
Black, not Hispanic 0% 10%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
PE instructor(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:20 am
School end time
  • 5:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Martha Carver-Head of School, Linda Maybee-Director of Development and Planning, and Robyn Doege-Brennen-Director of Operations
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • IMC
Fax number
  • (608) 868-5965

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5246 E Rotamer Rd
Janesville, WI 53546
Website: Click here
Phone: (608) 868-4844

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Marshall Middle School
Janesville, WI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT