Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harmony Elementary School

Public | K-3 | 278 students

We best known for our quality programming.
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2013

awesome school, great teachers! Cant say enough about the warm welcome my children received when they first arrived!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

We could not be in a better elementary school than Harmony! The teachers and staff are AMAZING and very easy to work with! They have a strong sense of community and the parent group & volunteers make it even better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

I am the parent of a first grader at Harmony Elementary. I have been nothing but impressed by the staff at Harmony! My son has needed additional help at school, and the communication home has been impressive. If I ever have a question about what's going on in the classroom, my emails are responded to very timely. His teachers have been nothing but helpful, kind, and accepting of my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Harmony Elementary is a dream-come-true school for parents and children. Every single teacher and staff member we have encountered have been second to none. They make sure each child is challenged and nourished in the way they need to be. The education, fundamental life skills and nurturing at this school is something I didn't know existed anymore in our schools. One of the things that stood out most for me, from several years ago, is when my kindergartner daughter missed her first field trip to a pumpkin farm. Her teacher, Mrs. Purcell, dropped off a pumpkin to our home for my daughter after school. That is just the first of many reasons why our family loves this school and its teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

We are new to the Janesville/Milton area and we are really happy with Harmony Elementary! My 1st grader is making new friends, loves her teachers and always has a smile on her face at pick-up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Harmony is a great school. All of my kids have gone to school there. Very nice staff as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Harmony elementary school is the best school for both of my kids and others too. Teachers love each of kids, and are compassionate about what they are teaching. We all love Harmony school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

This is an amazing school. I have a first grader at Harmony and both his K and 1st grade teachers have been nothing short of what I expect from a teacher. The front office and Principle are equally great. Overall I love this school and I'll be sad when my child has to move on .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

This school has strong leadership, caring teachers and support staff, and provides the students with a solid curriculum. The staff members take responsibility for ALL of the children, not just the ones that they have in their classrooms. The parents' group is extremely supportive! There are volunteers in the school all the time.


Posted April 18, 2009

Can't say enough good things about this school or the district. The teachers are awesome and worked with my child to help her succeed. The smallness of the school is great. Ms. Smith the principal is wonderful and possess a quality of firmness with gentleness.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 35% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female70%
Male40%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin56%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled55%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant59%

Reading

All Students47%
Female54%
Male36%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin46%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled50%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 90% 73%
Hispanic 4% 10%
Asian 3% 4%
Multiracial 2% 2%
Black, not Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 12%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 0%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 83%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 94%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 100%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:35 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jeanne M. Smith
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (608) 868-5664

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Homework club
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Busing for those more than 2 m
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Culvers
  • TEAM Harmony
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Sports through organization
Girls sports
  • Sports through organization

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • red, white and black
School mascot
  • Harmony Hawks
More from this school
  • We have a very active parents' group, and we work hard to maintain a culture of collaboration and community.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4243 E Rotamer Rd
Janesville, WI 53546
Website: Click here
Phone: (608) 868-9360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT