Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Janesville, WI
Students enrolled: 366
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2015
- a teacher
Roosevelt Elementary School is a 2014 National Blue Ribbon School. "Educating Today s Children for Tomorrow s World" is more than just Roosevelt Elementary School s mission statement. It encompasses all that its educators strive to do each and every day both in and out of their classrooms. Today s children need to be given opportunities to think creatively, solve problems, work collaboratively, and become lifelong learners. From Roosevelt s acclaimed Chinese program to its award-winning Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports philosophy, Roosevelt s innovative programming helps prepare students to thrive in a globally competitive world. Theodore Roosevelt once said, "Do what you can, with what you have, where you are." These words exemplify Roosevelt s 80 year tradition of service to the community and excellence for all. While its achievement and programming are considered exemplary, embracing all students and preparing them for the future is the heart of Roosevelt s mission. For more information http://nationalblueribbonschools.ed.gov/awardwinners/14wi239pu_roosevelt_elementary_school.html

Roosevelt Elementary School 1

Posted March 05, 2015
- a parent
My 2 children are both falling behind. My disabled daughter does not get the supervision she needs. Teachers have forgotten about her needs and almost sent her outside in sub zero weather! The drop off and pick up is a nightmare. The handbook says there is supervision but there is none. They have 5th grade crossing guards that half have no idea what they are doing. The new principal is horrible. She came from a middle school and seems to have no idea how to deal with elementary kids. She told my daughter that white lies are ok. She tried to have another parent call the cops on her 1st grade son when he had an episode from a disability. She yelled at me several times for parking in the 1 handI cap parking stall so now I have to park down the street. I can't wait to switch schools.


Roosevelt Elementary School 3

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school, however if your child is not in the challenge program it seems like they do not reap as many benefits. The school is so focused on the talented and gifted program, that sometimes the 'regular' students get overlooked. These challenge classes get extra field trips, have smart boards in their class rooms, do special projects, and the other classes do not get these benefits. Additionally, some of the TAG students tend to make the other students feel less important often times. I would like to see more focus on the student body as a whole rather than just promoting the TAG program.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
One of the best things about Roosevelt is the dedicated staff that are willing to do just about anything to help a child achieve their potential.

Roosevelt Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Roosevelt has the kind of environment that particularly enriches kids. From the activities, to the faculty, to the classic architecture, Roosevelt brings a traditional yet savvy education to our communities youth. Go Rough Riders!


Roosevelt Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
History of exceptional teachers and principals who always inspire excellence which seems to continue generation after generation to today!

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted February 15, 2009
- a parent
Roosevelt is an excellent school. It is the home of the Challenge Program for the school districts top gifted and talented students. I highly recommend this program for all students who qualify.

Roosevelt Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
Wonderful staff. they are always right on top of things. My kids did go there up until this year. All the teachers are very helpful and love working with the kids.


Roosevelt Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 10, 2008
- a parent
My children have been at Roosevelt for 4 years now. The staff is wonderful. The principal is highly motivated and is communicative with parents. She is present at all functions, and, is friendly and outgoing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roosevelt Elementary School
316 South Ringold Street, Janesville, WI  53545
(608) 743-7005
Last modified Roosevelt Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roosevelt Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top