Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indian Trail High School And Academy

Public | 9-12 | 1903 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2014

I am a student of one of KUSD's choice schools, but this is my boundary school. I had to attend classes at this school several times, though I am not full-time. Let me just tell you, this school is terrible. It's out of control. It's amazing what measures the staff has to go through to only attempt to manage trouble-making students (including hall security, "sweeps," organizing no-pass lists, etc). On top of this, there is trash all over the place. In the halls, in the classrooms, on the floor in the bathroom... it's disgusting. This school is also simply gigantic. Finding any particular classroom can be a challenge for this reason, and I'd hate to spend a full school day here walking all over just by walking from class to class (forget using a locker). Even for its massive size, this school is crowded. This in addition to the 8-period-a-day schedule that KUSD implemented, I believe, has taken its toll on some of the teachers. I spoke with one outside of class and they said that it was difficult to teach a class in such a short period of time, plus it's difficult managing so many classes at once. The quality of education being provided is lacking now and at no fault to the teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2014

This is a school where the teachers actually care about the education of each and every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

My oldest graduated from Indian Trail last year. I have 2 still there one in the high school and one in the academy. I love this school. The staff is great. In do think they need to work on drop off and pick up. It took me 30 minutes one day waiting in line to drop my kids off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

I think this is a great High Shool my daughter enjoys going to this school. She has great teachers and I hope they keep up the wonderful job. My son is looking forward to attending Indian Trail in a couple of years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

I've been to more than 7 schools across the country during my lifetime and Indian Trail has definitely been the best. While every school has bad teachers, in general the teachers are awesome. As a Biotech student, I take some pretty hardcore science classes and the teachers are always happy to explain things further. Indian Trail doesn't have the gang activity and violence that Tremper or Bradford has so its easier to relax and focus on studies. Indian Trail is a wonderful and unique school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

It has an excellent Special Education Department. My granddaughter graduated from Indian Trail Academy's Special Education Department in June. I am very proud of her. My daughter is at Indian Trail Academy as an educator. She teaches learning disabled children. I am very proud of her, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

The second comment down is a complete misrepresentation of Indian Trail Academy. As a former student I am very proud to call myself an ITA graduate. I was part of the Biotechnology and Environmental Science Academy. It gave me great opportunities and the leaning I was given, as well as the experiences, are invaluable. I got more science credits there than you can at any other high school (8+ sci. credits). When I was there I also took Chinese 1 & 2, which was also only available at ITA. The teachers and the learning environment is phenomenal. The students are also great. This year we had two valedictorians (both of which were Biotech. students) and one salutatorian. ITA is the definition of excellence.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2009

Although the facility is new, that is really the only upside to ITA, unless you are ok with your child having a mediocre education. We've discovered that our daughter (knowing less than half of what was on her study guides the night before finals) easily breezed through and brought home unwarranted A's and B's, when she should have been getting C's and D's if ITA did not grade (apparently) on a rather low-end bell curve. It's not a horrible school, but I don't condiser it a good place to go to High School. Then again, I'm not sure there are any decent public schools in Kenosha. Sorry to sound like an elitist, but I am NOT impressed with Kenosha public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

The school thought my child more than at any other school I sent her to. She has become student of the month, and now finally she brings home the A's. The teacher really help her and the mentor program has helped her catch up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2004

Indian Trail Academy is a convenient alternative to the other high schools in Kenosha. There are few students and the school is easy to get around.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

409 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

414 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students74%
Female78%
Male71%
Black, not of Hispanic origin58%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin81%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities28%
Non-disabled79%
English learners18%
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant74%

Math

All Students33%
Female29%
Male37%
Black, not of Hispanic origin9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic23%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin41%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities0%
Non-disabled36%
English learners0%
Proficient in English34%
Non-migrant33%

Reading

All Students31%
Female31%
Male31%
Black, not of Hispanic origin11%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic23%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin38%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled33%
English learners0%
Proficient in English32%
Non-migrant31%

Science

All Students69%
Female67%
Male70%
Black, not of Hispanic origin47%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin77%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities33%
Non-disabled73%
English learners6%
Proficient in English71%
Non-migrant69%

Social Studies

All Students80%
Female80%
Male81%
Black, not of Hispanic origin59%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin86%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities41%
Non-disabled84%
English learners12%
Proficient in English83%
Non-migrant80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 54% 73%
Hispanic 25% 10%
Black, not Hispanic 16% 10%
Asian 3% 4%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 11%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 7%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 67%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 59%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 94%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Maria Kotz
Fax number
  • (262) 359-8756

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6800 60th St
Kenosha, WI 53144
Website: Click here
Phone: (262) 359-8700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kenosha Eschool
Kenosha, WI




Hillcrest School
Kenosha, WI



Lakeview Technology Academy
Pleasant Prairie, WI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT