Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Badger High School

Public | 9-12 | 1440 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2014

Students have access to every resource they could wish for which ensures they will receive a quality education as long as they apply themselves. A wide variety of extra curricular activities for every student to take advantage of no matter what their interest might be. Although the "Life of An Athlete Program" which the school pushes on those who participate in athletics has proven to be a cancer that has become a joke that serves to divide the school rather than unite it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

We love this school. Never have a problem with the teachers or the classes. When we need to contact someone at the school for information there is always someone to help. The FFA department is amazing and everyone does stuff for the community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

Badger High School has so many opportunities for students to get involved. The school's staff is so dedicated to the students where they stay as late as 8pm to help students in subjects where they need help. Badger High also has one of the largest DECA chapters in southeastern Wisconsin. A year ago they had a student win nationals. They are also the 2008,2009,2010 culinary teams in the entire nation. They have a completely new foreign language, math, art, and music wing. They also have switched over to healthier lunches like sweat potato fries, whole wheat buns, and many fruits. Overall this is one of the nicest schools in Southeastern Wisconsin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2012

Badger High School is one of the best High Schools located in southeast Wisconsin. Badger has a big budget to work with and they defiantly put it to juse. They have an entire book full of classes for students to take (about 80 pages). The school is a five star school compared to Wilmot Union High.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2012

The school has been upgraded many times in the last decade, and the students still have athletics and music, which all lead to better grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

Badger high school has many opportunities. But this school sucks. We have a tardy policy that is lame we get a detention if we are tardy to class two times. If we miss that detention we get a detention on a Friday until 5:30.If we skip Friday which is hard we get ISS the whole day on Monday. We also get an ISS for the whole day if we skip 1 class. We can also get a detention if we don't have our lunch card. There are also like 200 cameras in just one hallway. There are teachers in every corner yelling at everyone. You can get expelled for missing several days. You can get in trouble for almost anything because they think it's gang related. Like if you wear certain colors they believe you are in a gang. But almost every color is gang related. Also you get sent to the ISS room for dumb things. You can't graduate if you don't pass gym which is a credit. You also need to do community service to graduate. I am fed up with this school. I hate Badger.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2010

badger highschool gets a great income of cash from the people in lake geneva. the school leaders such as the principles and district staff abuse that cash to crank the heat up to 85 degree's. the district gives us very short breaks compared to other schools. the badger highschools gives many tickets to student's to those how disabay any rules such as just simply wearing a hat. the school district is just trying to make a profit off of the town and student's it is very sad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2010

i just graduated from badger a month ago. badger as a whole is an excellent school. as a public school in extra curriculars, sports, music, cullinary, clubs, ag. etc i would say we're pretty amazing. We had students in my class that were nationally and state ranked in all of the above. acedemically there are amazing departments and others that... lack. the arts, music, band, orc, choir, and physical arts are amazing at badger. our school is more serious in music than an other school ive been to... our math dept, science dept, and music depts are best. social studies and english really lack. all of that into consideration, i am a proud graduate of bhs. go 2010 SEN10RS RULE
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2010

Badger High School is not the best school for preparing students for college. The academic staff, counseling center and administration are apparently overworked due to the sheer volume of students (over 1600) at the school. Personal attention for students is basically non-existent. I would encourage parents of potential students to walk through the school on an average school day to see exactly what kind of environment really exists for their student. Badger, despite it's local reputation, is really just another large, public high school with the expected problems that go along with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

Badger High School provides the best education in the area. However, this does not mean it is a top-notch institution. Badger has a lot of resources and funding, which shows in the numerous expansions done in the last 5 years, including a new music wing, a new language/math wing a new art wing/ and a state of the art fitness center and wrestling room. Other expansions included the installation of a new soccer pitch. Badger's weakness is not it's beauiful exterior, but the inner workings of the school. By all means, I do not mean every teacher or administrator is lacking, but there are many who are simply not up to par. The guidance department provides little help besides giving out a UW school application, and students who are interested in applying out of state recieve little to no help. Instead of preparing students for applying to college, they do the bare minimum.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2009

After having a student attend Badger for a year, I can say that their academic program is very good for the area. However, it seems there is cause for serious concern. The atmosphere at the school and attitude of support staff is lax, at best, when it comes to maintaining high standards for the student body and enforcing basic, common sense rules. If you are interested in college prep curriculum for your student, make sure that the guidance department is aware of it, as that does not seem to be their default priority. Overall, I am pleased with the teachers in core academics, unfortunately, not all 'make the grade.' Be sure to attend parent/teacher conferences and ask questions. The potential for Badger to be a great school is definitely there, however it seems they are 'falling short' for those with high expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

I am very disappointed in this school for children who are in need of special education service's,my son has given up and the teacher's are making him feel even more of a failure. I do believe they need to focus more on academic's for both special need's and Reg Ed student's and focus LESS on Extracurricular activities.This money for school could be used to help the struggling teen's who need the help who don't understand there work instead of making them stay after school everyday when they are frustrated already with work they don't understand..Make room for a few small classes and TEACH those special need student's instead of making them feel even more worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

I agree with the review that students already excelling will do well. I know my unmotivated child has struggled with little or no support from staff. I would suggest open-enrolling somewhere else if your child isn't self-motivated. There are no creative solutions here--just old fashioned ideas that everything should rest on the student's shoulders--no matter how much the student struggles to learn. The cliques referenced by the past student don't only exist between students. Staff is much more helpful to certain students than others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

I feel that this is a great school for children who are already excelling but it is lacking in resources for children who need help .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

I am a student at badger, and I am very involved in the agriculture department. This school has amazing resources and you can learn about almost anything agriculture without leaving the ag room. Its great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2007

I am a student @ badger and I love it there. our extra curriculars are indeed great and i love the sorts program. Everyone in our sports programs are upbeat and possitive, even though we may loose @ times. both girls and boys swimming teams and soccer teams are fanominal. if you are dedicated to geting great grades and haveing fun badger is the high school for you or your student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

I'm not a parent of a teen that is going to Badger, but I am a graduate from 2003. As a parent, I know that the only thing that Badger does offer is the extracurricular activities. Badger has many cliques like any other school, but I found Badger's to be more immature. Many of the teens had the 'I'm better than you' attitude, including myself at times. Some of the teachers are wonderful, but like any school you have a few that are out there. It was very easy to skip school and not get caught, they won't call the parents. There wasn't much parent involvement that I noticed. I would only send my children here if they couldn't go to another local high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 10, 2007

Badger is a great school. Our music program is one of the best, there is an entirely new wing dedicated to music and theater. The school is large and well-funded, there is a lot of money given to Badger. There are more than enough supplies readily available. My only gripe is the honors course scale; Colleges just convert Honors grades back to the regular 10-point ABCDF system, so it makes no point. More foreign languages could be offered as well. Our teachers are VERY nice and most kids tend to get along with them. The teachers are passionate about their work and it shows. I am an honors student and Badger offers great honors courses with excellent teachers. DECA and Forensics are great extracurriculars to get involved in, and BHS has large and successful teams. I recommend sending your student to Badger!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2006

My daughter is a sophomore this year and she loves going 2 school here. The Teachers R great w/the kids and w/communicating w/parents. There R so many activities, sports and other extracurricular activities for the kids to B involved in. There are so many classes that the kids have 2 choose from when they pick their schedules. I can not brag enough about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2006

Academically I would say it was average for Wisconsin which is quite good considering Wisconsin's excellent academic reputation. We have a wide choice of extracurriculars including a truly fabulous music program,our DECA is one of the best clubs in the state if not the best, our sports teams are very uneven some are excellent others are really rather dreadful, art club, newspaper, student council and many more. Our principal is new, this is his second year. We have many wonderful and caring teachers. The one thing I would take issue with is the handling of college bound sudents. The weighting of AP and honors classes is not typical and it adversly affects class rank and grade point averages. Also students are not made aware of the requirements for colleges outside of Wisconsin and this can become a problem for those aspiring to attend the many private and prestigious universities nationwide.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 70% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 76% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students76%
Female81%
Male70%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin78%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities8%
Not disabled81%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant76%

Math

All Students46%
Female44%
Male46%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin50%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities0%
Not disabled49%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English47%
Not migrant46%

Reading

All Students46%
Female51%
Male43%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin53%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities0%
Not disabled51%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English47%
Not migrant46%

Science

All Students82%
Female82%
Male82%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin84%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities25%
Not disabled87%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant82%

Social Studies

All Students83%
Female85%
Male82%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin86%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities21%
Not disabled89%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 82% 73%
Hispanic 14% 10%
Black, not Hispanic 2% 10%
Asian 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 9%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 4%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 84%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 37%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 100%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Robert Kopydlowski
Fax number
  • (262) 248-6178

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

220 E South St
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Website: Click here
Phone: (262) 348-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Williams Bay High School
Williams Bay, WI



Faith Christian School
Williams Bay, WI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT