Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lodi High School

Public | 9-12 | 524 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2013

Lodi high school has been a great fit for my family. My kids love the staff and all the different opportunities that they have in a small school environment. The kids are by no means perfect, but when issues arise they are dealt with by a caring and supportive staff. We are thrilled with our recent move to Lodi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

Lodi High School is a great place for students to attend. Their test scores are increasing, co-curricular activities have been awesome (three athletic teams going to state, top rated FFA chapter, Mock Trial going to state, and several awards for their musical). It is no means a perfect place, but there is extra support for students who struggle academically and more flexibility for students who don't need the extra help. The school is headed in the right direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

I see that a lot of parents have been submitting ratings but they don't truly know what goes on in the school during school hours. this school is full of bullies, drugs, and out of control kids. but I do agree that parents are very involved in the music and sports. and the teachers there are very caring and good at what they do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2012

Lodi Schools have outstanding international opportunities for kids and families! There is a lot of progressive stuff going on here - from multiple exchange programs to in class curriculum that focuses on students being ready for a working environment that is global. I am pleased to know my kids are getting these opportunities and proud to know Lodi has been honored by the state for their outstanding work - see link: http://www.ecb.org/global/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

The Lodi Public School district is neither poor or great. It is an average public school no different than most US schools. The previous comments are all about extra cirricular activites, nothing more, nothing less. Our school district overemphasizes athletics and international relations. If the district spent more time engaging our kids in interesting cirriculum, maybe our test scores would be higher. This district has many good teachers and a few great ones. The school board and the administrators have fostered an atmosphere of 'us verses them" mentality for years. Time and time again you are told that it is always the students fault or the parents. Parents are kept at bay in Lodi when it comes to academics but we are welcome to come and blow up balloons for prom. Lodi gets a perfect rating for keeping kids busy in activities but falls short in making future leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

My daughter and I are new to the Lodi school district and so far we are very impressed with Lodi HS, the staff, and the teachers. We just had our first parent/teacher conference and everyone was very helpful, interested in my child and her work, and their jobs as a whole. I rate this school in the top 10 percent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

I believe as a parent that Lodi High School has a great and caring special education staff. My son even visits after graduating high school to tell about his successes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

I agree. Lodi High School is an excellent place for students to participate in more than one extra curricular activity, and still have time for school work. The block system allows for more one on one time with the students, and teachers often help students get homework done in class. The forensic team won back the Hintz award this year, and the team continues to do well. Overall, I would say the majority of each graduating class attends college, and continue on to live very productive lives. If you want your child to attend a small school, where teachers are an active part of the student's academic and social lives, Lodi is the place for you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 2, 2005

I am a recent graduate of Lodi High, looking back at my experiences there is not pleasant. There were a couple teachers that made it worthwhile, but the rest make it terribly difficult. Yes there once was an award winning forensics team, but no longer. if you or your children can avoid the Lodi school system I would.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 9, 2004

This school is so totally awesome. The extracuricular activies are large ranged. You can participate in Sadd or play sports or even do both. Lodi high school is so cool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2004

Good class sizes(22-25), room to expand the building(only 6 years old), good athletic program as well as award winning forensics teams. Virtually no crime, and a pleasent atmosphere to raise kids. Every student has the opportunity to do well in Lodi. Close proximity to Madison to the south, and recreational areas to the north.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 78% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students73%
Female78%
Male69%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled81%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant73%

Math

All Students58%
Female59%
Male57%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled65%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant58%

Reading

All Students39%
Female39%
Male39%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled44%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant39%

Science

All Students80%
Female74%
Male85%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities21%
Non-disabled88%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant80%

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female86%
Male84%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities35%
Non-disabled92%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 95% 73%
Hispanic 2% 10%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 1% 1%
Asian 1% 4%
Black, not Hispanic 1% 10%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 12%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 1%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 95%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 82%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 99%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 Sauk St
Lodi, WI 53555
Website: Click here
Phone: (608) 592-3853

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sauk Prairie High School
Prairie Du Sac, WI




De Forest High School
De Forest, WI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT