Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Abundant Life Christian School

Private | K-12 | 209 students

 
 

Living in Madison

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $172,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2014

Agree that the school has a wonderful family atmosphere and caring teachers. Have four students here at this time. Admin. team = awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

I am not quite sure what the review posted on 3-7-12 is referring to, but if this is the case, then the entire Elvehjem neighborhood along with Elvehjem elementary school (Madison public) is in this "affected" air qualify area as well. We have NEVER noticed anything "funky" about the air quality and if this is the case, than why is the Elvehjem area such a desirable location for people to live?? Our family LOVES ALCS. It is the absolute best place for our 6yr old son. He loves his school and is proud to go to school at ALCS. He knows his teachers love him, and they DO truly, truly care about their students. As parents, it is a blessing to know that when we send our son to school, we don't have to worry about his safety or being in an environment where he is seeing and hearing things that we do not allow in our home. We don't worry about him falling through the cracks or falling subject to any achievement gap as in the Madison public schools. He is in a caring, nurturing, loving, Christ-centered school with EXCELLENT academics and wonderful teachers!! If you are concerned about your child(ren)'s education that they are receiving in the public school system-call ALCS today!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

This school has a wonderful family atmosphere and caring teachers. We have had our children enrolled since Kindergarten and have been tremendously blessed every year. Our children are now in 7th and 10th grades and engaged in all aspects of the school: academic, athletics, fine arts, etc. We encourage anyone looking for a solid academic experience coupled with the Biblical values you practice at home to check out ALCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

Abundant life school is located directly downwind of one of the most toxic air pollution emitters in Dane County, WI. Kids and teachers at this school are in the deposition zone of a factory that spews out hundreds of pounds of neurotoxic and carcinogenic nickel and other heavy metals. The kids and faculty at this school are at higher risk from this air pollution.


Posted February 16, 2012

High Point Christian School is consolidating with Abundant Life Christian School beginning the 2012/13 school year. Will offer 2 and 3 day a week 4K preschool program. Has the opportunity to be a great preschool option for the East Side.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

They have wondrful teachers and good solid teachers. The students excell in college.


Posted November 8, 2007

Our son (8th grade) and daughter (5th grade) have attended Abundant Life for 5 school years now, with our son entering High School next year. (School offers K - 12th grade) Academic Excellence with a Christian Emphasis is the theme including good class size ratios! The teachers are loving, caring, and sharp! The staff has truly brought the best out of our children. Extra Curricular Activities are balanced. Several Athletic Programs are in the 'building stage' including high school football, track, and baseball. Boys and Girls Basketball and Girls Volleyball have been very successful. Our children have also enjoyed band and choir. I would recommend the school to any family where a faith based education emphasizing academic excellence is important. We plan to continue on at ALCS through high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

Excellent academic and social instruction from a completely Biblical perspective. Top-notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2004

I believe that while ALCS has many good aspects that they concentrate too much on their self imposed rules and do not realize they are there to educate our children. The administration believes they are totally in control and forget that in the end they are running a business. They do not respect the thoughts of the parents which is very frustrating. They also, which as a private school, do not notify parents until the last moment that their child may be behind in a class which then causes a great deal of stress. I as a parent need to be able to partner with my child's teacher and school. This school does not comprehend this concept. While I do believe there are positive things about ALCS their lack of regard for parent's views and their obligation to assist in giving our children the best education possible, even if that means a little extra effort on the school's parts, makes me not want to recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 82% 74%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Hispanic 5% 10%
Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black, not Hispanic 3% 10%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 4%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 2% (2011)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 92% (2011)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2011)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 2% (2011)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 3% (2011)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:05 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:20 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Doug Butler
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • ORUEF
Fax number
  • (608) 221-8572

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Red, White and Black
School mascot
  • Challengers
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Application fee
No

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2011
2 year college - 2%
4 year college - 92%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 2%
Workforce - 3%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4901 E Buckeye Rd
Madison, WI 53716
Website: Click here
Phone: (608) 221-1520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Nuestro Mundo
Madison, WI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT