Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nuestro Mundo 4

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
Nuestro Mundo has a so many wonderful changes happening that continue to make it a great school. The new principal is bringing great leadership and innovation. I am so happy to be a part of a charter school that continues to work toward improving how we educate our children. Principal Josh Forehand is a strong, engaged leader. That is what any school needs..Nuestro Mundo Community School is a great place for kids and parents!

Nuestro Mundo 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter is a Nuestro Mundo graduate (K-5). She just started middle school in San Jose, CA. and has made honor roll each grading period. On her last report card she received 5 As and 1 B. She has friends from diverse cultures and they converse in Spanish. Her perspective is global and she is very compassionate towards diversity and staunchly resists injustice. We contribute our daughter's academic successes and ghumane perspectives to her experiences at Nuestro Mundo.


Nuestro Mundo 1

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
This school is not what I expected. The communication with the staff is non-existent. There are many great schools in the Madison area, a lot of which offer dual language as an option, take my advice and opt for that instead! I have had bad experiences with this school since the beginning but made the mistake of telling myself to "hang in there - things will improve." Unfortunately, I was wrong. I only wish I had pulled my child out when they were in kindergarten or 1st so they could have had a chance at a better school with higher educational progress and success. Do not make the same mistake I made.

Nuestro Mundo 1

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Not that great of a school which is why the 3/10 ranking. Very few parents are involved. Principal shouldn't be working in a school.

Nuestro Mundo 0
no rating

Posted October 26, 2009
- a teacher
I have worked in many other schools in the United States and Mexico and I have not experienced the level of commitment that parents have for their child's education until I got to Nuestro Mundo. I feel fortunate to work at Nuestro Mundo because of the families and the staff.


Nuestro Mundo 5

Posted June 12, 2008
- a parent
NMCS is setting a standard for education in our community and our state. Parental involvement is welcomed and encouraged in meaningful ways. The children are all treated as individuals and encouraged to excel. The relationships with staff are on a first name basis. Questions, concerns and issues are addressed in a caring and respectful way. Educational success is a priority but as in life, the journey is just as important as the destination. NMCS offers a path not commonly taken- yet. Our community and children are the better for its existence Libbey Ortiz Meister, parent

Nuestro Mundo 5

Posted April 18, 2008
- a parent
NMCS is the best thing that could have happened to Madison. It has allowed me as a single parent to give my daughter a wonderful education. It has given my child a new confidence... She knows that this school is special and doesn't take if for granted. Thank you to all the teachers who have taken education to a new level. Not to mention the incredible parental involement. Thanks for this opportunity :)

Nuestro Mundo 5

Posted September 16, 2007
- a parent
NMCS is a blessing to our district. Students have achieved high academic outcomes. Our school differs from traditional learning models in that socio-economic status and having English as a second language, are Not predictors of academic success. Students are learning in a true bicultural atmosphere, which fosters a healthy level of respect among students. The charter school designation allows educators to incorporate innovative teaching methods which help the school achieve their successful outcomes. We have a tremendously high level of parent involvement through our Site Leadership Council among both native Spanish and English dominant families. Translation equipment is available to promote effective communication for all. This school offers the best opportunities and outcomes for our traditionally underserved populations and deserves a high level of community support and continued support from district administration and the Board of Education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nuestro Mundo
4201 Buckeye Rd, Madison, WI  53716
(608) 204-1076
Last modified Nuestro Mundo is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Nuestro Mundo Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top