Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Elvehjem Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
I love this district and I love this school. I have two children in this school who have very different strengths, needs, and personalities and they are both absolutely thriving in this environment. There are thoughtful, age appropriate, and consistent expectations for behavior, there are effective strategies to meet children at their academic level within a classroom (look up "What I Need" program), and every staff member I have met is friendly, supportive, and caring towards parents and students.

Elvehjem Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Lessner. The ability to be warm and loving and firm is so essential to young students. Our child is "that kid" that frustrates or annoys so many adults and Mrs. Lessner has met him with patience, understanding, and the firmness and structure that he needs to navigate a new environment.


Elvehjem Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
Our two children are very different and both have blossomed under their teachers. Teachers have great strategies and support to meet students on their level from behaviors to academics.

Elvehjem Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
Classroom time is used effectively so homework is more about applying knowledge to your life rather than trying to learn on your own at home.

Elvehjem Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
Safe and positive behavior is actively taught throughout the year to students in each grade (in my experience to far - my oldest is in 1st grade). Discipline is age appropriate and made clear to students, family, and staff.


Elvehjem Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2015
- a parent
Elvehjem is a wonderful school. Teachers blend up-to-date teaching techniques with old-school chalk and blackboard, and really care about their kids. The parent community, volunteers and PTO are a real strength. Elvehjem has one of the biggest school libraries in the district and reading is suitably stressed, not to mention having a gorgeous school garden and strong art/music teachers. Having had kids in this school for ten years, I can honestly say I'd send them there all over again if I could.

Elvehjem Elementary School 3

Posted October 26, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is attending 4K here. Very nice school, lovely playgrounds and nice grounded kids. Only rated it as average because I feel that the teachers could use more resources but this is not uncommon in Madison schools.

Elvehjem Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
Elvehjem Elementary is not only growing, but is gaining more knowledge with the help of their principal and the staff. I'm proud to have my child being at this school.


Elvehjem Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2006
- a parent
This school has a very focused agenda between the students, teachers and on-site administrators. Every rule is clear and highly enforced, lending itself to a feeling of a very safe and learning conducive environment. My children take a lot of pride in this school. It possesses some diversity. The art and music could perhaps be more than once a week, seeing that they have been huge inspirations for my kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elvehjem Elementary School
5106 Academy Drive, Madison, WI  53716
(608) 204-1403
Last modified Elvehjem Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Elvehjem Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top