Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Leopold Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 656 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2014

Our son started Kindergarten this year in the DLI program at Leopold. We are thrilled with the quality and compassion of the teaching staff and absolutely love the principal. Most importantly, our child loves going to school and as a parent, that's all I ask for. I would also like to add, that if you are close-minded and don't want your child making friends with children from different ethnicities, then this school isn't for you. My son is learning invaluable lessons and making great friends many of whom look very different from him, which is a bonus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

We are new to the state and can only hope and pray this school is not a good representation of MMSD as a whole. We will be moving out of the area next year for the sole purpose of getting away from this school. Between the huge pile of worksheets that come home every Friday (this appears to be the only method of education employed) and the multiple physical assaults on my child with subsequent disinterest/apathy from all faculty and administration, I'm hard pressed to isolate the worst quality of this school. When you walk in to the school from the parking lot you are overwhelmed by the rotting, putrid stench of the dumpsters that sit by the sidewalk. And it only gets worse from there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

My twins started 4k this fall and the absolutely love it. The teachers are warm and nice and make every child feel special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

We have been very happy with Leopold. The Dual Language Program is amazing and my children have received all the support and resources they need to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

My third child is starting kindergarten at Leopold this fall. Each and every experience has been fantastic. Supportive and interactive staff, low student to teacher rations, a welcoming environment, and a fabulous principal. We are looking forward to another great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

I feel like this school gets a bad reputation from a time long ago. We have had a great experience so far. Teachers and staff are caring and engaging. The DLI program is exceptionally great. If you have doubts, squash any rumors by scheduling a tour of the school and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

We have 2 kids at Leopold and nothing but good things to say. There is great communication from the principal, the teachers are wonderful and truly committed to the children, and there is an active PFO. Our kids are happy and really enjoy school. The school is actively involved with the community through open school house and school fundraising events. This is a well-rounded school that strives to meet the needs of all students. I love the diversity of students and interests within the school. This is a great elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

I have two children at Leopold and one more to go next year. Our experience at Leopold has been wonderful! The classes are small; our kids have never had more than 18 kids in a class through 3rd grade (sometimes as few as 13), and no more than 21 through 5th grade. In addition, there are many staff, volunteers and aids in the classrooms so ratios are always low. Despite its large size, Leopold has a strong community feel where administrators, teachers, and parents know most of the kids by name. The facilities, although some of the district's oldest, are well maintained. The halls are quiet and behavior is kept in check. The school was recently recognized as a School of Distinction by the Wisconsin PBIS Network for outstanding work in implementing Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS). My children have always been academically challenged by their teachers, and resources are available when needed. Overall, an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

This school strives to integrate minority students and their families into the educational process more so than other schools in the state. Minority parents have expressed feeling that teachers make a genuine effort in involving them in matters pertaining to their children's education. This is especially true of the ESL teachers. This is an example that more schools should emulate.


Posted May 10, 2011

I recently toured Leopold with principal, John Burkholder. I found him and his staff very friendly and approachable. He has worked a lot with the city of Fitchburg and community to improve Leopold. The classroom numbers were small and the play ground was large with new updated fields and equipment with many adults to supervise. I think the voluntary duel immersion program is a great educational option. My children have yet to enter school but I found that the personal tour and online video really helped me appreciate this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2010

We have a child in the Dual Immersion Spanish program. While we wish assessments and learning goals were clearer, we have been very pleased with the teachers, the progress in Spanish our child is making, and the fact that Madison is offering this to families. Also, the After School Program is incredible. Great staff; lots of arts and crafts and materials; snack and treats; caring supervisors. We remain very impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

Leopold is a fun, safe school for children to learn at. We have two children at Leopold. Classes always have low numbers and very attentive teachers. The school follows individualized learning plans for each child which is fantastic. Our daughter started this year in the dual-immersion program and is loving school. We love this school for it's diversity and the high-quality of the staff. The current principal has done a fantastic job bringing in new programs-like a science specific staff member who is amazing!-and creating a fun educational environment for our kids. He knows the names of the kids and makes everyone feel very welcome and appreciated. We wouldn't want our kids in any other school. If you are interested in the school go and check it out-it's worth a visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

Leopold has a new principal and new asst. principal as of the 2008-2009 school year - who are AMAZING. There is an entirely different feel when you walk into the school - compared to the past 3 years - a positive energy that is hard to describe. You can also see the change in the teachers - because they are getting support from the administration of the school to better manage their classrooms - and teach our children. Of the 6 teachers my two children have had, only one was a disappointment - the other 5 teachers were absolutely phenomenal. And the friends my children have through school cover all areas of the spectrum - it truly is a diversity my children will cherish and appreciate as they get older and get into the 'real world' - because Leopold IS a school that will prepare them for our world's diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

Leopold is unique in that it has bilingual students, poverty level students, middle class students, and upper class students. It is incredibly diverse in race and economics which in my opinion... is what makes Leopold such a great school. If you are house searching, please do yourself a favor and visit this school. Leopold may not look great on paper because of the number of special needs and English as a Second Language learners trying to understand the context and and writien rules of English, which doesn't translate well in standardized tests, but this school has heart and life lessons that involve how to respect others and learn with people different than ourselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2007

My son attended Leopold for Kindergarten and 1st grade, and I then transferred him to another school for 2nd. I feel the principal is very uptight, and cannot relate to the children. She is worried about her job, and not well being of the kids. Many of the teachers seem to be too busy to focus on kids needs, and appear very stressed at times due to class size. There doesn't appear to be a lot of order to many classrooms there, with way too many people in and out all day long. This makes it difficult to get answers from teachers about how the children are doing, because they don't even participate in a lot of the learning experience with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2007

Teachers are completely limited with how they can control the class. Gym teacher is fabulous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

The principal at Leopold is a bit uptight that is for certain but the teachers and other parents are just wonderful. I had a child here for three years and they met her needs in unusual circumstances. The gym teacher is exceptional, art and music are so-so, and the dances, parties and fairs are a great deal of fun. She got a great education and loved this school. Gramma
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

Leopold doesn't know how to deal with gifted kids. Yet they seem to work well with low end kids. Principal is not supportive. There are stronger schools in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2004

Best school in madison,Ive had 4 children attend madison schools in past and present. of all I've seen leopold rocks! voleenters abundent from uw/and familys. great teachers and very clean school. good attitudes and positive all around. we love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2004

Like the school a lot except for the principal - she doesn't seem to relate to the kids very well. I know several students who go to this school other than my own children and they have all told me they don't like the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 34% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 75% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 36% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 91% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 33% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students25%
Female33%
Male20%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic12%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin67%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities7%
Not disabled29%
English learners15%
Proficient in English37%
Not migrant25%

Reading

All Students17%
Female21%
Male14%
Black, not of Hispanic originn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic5%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin46%
Economically disadvantaged6%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities7%
Not disabled19%
English learners7%
Proficient in English27%
Not migrant17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students54%
Female60%
Male49%
Black, not of Hispanic origin45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled56%
English learners27%
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant54%

Math

All Students35%
Female27%
Male45%
Black, not of Hispanic origin8%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled38%
English learners30%
Proficient in English38%
Not migrant35%

Reading

All Students17%
Female16%
Male18%
Black, not of Hispanic origin4%
Asiann/a
Hispanic6%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged2%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled19%
English learners6%
Proficient in English24%
Not migrant17%

Science

All Students59%
Female50%
Male68%
Black, not of Hispanic origin30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled63%
English learners53%
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant59%

Social Studies

All Students88%
Female84%
Male93%
Black, not of Hispanic origin85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Not disabled91%
English learners83%
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students27%
Female21%
Male31%
Black, not of Hispanic origin18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities7%
Not disabled34%
English learners10%
Proficient in English37%
Not migrant27%

Reading

All Students17%
Female13%
Male20%
Black, not of Hispanic origin0%
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic originn/a
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities7%
Not disabled21%
English learners5%
Proficient in English24%
Not migrant17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 38% 10%
Black, not Hispanic 29% 10%
White, not Hispanic 24% 73%
Multiracial 6% 2%
Asian 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 1% 1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 12%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 40%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 73%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 33%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 95%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • John Burkholder
Fax number
  • (608) 204-0451

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2602 Post Rd
Madison, WI 53713
Website: Click here
Phone: (608) 204-4240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Eagle School
Fitchburg, WI






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT