Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Toki Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are effective. There are just far too few of them. They spend all of their time putting out fires instead of teaching the students.

Toki Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
1 page, about twice a week. The teacher never looks at it. The instructions in the homework are a joke. They are pages, printed off the internet and then copies on a copy machine. The teachers usually haven't even looked at what they are handing to the students. On numerous occasions I've found blanted errors in the homework... like they sent home page 2 which couldn't have been done without page 1... or obvious math errors in the examples. I brought all of these issues up with multiple teachers and they all said "Homework really isn't something we look at anyway, don't bother with it."


Toki Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
1 page of homework max. The teacher never looks at it anyway. The kids do not have to do their work. There is no real grading system.

Toki Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
The school doesn't punish kids for misbehavior. Whatever you think the worst thing the child could do in class is... if your kid does it, the worst that would happen is an hour or two in the principle's office. The kids do not respect the teachers, and they have no need to.

Toki Middle School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
Again, the teachers are too overwhelmed to teach much of anything. The school has poor leadership and is significantly short staffed.


Toki Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
The school doesn't develop much at all. The teachers barely have enough time to prevent the school from catching fire much less teach the kids anything.

Toki Middle School 2

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
The school is total Chaos. I've stopped in on numerous occasions to see dozens of 1st, 2nd, 3rd grade kids milling around in the hallways unsupervised. I've seen fights break out with no adult to stop them, kids jumping off of furniture, throwing hard objects. The problem is there's a few very poor neighborhoods nearby, so there are a lot of disadvantaged kids. Which is fine... but the school administration refuses to staff for that. After numerous complaints, meetings will all levels of the administration and a community petition signed by dozens of parents they finally hired 1, part time person. That's it. The problems persist, there is little to no communication with the families and it's only a matter of time before a child is seriously injured here. The principle is completely clueless and doesn't even seem to think unsupervised 7yr olds is a bad thing.

Toki Middle School 4

Posted August 09, 2015
- a student
The rumors exaggerate the truth. Of course there is bad behaving students, there is in every school, but really the issues are resovling themselves. There is such a casual feel to this school but yet it is strict. Everyone has some sort of sense of humor, expecially the staff and teachers. I will be going into my third year at Toki, and I have learned so much in the classroom and outside of it. I think leaving Toki for highschool will be the hardest goodbye


Toki Middle School 5

Posted March 24, 2015
- a community member
I think toki middle school is an excellent school. We have many clubs and after school clubs. Another thing we have is awesome teachers. They always try to help you, and do the best they can to do that. The classes here I personally think are very educational and helped me learn most of what I know in math,science,language arts, and social studies. So if you live in the Akira Toki middle school area I think you should immediately sign your child up to go to school here.

Toki Middle School 4

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
Two of my 3 children were able to take advanced math options at Toki starting in 6th grade. And I know a number of students that were/are able to take math at Memorial. Toki will definitely work with students that NEED more challenging classes; however, if a student will do better in a regular level class, they aren't afraid to make that recommendation. Having a solid base understanding is better than over-challenging a student that isn't ready for it and will probably make the student happier (and more successful) in the long run. I commend the Toki staff for having the confidence to suggest doing what is best for the student.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Toki Middle School
5606 Russett Road, Madison, WI  53711
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (608) 204-4744
Last modified Toki Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top