Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shorewood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2013
- a parent
We chose to move to Shorewood because of the school, and we could not be happier. We wanted to find a school with a diverse, international, and engaged community (parents and teachers) that would stretch our daughter's mind. We feel that we truly lucked out. Before enrolling this year, our daughter blossomed in a Montessori program where she learned responsibility and the love of learning. She started reading very young, and has a great love for learning. Her teacher who balances professionalism and a caring / nurturing environment has been a godsend. Nearly 1/2 of her students learned another language at home, and a handful of the kids knew very little English prior to the school year. Yet, somehow, she stretches all of them to learn. She encourages my daughter's creativity and regularly demonstrates great patience. Our daughter loves the school. It's not just the classroom. The whole community is incredible, and wildly international. Highlights include International Week and a Variety Show that captures the global diversity. Whether it's a chess club or an after-school arts, it seems the older kids are helping the younger ones. We couldn't be happier.

Shorewood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2011
- a parent
My son was here for 1 year (kindergarten) and he developed reading skills within 1month after the school started. The teachers are so nice and friendly. The kids get good learning lessons. My son misses this school, his friends and teacher since we moved away from Madison. Best school ever!!


Shorewood Hills Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shorewood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
We moved from the SF Bay Area two years ago and found this as the best school that could replicate CA's diversity and acceptance aspects so my kids would not skip a beat by our move here. The music, art, special ed and extracurricular activities offered at this school make it well worth attending and is a wonderful representation of Madison's commitment to educating its children. As a product of Northern California and Southern California public schools, I would recommend any parent considering a move to Madison, have their young children attend Shorewood and raise their children in Madison, WI (of course one would have to brave the long winters).

Shorewood Hills Elementary School 4

Posted November 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Shorewood Hills Elementary School 4

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
Many people consider Shorewood the best elementary school in MMSD. The reason is not because of MMSD or Shorewood - it's because of the incredible students and parents. Shorewood draws kids from a cohesive, well-educated neighborhood and from University housing for motivated international graduate students and visiting faculty. Classes are filled with well-behaved, ready-to-learn kids from more than fifty nations. Parents volunteer extensively, plan superb events, make sure kids are well-prepared, and augment MMSD's curriculum with outside tutoring. Classes rarely go above 26 kids. Shorewood's ESL and special ed support is strong. The art teacher is exceptional. Some teachers are outstanding, most very capable, some below par. The principal is pleasant but an ineffectual leader. The school has all the shortcomings of MMSD as a whole: lack of challenge in standards, curriculum and textbooks; lousy constructivist math curriculum; virtually no support for gifted students; aging facilities; ancient technology.

Shorewood Hills Elementary School 4

Posted March 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Shorewood Hills Elementary School 2

Posted March 15, 2009
- a parent
I completely agree with the previous post. My daughter was attending kindergarten in this school in 2007. When we came to meet her teacher, the teacher paid a little attention to us, and we did not feel welcome to her class. The class environment was not warm and inviting --- our daughter did not like going to this school at all. After a few months we switched the school --- an amazing change --- our daughter asks us when is going to be Monday so she could go to her new school and meet her new teacher and classmates.


Shorewood Hills Elementary School 2

Posted February 09, 2009
- a parent
This school rests on its reputation and its international population. The community has a very high level of education and the kids receive a tremendous amount of support outside of the school. The principal lacks initiative, organizational and communication skills and leadership capacity.

Shorewood Hills Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shorewood Hills Elementary School
1105 Shorewood Blvd, Madison, WI  53705
(608) 204-1200
Last modified Shorewood Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shorewood Hills Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top