Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Homestead High School

Public | 9-12 | 1336 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

Having gone to two different high schools, I can honestly tell you that Homestead isn't all that. It is a very mediocre school compared to where I went to school before. Mind you, I lived in a very affluent area previously, home to some of the best high schools in the nation. I guess I sort of had high expectations coming to Mequon. If Homestead is considered one of the best schools in Wisconsin, then Wisconsin must have a poor education system. The school itself is filled with faculty members who lie to make the school look good. People have gone off to some very prestigious colleges, but that's only because they were born smart, and probably have enough money to pay for a tutor. The school has a decent variety of classes, but the teachers don't always teach very well and are discriminatory. All the school really cares about is sports, when they could use that money to actually pay for useful things that will benefit a students education. They have mouse traps throughout the school as well as mold, which shows you that they don't take very good care of the school itself. Mequon rich? Hardly. There are places outside of Mequon that are far more nice and affluent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better public school. They have excellent academics, sports as well as art programs. It has great teachers, courses and resources. although there are groups but you are not going to find a less stuck up high school. The orchestra and band programs are excellent and so are the acting classes/drama club. Obviously it focuses of sports so if you are looking for athletics it is a school to go to. Overall you or you child will have fantastic opportunities and preparation for college both socially and academically.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2012

Homestead High School recently received a rating of "Significantly Exceeds Expectations" from the Wisconsin Dept of Public Instruction. It was the only large high school in the state to receive this honor and the only high school in the Milwaukee area. Only 68 schools in the entire state received this rating! HHS is a comprehensive high school with offerings for just about any student interest, and its district, Mequon-Thiensville, was named Best Suburban School District by Milwaukee Magazine the last two years. The principal is outstanding and has initiated programs like AVID, designed to work with students in the academic "middle." The teachers, in conjunction with a recent move to trimesters, have overhauled the curriculum to bring it in line with recently approved common core standards. The school added 3 more AP classes this year and plans to add 3 more next year, in addition to adding several classes which allow students to earn credit through Univerisity of Wisconsin schools (dual credit). Last year, HHS received an honor from the ACT organization recognizing its use of data to make better decisions about understanding student performance. Best school in the state!


Posted October 15, 2012

Homestead is a very good school. Most graduates end up surprised about how easy collage is. The teachers are very supportive and provide help at any needed time. I've emailed them at 9 at night for hw questions and 10 minutes later they reply back. Yes, there are clicks, but they mostly don't intermix, however they don't bully each other. There is a no bullying tolerance, but some still happens. We have 2 in-school cops and popular to the contrary belief, homesteads drug problem is at about the average of all public high schools. They do not drink because they think it is 'ghetto'; they do it because it's 'fun'. Besides, only the 'popular' do it. I'm very thankful to be in the MTSD school district.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2012

The students at this school are stuck up and fake. The academic part of the school is average for a 'good school district' school. The athletics are obviously what the administration focuses on. The students know nothing about how lucky they are to have rich parents who can afford to live in Mequon. Some teachers are really good, but they all favor the popular students. The parents are all overly involved in their students highschool and think their kids are saints, when really, everyone does drugs and drink because it's 'ghetto'.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2011

Honestly this school isnt the best of choices. I have to say the sports wing of the school is phenomenal, but creativity in this school is very lacking. Students in this school are very stuck up and like to spread rumors, teachers like to make jokes of students on what they hear, and the cop lets kids smoke cigarettes outside at lunch. There are A LOT of drugs such as Weed, Xanax, painkillers (Oxycodone, Vicodin), study drugs (Ritalin, Adderall), and tobacco going around in school. Within my first week of the school I could verify 5 dealers. But the drugs don't bother me as much as the bullying and separation of the students. There are many cliches that are offensive in the school, and a lot of prejudice black, and jew jokes go on. Even the moms in Mequon like to spread rumors. If you have a creative outlet such as music, acting, or art DO NOT go to this school. I support a lot of the in city schools for that. Some teachers are cool and have been teaching in the districts a majority of their lives! I also recommend football players going here as it has a great program! As far as faculty (Principals, etc.) they have no idea what's going on and ridicule the kids sometimes. 2/5
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2011

Homestead is by far the best high school in the area. After talking to other parents who attend neighboring high schools, it is very obvious that Homestead has much more challenging courses. Their athletics, fine arts, facilities are top notch. The teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

I have 3 children go through this school. The 2 boys coped well with the challenging pace but felt the clicks, competitiveness lead to unhappiness. The oldest son graduated out of uwsp and now is in Law School. He had spent 2 years at Rufus King prior and in looking back states he got more out of the teachers at this school. He felt that Homestead was not supportive in building self esteem and ended up having no friendships there. The next son also did not like the school but due to his ability to cope with the cariculum, did well. My daughter however is an average student and needed help. Help needed was not given and so someone very talented and bright crumbled and her self esteem destroyed due to the encouraged competitiveness and lack of control the school has over the demeaning clicks. Comradship,self awareness is missing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Both of my kids and their father graduated from Homestead and were very prepared to tackle the world. Good teachers, involved parents and great facilities. Fantastic fine arts program with committment to excellence in that area
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great record of academic achievement and my daughter entering senior year is becoming very well prepared to attend an excellent university
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Homestead has great teachers, a great atmosphere and is a perfect environment for learning and success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

Both of my sons are excelling in college due to their excellent education and support received from HHS. A great education at an incredible bargain!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I am a former student of Homestead High School and I must say how pleased I am with how well the school prepares you for college. I was just as nervous as the next student my freshman year of college, but I was so relieved that all my hard work paid off. The faculty at HHS have your best interest in mind, and are very focused on helping you succeed. The guidance department is phenomenal as well. I highly recommend this school, and Mequon-Thiensville School District as a whole to those looking for a great place to send their kids for an education. HHS is located in a wonderful, safe, family orientated community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2007

District is not what it used to be or could be again. My eldest went through the school 10 years ago. My youngest just started. Classes are much more full, some well over 30 students in one class. Teacher quality and personal attention has dropped off as well. It seems that some really good faculty have just picked up and left. I would recommend looking around before sending your kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

Hands down, Homestead High School is the best high school in the state of Wisconsin, whether private or public. No other schools compare to the quality of administration, faculty ad college preparation , stated the previous post. Phenomenal performances in sports teams year after year, outstanding academics, holding the highest average ACT score in the state, patient and helpful teachers in all subject areas, a huge variety of classes to take including a large number of AP classes, and a National Blue Ribbon school, this is the place to attend grade 9-12. Located in Mequon, WI, a very wealthy and family oriented community, homestead is well supported by the local residents. Parental involvment is very great at Homestead, which helps this school succeed. This nationally recognized school is definitely a school to consider, if you are looking for your children to have a well prepared future in whatever they desire!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 13, 2005

I would also like to say that Homestead is the finest school all of Wisconsin-public or private. Nearby private/prep schools cannot compare with Homestead as far as quality of administration, faculty, and college preparation. The school boasts the highest ACT scores in WI (WI has highest average ACT scores in the US), is an absolute powerhouse for sports, and gives every child the opportunity to succeed. The community is affluent and family-oriented, which only stengthens the values taught at Homestead. I agree with a previous review that stated, 'If you're moving to WI, this is the school you want to send your kids to.' HHS's English program is incredible- easily the best I've ever seen (my three children went to three different high schools). HHS also earned commendation as a National Blue Ribbon School as part of the No Child Left Behind Program in 2004 (one of only two in WI).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2004

Homestead gives you so many oppurtunties to excel. Not only does it prepare you for college it prepares you for life. Without the excellent staff, and enviornment I would not be where I am today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

I am a student at Homestead High School and I love this school because there are so many classes you have to choose from and the extracurricular activities are great. We have some of the best coaches for a lot of our sports and so many students that attend Homestead have a positive attitude about it because we know we are getting probably the best education provided in the area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2004

Best school in the state. Better than the private university prep school. More AP courses, more opportunities. If you're moving to Milwaukee, this is the suburb to move to if public schooling is a priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2004

It's a wonderful fun and an all around great school. It is full of oppertunities for all students. Great teachers. Great Curriculim. Homestead is the best school ever! If your searching for a school on the area your search is over go here!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Language Arts

The state average for Language Arts was 70% in 2014.

308 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

308 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2014.

308 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2014.

308 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 76% in 2014.

308 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Language Arts

All Students87%
Female91%
Male84%
Black, not of Hispanic origin67%
Asian70%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin92%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities55%
Non-disabled93%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant87%

Math

All Students68%
Female66%
Male71%
Black, not of Hispanic origin40%
Asian47%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin74%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities20%
Non-disabled76%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant68%

Reading

All Students69%
Female69%
Male70%
Black, not of Hispanic origin45%
Asian47%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin74%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled78%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant69%

Science

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Black, not of Hispanic origin63%
Asian65%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin91%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities48%
Non-disabled92%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant86%

Social Studies

All Students92%
Female94%
Male90%
Black, not of Hispanic origin74%
Asian77%
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not of Hispanic origin96%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities73%
Non-disabled95%
English learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Wisconsin used the Wisconsin Student Assessment System (WSAS), which includes the WKCE and WAA, to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 in math and reading, and in grades 4, 8 and 10 in language arts, science and social studies. The WSAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Wisconsin. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level. In private schools, only voucher program participants are tested.
GreatSchools' ratings currently reflect 2012-13 testing data.



Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the WSAS test. As a result of these changes, proficiency scores for Wisconsin schools are lower than they were in previous years.

The different student groups are identified by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group. Subgroup scores for each school are only reported for students who were enrolled as of the fall enrollment count. The All students score includes results for all students who took the test, regardless of when they first enrolled in the school.

Source: Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White, not Hispanic 83% 73%
Black, not Hispanic 8% 10%
Asian 5% 4%
Hispanic 3% 10%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Disabled students 12%N/A14%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A41%
Limited English proficient 1%N/A6%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2012-2013

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
At least 5 years teaching experience 89%N/A83%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 81%N/A55%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with valid license 100%N/A98%
Source: WI Dept. of Public Instruction, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Brett Bowers
Fax number
  • (262) 238-5633

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5000 W Mequon Rd
Mequon, WI 53092
Website: Click here
Phone: (262) 238-5646

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Right Step
Milwaukee, WI


Believers Institute
Milwaukee, WI



Brown Deer High School
Brown Deer, WI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT