Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Homestead High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 23, 2015
- a community member
Mr. Marton. Dont have any words to say to this computer . This thing always wants you to type in words.

Homestead High School 2

Posted January 01, 2015
- a parent
I've known three generations to come out of this school. Homestead may turn out a few superstars, but at what cost? Homestead is great when you look at the education ratings. But I find the education ratings to be flawed. They don’t take in to account the social structure of the school. I find this can be very misleading and even DAMAGING to your kids’ future. Aide your kids. Help them. Teach them about life. Give them hope. Raise them up. It takes next to nothing to raise a child up; it takes thousands of dollars and countless hours to ‘fix’ an adult. All three generations I talked with state the education IS great. But they lack a quality social foundation. I find that is FAR more IMPORTANT than memorizing some facts, getting a good grade on a test, or going to Yale. Please respect your child’s overall quality of life and overall well being. If you’re sending your child(ren) here because it’s the ‘best’ school or has a good rating, you may want to think long and hard about everything before taking any action. I repeat, this is your child’s life. Not just their education, please remember that!!! Thank you.


Homestead High School 3

Posted June 10, 2014
- a student
Having gone to two different high schools, I can honestly tell you that Homestead isn't all that. It is a very mediocre school compared to where I went to school before. Mind you, I lived in a very affluent area previously, home to some of the best high schools in the nation. I guess I sort of had high expectations coming to Mequon. If Homestead is considered one of the best schools in Wisconsin, then Wisconsin must have a poor education system. The school itself is filled with faculty members who lie to make the school look good. People have gone off to some very prestigious colleges, but that's only because they were born smart, and probably have enough money to pay for a tutor. The school has a decent variety of classes, but the teachers don't always teach very well and are discriminatory. All the school really cares about is sports, when they could use that money to actually pay for useful things that will benefit a students education. They have mouse traps throughout the school as well as mold, which shows you that they don't take very good care of the school itself. Mequon rich? Hardly. There are places outside of Mequon that are far more nice and affluent.

Homestead High School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a student
You couldn't ask for a better public school. They have excellent academics, sports as well as art programs. It has great teachers, courses and resources. although there are groups but you are not going to find a less stuck up high school. The orchestra and band programs are excellent and so are the acting classes/drama club. Obviously it focuses of sports so if you are looking for athletics it is a school to go to. Overall you or you child will have fantastic opportunities and preparation for college both socially and academically.

Homestead High School 5

Posted December 10, 2012
- a community member
Homestead High School recently received a rating of "Significantly Exceeds Expectations" from the Wisconsin Dept of Public Instruction. It was the only large high school in the state to receive this honor and the only high school in the Milwaukee area. Only 68 schools in the entire state received this rating! HHS is a comprehensive high school with offerings for just about any student interest, and its district, Mequon-Thiensville, was named Best Suburban School District by Milwaukee Magazine the last two years. The principal is outstanding and has initiated programs like AVID, designed to work with students in the academic "middle." The teachers, in conjunction with a recent move to trimesters, have overhauled the curriculum to bring it in line with recently approved common core standards. The school added 3 more AP classes this year and plans to add 3 more next year, in addition to adding several classes which allow students to earn credit through Univerisity of Wisconsin schools (dual credit). Last year, HHS received an honor from the ACT organization recognizing its use of data to make better decisions about understanding student performance. Best school in the state!


Homestead High School 4

Posted October 15, 2012
- a student
Homestead is a very good school. Most graduates end up surprised about how easy collage is. The teachers are very supportive and provide help at any needed time. I've emailed them at 9 at night for hw questions and 10 minutes later they reply back. Yes, there are clicks, but they mostly don't intermix, however they don't bully each other. There is a no bullying tolerance, but some still happens. We have 2 in-school cops and popular to the contrary belief, homesteads drug problem is at about the average of all public high schools. They do not drink because they think it is 'ghetto'; they do it because it's 'fun'. Besides, only the 'popular' do it. I'm very thankful to be in the MTSD school district.

Homestead High School 3

Posted April 28, 2012
- a student
The students at this school are stuck up and fake. The academic part of the school is average for a 'good school district' school. The athletics are obviously what the administration focuses on. The students know nothing about how lucky they are to have rich parents who can afford to live in Mequon. Some teachers are really good, but they all favor the popular students. The parents are all overly involved in their students highschool and think their kids are saints, when really, everyone does drugs and drink because it's 'ghetto'.

Homestead High School 2

Posted March 24, 2011
- a student
Honestly this school isnt the best of choices. I have to say the sports wing of the school is phenomenal, but creativity in this school is very lacking. Students in this school are very stuck up and like to spread rumors, teachers like to make jokes of students on what they hear, and the cop lets kids smoke cigarettes outside at lunch. There are A LOT of drugs such as Weed, Xanax, painkillers (Oxycodone, Vicodin), study drugs (Ritalin, Adderall), and tobacco going around in school. Within my first week of the school I could verify 5 dealers. But the drugs don't bother me as much as the bullying and separation of the students. There are many cliches that are offensive in the school, and a lot of prejudice black, and jew jokes go on. Even the moms in Mequon like to spread rumors. If you have a creative outlet such as music, acting, or art DO NOT go to this school. I support a lot of the in city schools for that. Some teachers are cool and have been teaching in the districts a majority of their lives! I also recommend football players going here as it has a great program! As far as faculty (Principals, etc.) they have no idea what's going on and ridicule the kids sometimes. 2/5


Homestead High School 5

Posted March 18, 2011
- a parent
Homestead is by far the best high school in the area. After talking to other parents who attend neighboring high schools, it is very obvious that Homestead has much more challenging courses. Their athletics, fine arts, facilities are top notch. The teachers are great.

Homestead High School 2

Posted March 01, 2010
- a parent
I have 3 children go through this school. The 2 boys coped well with the challenging pace but felt the clicks, competitiveness lead to unhappiness. The oldest son graduated out of uwsp and now is in Law School. He had spent 2 years at Rufus King prior and in looking back states he got more out of the teachers at this school. He felt that Homestead was not supportive in building self esteem and ended up having no friendships there. The next son also did not like the school but due to his ability to cope with the cariculum, did well. My daughter however is an average student and needed help. Help needed was not given and so someone very talented and bright crumbled and her self esteem destroyed due to the encouraged competitiveness and lack of control the school has over the demeaning clicks. Comradship,self awareness is missing.

Nearby schools

Homestead High School
5000 West West Street, Mequon, WI  53092
(262) 238-5646
Last modified Homestead High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top